Preview Changes & Preview Thread for Round 14 vs Melbourne

Finlayson needs to be added to that list. Totally useless and a sook to boot!
His 2022 was solid and he produced some exceptional footy in 2023 during the "streak".

But since the back half of 2023, he's been a completely noncompetitive entity. Not sure what happened to the bloke, maybe his personal circumstances took their toll.

As an aside, I reckon his best footy for us has been as a roving, mobile ruckman sharking his own or the oppo taps and doing some strong clearance work.

But if we're serious, he doesn't pull on the jumper again.

Up forward is the issue May and Lever will do te same job as Taylor and Buckley. Cant see us scoring.
Was at the game yesterday. Melbourne’s forward line is more dysfunctional than ours. Nil all on the cards here.

Going by his SANFL form Sweet should be in the final 22 for Sunday’s game. Now that gives the selectors a problem, doesn’t it?
Have the selectors ever really looked deeply at things like form?

Now if Sweet has become part of the Greyhound syndicate and earned himself a patented Kenny Hinkley Gold Pass then maybe there's a real headache

Going by his SANFL form Sweet should be in the final 22 for Sunday’s game. Now that gives the selectors a problem, doesn’t it?

It's a good problem to have. Competition for spots is healthy.

It's going to be a close call between Sweet and Vis. Sweet did what he needed to do to put his name up, but Vis hasn't been too bad and is the future. I probably thought Vis may have dominated a bit more against a debutant, so i wouldn't be surprised if they go with the more mature body against Gawn.

I doubt we play both.

Gawn had a pretty big influence last time we played at the MCG round 22 last year, Sweet from memory competed pretty well but the best ruck in the comp is hard to stop.

Kozzie killed us last time too, and his form has got a lot better since then, so that is a concern and probably the job for Sinn.

no one wins clearences if butters doesnt

he will cop the tag daicos recieved from melbourne, wines and drew need to do they'e job. JHF in will help

we can win if we can win in the middle

It's going to be a close call between Sweet and Vis. Sweet did what he needed to do to put his name up, but Vis hasn't been too bad and is the future. I probably thought Vis may have dominated a bit more against a debutant, so i wouldn't be surprised if they go with the more mature body against Gawn.

I doubt we play both.

Gawn had a pretty big influence last time we played at the MCG round 22 last year, Sweet from memory competed pretty well but the best ruck in the comp is hard to stop.

Kozzie killed us last time too, and his form has got a lot better since then, so that is a concern and probably the job for Sinn.

I give Visentini a huge pass for the GWS game.

He was totally stitched up by the umpires.

The problem with playing an undersized forwardline, with only 2 KPFs neither of which is there to contest the long bomb, is we still just bomb in hope anyway, and the extra smalls provide nothing.

SPP then becomes a key marketing target and is very ineffective.

They won't change much to a winning team, but we can't roll-out that forwardline again.

This is a tough one for the rucks. Vis finally got some mojo and to drop him would be going backwards. On the other hand we know Gawn will slaughter him. Just the bigger body of Sweet I think gets over the line.

This free kick difference is getting to the point of laughable.
Club needs to find some backbone and bring it up with the AFL.
Need something sorted out especially before next season.
If the umps love Kenny this shouldn't happen.

The media need to get onto that.

Playing Melbourne at home always seems to be the one week of the year we consistently get the free kicks going our way.
Not sure about the free kicks going our way but we have won the free kick count twice in four times we have played Melbourne at Adelaide Oval post COVID.

2024 24-25
2023 24-19
2022 21-24
2021 19-18

Not sure about the free kicks going our way but we have won the free kick count twice, by one each time, in four times we have played Melbourne at Adelaide Oval post COVID.

2024 24-25
2023 24-19
2022 21-24
2021 19-18
I think just because it is remotely even, feels like a huge win for us.

Finlayson has only played well against the Crows, how has he become first 22
Thing is, he still could have kicked 3. Missed 2 shots, and passed the other one off to an unmarked GWS player.

He's done some decent things in patches - but he's played far too many 'almost' games.

I suspect he is only in the team because of the total inability for any of our rucks to be even a half decent forward. And given that the ruck chop out is only for a small period of the game, forward craft takes precedence over ruck craft.

I expect we will be back to Sweet + Wines + Ratugolea this week though, with Dante and Fin both omitted.

Out: Mead, Boak, Burton, Finlayson
In: JHF, Lorenz, Liddy, Sweet

Move Burgoyne back for Burton, play Moraes and Lorenz full game on the wing, Liddy sub

Burton was decent against the Giants, not sure he's getting dropped. If you're thinking further forward, then it makes sense, but I think we're still trying to salvage the season.

I doubt we go in with Moraes and Lorenz in with Liddy as the sub - that's a lot of inexperience coming in one go. Again, they're still trying to salvage the season.

More realistically, I think we may see
Sweet in for Dante
Lorenz in for Mead, and likely the sub
Possibly Fin for Lord, but I suspect we will keep Fin this week

If JHF is ready, I don't see Lorenz coming in, and we may see Jackson as the sub.

Finlayson is the 4th KPF on the depth chart, with 2 & 3 injured he has to play.

Just play Dante and tell him to take it to Gawn physically. That's how Lycett nullified him. Use that aggression and smash into him for 4 quarters. 2 rucks costs us every single time we try it.
Dante doesn't have the physical ability (yet?) to do that though. Gawn would monster him.

Mead will never get dropped, so not going there. JHF & Sweet in. Sweet replaces Fin, JHF for whomever

Preview Changes & Preview Thread for Round 14 vs Melbourne

Write your reply...