Preview Changes & Preview Thread for Showdown 57

Those going to the game should organise to leave at qtr time and go do something else like go to dinner or go to the movies.
We will start ok kick a couple of early goals with the happy clappers at the ground emotionally charged with flags and scarfs waving. We will be in the game at the first break but by the 20 min mark of the 2nd qtr we will be 5 goals down and ultimately lose by 70 points. Sack Hinkley.
I'm expecting to leave at half time. Don't want to go & think we will lose by 5+ goals.

they get enough ball in their forward line its gunna be a massacre.

we need to some how keep the game to something like 70v60 slogfest, if they get to 100 there's no way we can kick that.

who would think, our home showdown, just off finishing top 4, and we face the possibility of getting smacked.. the club should be ashamed.
Your last para is 100% true. Our recent record against the Crows given respective ladder positions is also shameful.

Yeah, I know.

IMHO it is better to strengthen the midfield at the moment than have the backline as it is.
We need a lot more impact from the centre or it is just going to be a parade into the Cows forward line.

I reckon Butters and the Hornet would greatly benefit from the big body of Bergman in there too.
Absolutely. We win the midfield the defence will hold up.

We lose the midfield it's a knife though butter.

In the club website (here), it's written "No late changes".
I assume the AFL doesn't really care (or care enough to check), in much the same way injury lists aren't very accurate.

That one was definitely a late change. Atkins was an emergency not named in the playing 23. Then on the day of the game, he replaced Richards.

They might as well remove the 'late changes' section on the team page if they don't bother to update it.

When Carr comes in the only two words that should be muttered ANYWHERE within the club should be “CHARACTER & RESILIENCE” because our whole Character and Identity is a bunch of Daddy’s boys who have zero Resilience when things get tough. Playing through injury, opposition kicks 3-4 goals on the trott, we turn to water…

Remember how we also drafted danny butcher and matthew westhoff for reasons? Then also got that dude Biemans over for the magpies because he was Boaks mate but a pretty average footballer?

Haha we have never been serious.

Look, I’ll agree with Matthew Westhoff, but he did manage to play League footy for us. I understand Danny Butcher, you bring a kid over touted as ‘The Future’ and is a Key Forward, best Key Forward prospect arguably we have had since Bowen Lockwood, you bring a stable mate in to help settle into the club.

But to throw Biemans in, when we couldn’t recruit footballers to play in our Magpies teams is the WORST call on this board for the year! He was a reasonable footballer, especially at SANFL level and showed a club that was trying to invest in all areas of its football department.

Preview Changes & Preview Thread for Showdown 57