Preview Changes/Preview v Brions

You can add Bailey Scott to that lot mate.

His speed is going to be very important player for us.

We need another two more just like him.
Deliberately left last year's draftees off it.

No doubt Bailey, Tarryn, Curtis and Joel all having big summers would be great. It's not the draft class that's seriously pushing us forward next year.

If they do, bonus.

I love it when we win, you dont see half the posters that come in here to jab sharp sticks into everyone and anyone when we lose. I would hate to live your lives .... must be hell being angry and upset all the time.

The changes are what they are, like for like, or stay because of injury. Tough trip but i think it will be a close game.

Well rhyce shaw has shown enough to be given a 2 yr contract, now we just need to start 'managing' our team. For instance Thompson and Tarrant can be rested so we given durdin and mckay a full go. Ahern given the rest of the year to settle into the team. Time to let Bailey Scott more game time and same as Garner. Cunnington needs rest, given tyson 5 games to test out his mettle as a centerman and also Campbell the rest of the year to get a test of no.1 ruckman.
How does that happen?

Bailey is out for the year with a foot injury
Garner is on a club imposed ban for drinking
Tyson is out with a calf
And you want to throw the rest of the kids in without any senior support? We aren't Carlton mate.

That’s as good a team as we can muster, given our injury list. Personally, I’d prefer to see LDU in instead of Hrovat but, meh, I’ll bow to Shaw being closer to the action and better knowledge on balance. Moreover, if Snake likes Hrovat, it’s good enough for me. If Brisbane can take us down, good luck to them. I’m really happy with the team’s consistency over the last number of weeks. You can’t ask for much more. I know I’ll be disparaging of every single one of them at times for two and a half hours tomorrow. However, in the end, all I want is the same effort that has been in existence since the start of the fourth quarter against Sydney. I’m loving Shaw in every way.

If he delivers 4 goal assists every match for the rest of the season, he will end up with a 3 year contract extension.
4 goal assists is ok, but as a forward he needs to add some of his own goals to that tally.

And what if they didn't kick straight for him? Does that mean he had a lesser game or will we count his points and out on the full assists?

4 goal assists is ok, but as a forward he needs to add some of his own goals to that tally.

It's not "ok" mate, it's freakin' Careyesque as far as that aspect of football goes.

Only one other player has matched that in the 152 other matches that have been played this season, and no other player has exceeded it.

It really is a significant statistic.

And what if they didn't kick straight for him? Does that mean he had a lesser game or will we count his points and out on the full assists?

1) It takes nothing away from his direct actions in setting up those opportunities.
2) No

Any insight into who the traveling emergency will be? Just feel like we are a midfielder short.

Wouldn't mind seeding Durds go to Hipwood, Tarrant take McStay, and then Thompson can dominate Rayner.
Ahern.

Oh FFS, either play him or make sure he plays in the VFL!

it makes no sense.

I now have an inkling that Higgo won't play.

If it was us unveiling Hipwood and McCluggage as 'ins' Barrett would write this:

IF | the Kangaroos didn't have exclusive access to talented academy players like Eric Hipwood or early draft selections like McCluggage

THEN | they certainly wouldn't be sitting in the top 4 right now

Note: there you go Purple, I've written your copy for you should North go top 4 next year with Tarryn Thomas and LDU in the side

I’ve heard he has been putting in the hard work the entire time he’s been injured (cardio and keeping his fitness up)

Gosh this will make our midfield LIFT

Liked for the use of the word "gosh". Not enough use of words like "gosh", "golly", "strewth" these days. Too many young "whippersnappers" around I'm afraid.

Give them a "clip in the earhole" Horrie.:thumbsu:

This shapes as an interesting match.

They are a relatively young side, playing good solid footy, and are following up on their home patch after winning away against a side in the top 8.

Will this week be the point where they stop to sniff their own farts, as young sides on the rise tend to do?

Hrovat had high quality delivery inside fifty that set up four goals, that's why he stays.
But what did he do for the entire game, other than 4 goal assists? Not to mention that one of those assists, the handball to Brown was absolutely lucky, as he fumbled the ball in a typical soft effort, only for the ball to miraculously come back to him which he gave to Brown with a short handball - hardly a genius assist that one.

But what did he do for the entire game, other than 4 goal assists?

You don't think this alone is an adequate return from a modern half forward?

This shapes as an interesting match.

They are a relatively young side, playing good solid footy, and are following up on their home patch after winning away against a side in the top 8.

Will this week be the point where they stop to sniff their own farts, as young sides on the rise tend to do?
And the 6 day break and being on the road for the past fortnight will negate some of the home ground advantage. So it does become an interesting test of our ability to retain our new intensity and their ability to continue the momentum. Looking forward to this one and hope both sides are at their best. We have had some terrific contests with the Lions recently, especially in Brissie.