Preview Changes/preview v. Geelong

• Thread starter Thread starter Headless

What pisses me off most is we don't do anything to help him, he's got to do everything himself (luckily he's good enough to impact the game at 19) Back in the day vets would make it easy for a talented youngster, with us it's fend for yourself.
100%
JVR is doing the dirty work to get Fritsch free. It's fine cause Fritsch is a star but I've seen way too many talented kids lose their confidence at AFL level because they were coached into a role player. Look at Kozzie, guys a ****ing freak but feels like the bloody pill has to fall in his lap to do something atm

You read it wrong. What young Nicholas meant was he is being underutilised by shitty delivery and forward structure
Do I really need to explain this to you?
The "blue collar and stodgy" part threw me. Contextualised within "we need to get the ball in quicker to him", this now makes sense.

Also apologize to Tommo
Guardians Of The Galaxy GIF

JVR is ready to have a big game now but Stafford and Goody are like a mule with a spinning wheel.

Like I said in his player thread a week or so ago, he should be getting recognised far more than he does publicly but we are holding him back. The guy does so many great things for a KPF his age. Hes got some real footy smarts.

Got the same feeling watching him as I did Pickett, jackson, Oliver and Petracca. He could be a legitimate star.

Oliver and Bowey automatic inclusions for me.

Outs harder to find but Spargo just isn't doing enough and is part of a badly functioning forward line. Sparrow has been slightly better recently with Oliver out but still not setting the world on fire. With Clarry back in I'd have him making way to sub.

Spargo out, Kozzie out (he has been well below since 'the bump), Jordan needs to be in, Smith provided a difference so he can't go and Tomlinson is the third tall needed down back until Petty returns (and must stay in if Petty plays forward).

I would be looking at Langdon to improve his output, the same as Neal-Bullen (forwards need goals). Bowey sub on return from a concussion.

Spargo out, Kozzie out (he has been well below since 'the bump), Jordan needs to be in, Smith provided a difference so he can't go and Tomlinson is the third tall needed down back until Petty returns (and must stay in if Petty plays forward).

I would be looking at Langdon to improve his output, the same as Neal-Bullen (forwards need goals). Bowey sub on return from a concussion.
Agree Spargo should go and Kozzy isn't at his best but I think removing two small forwards with the way we go inside 50 would be a disaster.

In: Oliver Brown Bowey
Out: Pickett Smith Spargo

Pickett needs 20 touches and 2-3 goals at Casey. Needs a rocket.

Thought Anb played his best game for the year.
Pickett missed some sitters but gave ANB a gimme with a sick kick inside 50.
Really liked both for their pressure and workrate.
Edit: Spargo not right since the concussion.

Pickett missed some sitters but gave ANB a gimme with a sick kick inside 50.

It was a complete miss kick, he was going for goal.

Kozzy been garbage since Goody decided hes a stay at home forward.

Hes trying way too hard to make shit happen at the moment, thats what happens when your coach doesnt allow you to get into the game.

Kozzie is exactly where we can improve as a side. Having him in form makes a massive difference. He plays a massive game in the midfield in Round 1, turns around our stagnant game against the Dogs, then Goody refuses to play him there again! I mean wtf is with that? Instead plops him in the F50 having to try and take mark of the year to get the ball or plays in a crowded forward half. Let him run FFS! At least for part of the game. Rotate him and Trac in the F50? Give him space on a wing and play Hunter forward flank? He's got arguably the best skills in our side, yet sits in a pocket, tries to clamour together 6 touches, and has had little to no impact. C'mon Goody FFS!

Been on about it for a while, but it's ridiculous that Bowey has been pigeon holed entirely as a small defender. Spargo mainly holds his place in the side because of his inside 50 kicking. He's not really a good shot for goal because he doesn't have much range.

On that basis alone, it's hard to see why Bowey couldn't spend time on half forward. Would love to see him hitting up Fritsch and JVR.

Is there any chance Bowey isn't selected if fit? Love the little guy but our defence was as good as it gets today.

Can he play HFF?

He is a good user kicking into our 50.

Gus needs to be punted from our midfield mix.

Bowey played heaps of footy up forward as a junior - but we've always only played him down back. With McVee providing plenty of dash and Salem back surely now would be a good time to trial Bowey further up the ground as he's too good a footballer to be stuck out of the side. Match committee doesn't really flip young players around the ground much though, sadly.

After the first Q I thought Gus was actually good - and I'm not a fan generally of him in the midfield mix. He was super clean and tough at ground level and got a lot of good chains started with creative handballs. When Clarry is back in the team I want him shifted to half back which also probably keeps Bowey out further.

Agree Spargo should go and Kozzy isn't at his best but I think removing two small forwards with the way we go inside 50 would be a disaster.
I agree; one small out, and Petty into forward-line... can switch/rotate if needed with Tomo.

Manage Hibbo this week, for Oliver back in.

Kozzy been garbage since Goody decided hes a stay at home forward.

Hes trying way too hard to make s**t happen at the moment, thats what happens when your coach doesnt allow you to get into the game.
Watch what happens in September, i reckon. I think Kozzy could end up with a licence to kill.

Until then, lets not play all the cards in our hand.

**** I hope we beat Geelong, playing down there sucks, we never win, but after that performance against Collingwood, would be disappointed if we didn't give them a shake.

In: Oliver, Bowey
Out: Spargo ???