Preview Changes/preview v. Hawthorn - Round 9, 2025

For any American Melbourne supporters.
( Not every team can do this at selection time.)

IN: Johnson

Hawthorn will certainly win but I don’t care, they can jam it. Sucks to be them. They are weirdos where we are good, decent people just hoping for a half-decent performance where, win or lose, you can leave the G with head held high.

Plan B for me is to go full bananas and randomly punch people in the face (anyone, not hawks in particular)

Hawthorn will certainly win but I don’t care, they can jam it. Sucks to be them. They are weirdos where we are good, decent people just hoping for a half-decent performance where, win or lose, you can leave the G with head held high.

Plan B for me is to go full bananas and randomly punch people in the face (anyone, not hawks in particular)
I have a million reasons not to attend this game. But heading in with my mate who's mad Hawthorn. I fn hate Hawthorn supporters. My worst experiences at the footy have been playing this mob.

I'll be on a flight to Japan at that time.

Worst experiences at the footy? The 1988 GF wasn't ideal.

I'll be on a flight to Japan at that time.

Worst experiences at the footy? The 1988 GF wasn't ideal.
I was a little fella going to the footy in the 87 prelim. My old man got in a massive punch on after the game with some arrogant Hawk supporters and a couple of his mates. That's probably my worst memory of going to the footy. But I reckon I've had at least a dozen other experiences against this mob where Hawks fans have just made the experience terrible. Not sure if it's just unlucky or if their fan base are known to be pr**ks?

We would've lost to 15/17 sides with our form over the past two weeks – think some are perhaps reading a bit too far into mediocre performances against two of the worst teams in the league.

That being said, a bit of optimism is needed sometimes, I suppose.

We would've lost to 15/17 sides with our form over the past two weeks – think some are perhaps reading a bit too far into mediocre performances against two of the worst teams in the league.

That being said, a bit of optimism is needed sometimes, I suppose.
Failing to recognize the problem makes a solution impossible.
Optimism is often a way to avoid acknowledging the obvious problem.