Preview Changes: R16 vs Brisbane Bullets

• Thread starter Thread starter Scorpus

Good that they will fight.

But they will be playing in Vic regardless.

Say they decide to play tomorrow, everyone flies back Friday am. Then Friday st 11am SAHealth announce one of the passengers on that plane is positive. Or a contact from one of the passengers on that plane.

SA Health will then block the game.

AFL needs some element of consistency. Us staying in Melbourne helps that.0

Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk
I would guess there’s a time cutoff to the decision to allow ticket sales. I reckon that time will be Friday after we hear the daily case numbers and they’ve got results back from all the testing of those on the flight.

this was in the advertiser just now

"The AFL will play the Crows-Brisbane game at Adelaide Oval on Saturday unless there is a South Australian lockdown or Victorian border closure in the coming days.
Adelaide was set to join the Lions in Melbourne on Wednesday night after the league ordered both the Crows and Power to flee SA as a precautionary measure because the state recorded five new Covid cases that day.

These next 24 to 48 hours will be crucial but the league’s priority is to play the game as planned in Adelaide with a crowd."
So it should be

this whole shit show has me really quite cross 🤨

The article with Adam Kelly is basically conceding it will be played over there. Think it will be put in the too hard basket to play it here.

Sucks that guys like Pedlar, Worrell, Cook and Gollant are now going to have to sit on the pine for a number of weeks.
Mini Reserves tournament among the AFL teams.

Catalyst to true AFL Reserves.

Back to changes…
OUT - McAdam, Sloane, DMac, Kelly
IN - Pedlar, Hately, Davis, McAsey

Roll the dice and see what some of these boys have got…

If he had opposed philosophies he'd have not gotten a second interview. Otherwise known as a few beers at Roos' place where you discuss how brilliant it is that you both have exactly the same core beliefs on how to run a footy dept. And that is pretty much what Roo said.
This!
(not to mention the shaved head and squeaky voice in common :sneaky: :
*at their first meeting*
Both: "Jeez, I like the look and sound of this bloke" )

The issue is border restrictions, not lockdowns. The AFL doesn't want a situation where one day one of the governments decides to shut borders, leaving a team stranded.

Makes perfect sense to relocate all teams into one state temporarily to keep the season going. Yeah a few fans won't be able to attend but that's better than not playing at all
They get exemptions, our borders have been shut yet they still came over here.
The issue is the clubs refusing to go through what is required for an exemption.

I would be stunned if that happened now.

If the teams flew in here and on Saturday there were cases in SA ......
Nah, Sydney teams have only just flown out, there’s been cases there for weeks.

Understand that but I’m completely over it. This is one of the few things to look forward to and it gets taken away again.
I just had to cancel my third trip this year because QLD declared a three day lockdown and Tassie changed our risk status from low to high. We are all going without. We are all over it. But we need to accept that it’s here to stay, and until everyone is vaccinated, these breakouts are going to continue to cause issues.

Understand that but I’m completely over it. This is one of the few things to look forward to and it gets taken away again.

I get it, mate - everyone has their stories on what they've missed out on over the last 18 months - it all sucks

I'd be pretty stoked in retrospect if a handful of Crows games was at the top of my list - as it is, missing Crows matches are a fair way down on mine

I don't think this is a 'just in case' scenario. A little bird has told me there will be news very soon about some concerning cases in SA - I am guessing some added restrictions or a lockdown will follow if the little bird is right.

Edited - just read the news on ABC site that the 5 people I alluded to above has already been reported earlier today. My little bird told me about this first thing this morning - I am glad I am wrong about the lockdowns!

Those 5 people are all in the one house, we're isolated and infected from the Tanami mine site guy that travelled through Alice springs. They are not a statewide risk.

As I said (half-jokingly), we will get shafted out to regional Victoria and will get zero extra experience on the normal Melbourne grounds. Ballarat here we come!

They will do that for our home games so that it's more a neutral venue. Otherwise you'll have BACCS screaming blue murder about our home game advantage being turned into a pure away game.

If the game goes ahead it wont give us much time for those of us in the western stand to get our tickets. Hopefully this gets sorted today

OH no. What a shame. Hamstring injuries to all our best players. Damn it.
Oh well, we can't be blamed for the fall down the ladder now..
Rubbish, the surface at Mars Stadium is pristine and probably the best in the AFL.

"The AFL will play the Crows-Brisbane game at Adelaide Oval on Saturday unless there is a South Australian lockdown or border closure in the coming days."

lets hope there are no lockdowns or border closures between now and Saturday

"The AFL will play the Crows-Brisbane game at Adelaide Oval on Saturday unless there is a South Australian lockdown or border closure in the coming days."

lets hope there are no lockdowns or border closures between now and Saturday
Didn't expect that given the expense and logistics of us going over there yesterday.

Real test for our players. This week routine broken up a few times, plus two unnecessary (albeit short) flights.