Preview Changes: R20 2019 v St Kilda: it's a SUSHI-PIZZA PARTY!!

How many changes do you think there will be?

OzSparrow

Aug 30, 2006
Manly, Glenelg, Liverpool FC
I wish the record to reflect that I was correct with my prediction of 4 changes.

However, I also wish to reflect that I have now lost all faith in the selection committee.

To bring back three 30+ years players and Fog who has struggled for form all year in the reserves is mind-boggling to see.

What is the message that the Crows are trying to send regarding its football brand and objective? To limp into eighth? That is their pass mark?

It is absolutely stupid to think that making finals is now our objective. To not blood some youth in the last 4 rounds of this season is astonishing.

Of the 22 that will play this weekend, I foresee nearly half of them (10) not being in the club within 3 years. I also think nearly a quarter of them (5) will seriously be talked about in the off season as to contracts and/or trades.

Why play them if they are not part of our plans moving forward?

Until this club acknowledges the need to rebuild around a fresh core of younger players it is screwed to wallow mid table year after year.

marty36

Aug 17, 2009
I wish the record to reflect that I was correct with my prediction of 4 changes.

However, I also wish to reflect that I have now lost all faith in the selection committee.

To bring back three 30+ years players and Fog who has struggled for form all year in the reserves is mind-boggling to see.

What is the message that the Crows are trying to send regarding its football brand and objective? To limp into eighth? That is their pass mark?

It is absolutely stupid to think that making finals is now our objective. To not blood some youth in the last 4 rounds of this season is astonishing.

Of the 22 that will play this weekend, I foresee nearly half of them (10) not being in the club within 3 years. I also think nearly a quarter of them (5) will seriously be talked about in the off season as to contracts and/or trades.

Until this club acknowledges the need to rebuild around a fresh core of younger players it is screwed to wallow mid table year after year.

Chapman Roo Tex and Pyke made it clear they want to be in the eight

Right or wrong that is what they want

You would think they want that for records so that in 10 years time it makes the club look better rather than what is best now and not worry about results and try and build a team if infact we have juniors that are capable as we really don't know yet

Ripcity

May 31, 2017
Portland Trail Blazers
Still get a sickly feeling reading this.

"I look at guys not on their age, but on their performance. If they're performing and they're capable of staying at a really high level, they stay."- Pyke

Those 12 disposal 0 tackle games from Douglas must exhibit a 'really high level' that I'm not smart enough to see.

This clubs treatment of young talent is appalling. No wonder players leave. They are so arrogant in that they think they can treat kids how they like and they are completely oblivious to the fact other clubs are circling.

We treat them like tradie apprentices. "4 years doing the s**t jobs. You haven't earnt it yet. Pay your dues first. Go and make me a coffee."

Brown_DOG68

Jun 5, 2009
Cincinnati Reds
he mentioned two Bock and Rutten not three

You're either dense or being deliberately obtuse, or trolling.

Was Stevens an AA?

Maybe if you took your head out of your ass and read DABM's post that he was responding to, you'd have more of an idea of whats being discussed, or just go back to spamming rubbish.

A GASTRO-LIKE bug has swept through St Kilda, with Jack Newnes and Ben Paton withdrawn from the round 20 team to take on Adelaide.

Dan Hannebery, who's also on the comeback from a hamstring injury, was also ruled out on Tuesday with the illness and still isn't 100 per cent well.

Dan McKenzie and Matt Parker have come into the 22 to replace the duo.

OzSparrow

Aug 30, 2006
Manly, Glenelg, Liverpool FC
View attachment 719261

A GASTRO-LIKE bug has swept through St Kilda, with Jack Newnes and Ben Paton withdrawn from the round 20 team to take on Adelaide.

Dan Hannebery, who's also on the comeback from a hamstring injury, was also ruled out on Tuesday with the illness and still isn't 100 per cent well.

Excellent.

We will only lose by 3 goals now instead of 6.

robboaustralia

Jul 19, 2010
Sturt, Liverpool, San Antonio Spurs
View attachment 719261

Parker destroyed us last time didnt he?

On SM-N960F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Aug 4, 2004
on planet Crow
36ers
We treat them like tradie apprentices. "4 years doing the s**t jobs. You haven't earnt it yet. Pay your dues first. Go and make me a coffee."
Correct. And then when another club comes along and says "we love you, we want you, heres a good pay rise as well" we wonder why they leave.
At AFC you have to wait and earn your place even if you are already outperforming older players in the team. Other teams target talent and play them. It's one of the reasons why clubs have been targeting our guys.

beartoo

Jul 27, 2004
Moana Heights Adelaide
The fact that other teams target and develop young mids quickly is the reason that our one-paced plodders get shown up week in week out. The game has changed and we have not adapted to that change. We need young legs in the midfield and good skills too. We get slaughtered on the spread.

Oct 14, 2005
Canberra
Norwood, Adelaide Crows
The fact that other teams target and develop young mids quickly is the reason that our one-paced plodders get shown up week in week out. The game has changed and we have not adapted to that change. We need young legs in the midfield and good skills too. We get slaughtered on the spread.
It doesn't help that our midfielders have completely forgotten how to win a clearance...

View attachment 719261

Guess what our players will have next week...

The younger guys may actually get a decent opportunity ;)

Tex200

10k Posts Podcaster
Dec 24, 2008
I’d like to see a list of all Rising Star nominees that were omitted the very next game after their nomination.

Reckon it’s a pretty thin list. When it comes to development we can be a stunningly stupid football club

ThePrideOf

F*& the power
Aug 1, 2017

Limping into the 8 has been the go to for Rob Chapman to spruik "Yet another successful year of making finals by the Adelaide Crows... our future is bright.. memberships are strong YADDA YADDA YADDA".

The one word missing out of everyone at the Adelaide crows from the top down is ACCOUNTABILITY.

No one is accountable for anything.

Its all just limp... so limp... i want the crows to be sponsored by Viagra next year instead of optus.

May 17, 2009
Glenelg
No he was not

Every time Rutten, Bock and Stevens were available Davis was in the SANFL.

We only picked him when we were forced to.
And that attitude is then taken up by the players and passed down. Even Talia said it this week "well I had to spend a few years in the SANFL". It's like a subtle "shut up and wait your turn" from a senior leader.

May 24, 2006
Car 55
Redbacks, Sturt, Liverpool, Arizona
And that attitude is then taken up by the players and passed down. Even Talia said it this week "well I had to spend a few years in the SANFL". It's like a subtle "shut up and wait your turn" from a senior leader.
It would carry over into how we offer contracts too

Wait your turn, you'll have your time, we value experience.

Jake Lever gets offered a huge upgrade by another club that dwarfs our offer. It's just a completely foreign concept to us that other clubs would value future performance ahead of proven track record.

The Hawks sneak in and grab some skinny second year forward of ours. Which takes us completely by surprise because we don't look at our list and work out who are the most sought after, valuable commodities.

Apsaalooke

Sep 23, 2012
Sturt, Ozark Mountain Daredevils
Chapman Roo Tex and Pyke made it clear they want to be in the eight

Right or wrong that is what they want

You would think they want that for records so that in 10 years time it makes the club look better rather than what is best now and not worry about results and try and build a team if infact we have juniors that are capable as we really don't know yet
I don't have a problem with making finals, but the likes of Douglas, Mackay, Otten are not going to get us there anyway. Playing young fast midfielders is more likely to succeed both short and long term. Its like the selectors are stuck in some sort of time loop where they've forgotten previous performances by these old guys.

marty36

Aug 17, 2009
I don't have a problem with making finals, but the likes of Douglas, Mackay, Otten are not going to get us there anyway. Playing young fast midfielders is more likely to succeed both short and long term. Its like the selectors are stuck in some sort of time loop where they've forgotten previous performances by these old guys.

Then thats Pykes opinion, right or wrong he will soon be found out