Preview Changes: R3 vs Gold Coast

I'd love to say to Matt Crouch:

"Mate, this week you are playing on Matt Rowell. If he ever gets more than 3m away from you when we don't have the ball, you won't be in the team next week. He's only played 2 games, so it shouldn't be a problem for you. I want to see you running defensively"

I'd love to say to Matt Crouch:

"Mate, this week you are playing on Matt Rowell. If he ever gets more than 3m away from you when we don't have the ball, you won't be in the team next week. He's only played 2 games, so it shouldn't be a problem for you. I want to see you running defensively"
Wouldn't catch him.

But I agree.

It didn't go too well last year.

If a senior player gets dropped, wait for them to sook it up
They sooked it up as Campo was meant to be protecting them regardless of form. What caused this culture in the first place was not making players accountable. At what other club do players keep their spot if they aren't performing?

He said it, now he has to do it

Saying it in a clear and unambiguous manner is a pretty decent step forward though. I doubt we’ll see much this week with potentially 2 forced changes. But a good sized loss to Gold Coast should see a head or 2 on the block. Of course, it’ll be Sloane and Kelly returning, so we’ll have to wait an extra week then as well.

We need to get better
Kicks into defence somehow.

Our players are so one dimensional it's like they are stuck in another era.

You can't just be a specialist in one thing.

This is largely our preferred structure though. Our defenders are defenders only. Our forwards are forwards only. Small group of outside mids and a small group of stoppage mids. Of those, an even smaller group that rest on the field. It’s not until the last quarter that we throw a kid that’s a mid by trade, but a forward by selection, into the middle for a crack. Or the McAsey/Lynch switch. We need a lot more flexibility throughout the entire match, we’re such a static football philosophy. It’s why good coaches have been able to pull us apart even in our good years.

I’m a big reluctant to drop Murphy cause he’s seems to be one of only a few that actually look like he gives maximum effort, especially in aerial contests
You don't keep your spot for giving maximum effort but producing minimum output. I would rather play a talented player who is bloody lazy. At least I would know what I need to work on.

This is largely our preferred structure though. Our defenders are defenders only. Our forwards are forwards only. Small group of outside mids and a small group of stoppage mids. Of those, an even smaller group that rest on the field. It’s not until the last quarter that we throw a kid that’s a mid by trade, but a forward by selection, into the middle for a crack. Or the McAsey/Lynch switch. We need a lot more flexibility throughout the entire match, we’re such a static football philosophy. It’s why good coaches have been able to pull us apart even in our good years.
Sort of.

We've always had forwards push up field, and even in R1 you had Stengle upfield around the stoppage.

We probably give our forwards too much rope at times, so when we do actually win the pill on the now rare occasion, it's an open field to kick to

You don't keep your spot for giving maximum effort but producing minimum output. I would rather play a talented player who is bloody lazy. At least I would know what I need to work on.
I guess that's why Carlton play Gov.

I still think Atkins is gone, but I can see the rest keeping their spots. I’m tipping McPherson for Atkins and McAdam for? Not sure on that one but I think he will come in.

My memory tells me that players miss a week with concussion at our club every time. Rory’s cork was described as a high grade contusion. There’s really no need to play anyone who requires a fitness test late in the week. I’d hope that neither of those guys are selected.

This feels different, especially with someone like Campo gone. Nicks or Kelly don’t strike me as people who will cop that.

Plus we’ve got nothing to protect. We’re finishing bottom 3-4, if they sook they can walk, it costs us nothing. In fact, if they want a decent contract elsewhere they’d better pull their head in and work their ring out for the betterment of the team.

My memory tells me that players miss a week with concussion at our club every time. Rory’s cork was described as a high grade contusion. There’s really no need to play anyone who requires a fitness test late in the week. I’d hope that neither of those guys are selected.
I'm pretty sure that's the case, we're quite sensible in that regard

I believe that there can be a few changes on field first before wholesale changes at selection.

I think we are currently wasting Brown and Murphy in their roles.

I would put Murphy into def.
Brown onto the hf in a rotation with BCrouch through the middle.

Sloane to a wing and after watching Lynch in the last quarter him to HB and Macasey to HF.

It keeps experience in the team which we must have to support the young fellas.

We need to play our best talent

Ned can play Murphy role which allows for McAdam or Davis to come in

I like Murphs attirude to his footy hiwever he just doesnt impact enough games

On SM-G973F using BigFooty.com mobile app
THIS is unfortunate, but so right. His attitude is good..but he's rarely involved. I'd like to give him time, but agree Ned can do his job and be more effective.

Can't imagine that Kelly will play

The one thing he is above all else is tough. Looked like he was pretty knocked around. Stayed down straight away

Have we ever played a showdown and not lost a bloke to concussion? Happens every single ****ing time, even in the SANFL.

Have we ever played a showdown and not lost a bloke to concussion? Happens every single ******* time, even in the SANFL.
Also we require players to qualify for Mensa on the road back so they're usually out for ages

That's two bad weeks in a row for Brodie. And not just bad, some of the worst footy he has played for us.
Strike 3 and he's out for me.
He is 28.. if he hasn't made it as a midfielder by now he never will! he should stock to half back where he played good footy. his midfield dream should have been shattered by the age of 24-26

I just have a strong feeling he is exactly the type of senior player whose weak efforts Nicks is alluding to in his pressers since the match. I know it’s his 100th, but you can bookmark this post, I think he’s getting dropped for someone like McPherson to make their debut.

Yep.. **** his 100th.. he doesn’t deserve it. He’s really only played 25 games all up anyway.. he plays 1 good quarter out of every 4... the other 3 he goes MIA..

Preview Changes: R3 vs Gold Coast