Preview Changes: R3 vs Gold Coast

I can't remember a game recently where I thought Sloane was BOG.
I echo the sentiment in here of a lot of people regarding Sloane. His reputation was built as a extremely hard running flanker/wingman. Creating space and gut running to provide an option where there wasn’t any.

When Danger left I feel like we pressured him into a full time inside mid role, which to his credit he was great at. But he’s proven to not be able to handle the attention of a #1 mid when he gets closely checked, and his body would be far better off without the constant pounding that it’s taken since 2016.

To get the most out of him for the remainder of his career I think he needs to be sent to the wing/HFF for 90% of gametime with occasional stints on the ball. Id much rather see him get 20 high quality possessions then 32 low quality scrapping touches!

No he's not, not even close.

I know you’re deaf to Lyons praise, you bring him up condescendingly and will possibly complain that people react. Anyway, Tex was reported as saying that he was the player in the team that he most wanted to be leading at. Now, no doubt Lyons’ kicking efficiency isn’t good, but my recollection of his time here was that kicks a lot more when in congestion than our other inside mids. Decision making is a factor I reckon, but given pressure and he’s not blessed with pace to give himself that extra time, his kicking is actually pretty good.

I agree with others, can't have both Crouch brothers in there at the same time.

Would even suggest Brad and Rory shouldn't be in at the same time either unless one of them is the designated inside mid.

But what we're lacking in both setups above is silk and speed. We need that outside mid with pace and carry desperately.

We’ve never really been quality. Even at our best when numbers went our way there was the regular quality differential. We’d win it with brute force and kick it forward from the pressure area. We’d lose it and watch the opposition run hard towards our defence in numbers with no pressure. Lyons was the only mid that could exit at goals on foot because he was on the move before the bounce. Brad can and we’ve been waiting for it to reappear for a couple of years now. I think he’s forgotten that he has wheels or they’ve been coached out of him.

That’s how I feel. I’m not sure we can get there from here. We need this group to get us to the place where we can get to the place where maybe we can get where we’re going.

Welp, there’s always beer

You can this to the bank. This group as you said needs to get us to the place to get to the place.........

I said it before I can see less than 5 players on our current list being a part of our next major premiership tilt. Thats sobering.

You can this to the bank. This group as you said needs to get us to the place to get to the place.........

I said it before I can see less than 5 players on our current list being a part of our next major premiership tilt. Thats sobering.
Less then 5 players? That’s not even the current draft class.

I think you may be a touch over dramatic there mate.

I echo the sentiment in here of a lot of people regarding Sloane. His reputation was built as a extremely hard running flanker/wingman. Creating space and gut running to provide an option where there wasn’t any.

When Danger left I feel like we pressured him into a full time inside mid role, which to his credit he was great at. But he’s proven to not be able to handle the attention of a #1 mid when he gets closely checked, and his body would be far better off without the constant pounding that it’s taken since 2016.

To get the most out of him for the remainder of his career I think he needs to be sent to the wing/HFF for 90% of gametime with occasional stints on the ball. Id much rather see him get 20 high quality possessions then 32 low quality scrapping touches!

Bloody oath. Sloane‘s attributes are perfectly suit a wing/HFF role.

Seems he and/or the coaching group think that as captain he must be in the centre square at every bounce. Bloody ridiculous.

I hope youre wrong, thatll mean another 10 years without a flag

Can you tell me someone who does provide better output? I’m struggling to think of someone who impacts a game for longer than 5 minutes atm
In Murphy's spot I would play Stengle or Mchenry. Would also drop Lynch and play Fog and McAsey as your key talls. Would also play McAdam and play one of either Davis/Gallucci/Crocker. Would round off the forward line with Walker (who I don't feel will be in the team for much longer if he doesn't contribute more) or see what Worrell can do.

Walker/Worrell Fogarty Davis/Gallucci
Stengle McAsey McAdam

Would likely put Mchenry on the interchange bench. Nothing against Murphy but the only spot in my team I would have him would be as a small defender but I would rather play Sholl or Hamill over him. Would also play Sloane wing and have him resting up forward. Can take a grab.

Seems he and/or the coaching group think that as captain he must be in the centre square at every bounce. Bloody ridiculous.
And, Sloane can play the HFF graveyard role and still be impactful because he’s such a trusted player.

The problem with young kids playing it is when the ball carrier looks up and sees a kid 1on1 they prefer to bomb it to a contest. They look up and see Sloane 1on1 and they kick it to Sloane

And, Sloane can play the HFF graveyard role and still be impactful because he’s such a trusted player.

The problem with young kids playing it is when the ball carrier looks up and sees a kid 1on1 they prefer to bomb it to a contest. They look up and see Sloane 1on1 and they kick it to Sloane

He should be playing the ‘Lynch’ role; Sloane has great endurance, is a quality mark, can actually apply some defensive pressure up forward, is a decent kick for goal and tackles hard.

Also creates some needed midfield time for Smith, Milera, Jones etc.

Geelong were happy to put Joel Selwood on a wing/hf role as captain as they were smart enough to know it was best for the team. The days of Sloane playing mid should be over.

Cal Twomey (AFL.com) mentions McKay, Gibbs and Davis as most likely inclusions this week. No mention any possible senior players being dropped. He obviously has no idea about the club. Total outsider. Did he consult anyone? If he's right, he'll have even more to answer to.

I know you’re deaf to Lyons praise, you bring him up condescendingly and will possibly complain that people react. Anyway, Tex was reported as saying that he was the player in the team that he most wanted to be leading at. Now, no doubt Lyons’ kicking efficiency isn’t good, but my recollection of his time here was that kicks a lot more when in congestion than our other inside mids. Decision making is a factor I reckon, but given pressure and he’s not blessed with pace to give himself that extra time, his kicking is actually pretty good.
His kicking is not pretty good and you can spin it all you like, his DE% right across his career has been very average at best and surpassed by many players of his type.

Cal Twomey (AFL.com) mentions McKay, Gibbs and Davis as most likely inclusions this week. No mention any possible senior players being dropped. He obviously has no idea about the club. Total outsider. Did he consult anyone? If he's right, he'll have even more to answer to.
Mackay lol. That will help. Cal Twomey trolling. Nicks mentioned Mcadam, Poholke, McPherson doing well in the practice match. I feel Mcadam will likely come in with a couple of others.

This is the only logical conclusion of current strategies.

The only caveat is that it makes the required mass boardroom exodus more likely

Based on what we've done in he past, Twomey is 100% spot on

I liked Cal Twomey back when he just kept himself in the draft. But he is Losing credibility quite quickly in my book.

Think he’s fast heading down the Damo/Scoop pathway

Assuming they stay and we get decisions right, Jones, McHenry, Fog, McAsey, Doedee, Milera, Stengle all look to have enough quality, even if they’re not the prime movers. ROB I’m not sure about and it’s hard to know with a couple of others without seeing them at the highest level. Our problem isn’t so much that there’s so few on our list, it’s how many will stay and will our footy strategy decision makers keeping ****ing the club over.

He should be playing the ‘Lynch’ role; Sloane has great endurance, is a quality mark, can actually apply some defensive pressure up forward, is a decent kick for goal and tackles hard.

Also creates some needed midfield time for Smith, Milera, Jones etc.

And can roll in there for a few minutes if need be.

Preview Changes: R3 vs Gold Coast