Preview Changes: R6 2019 vs St Kilda

4 reasons.

Firstly - the side we've selected is slower, and more inside heavy with us replacing another outside mid with an inside option. Gallucci will mitigate this to a degree. Pace is vital in this game after all.

Secondly - He's got form of being able to step up. He didn't set the SANFL alight last year but was a solid contributor in our side (especially in a role that was not one that historically had much offensive production under pyke)

Thirdly - that'd be two weeks without any game time for Gooch. Atrocious player management, especially for someone we need to be moving into the midfield soon seeing how we've drafted.

Fourthly - Gallucci had a good track record in key moments, especially in the back half of last season where he had made key plays late in game to help us win a few close ones (out marking Bilclavs on a nothing kick in our d50 with a couple of minutes left, bump on Gray to kill Ports last chance as the two off the top of my head, there were a couple more as well). I'd be rushing someone like that back asap.
An outstanding foot pass under extreme pressure to Jenkins in the last Q v Sydney. Crucial play that set up a key goal

I reckon that's another thing people get on his case for. He has an unusual, lazy looking kicking style.

Works though.

Yes couldn’t agree more - outstanding management.

When selecting an emergency to hold back last Thursday we had 2 options:

1. The player who is close, but supposedly needs a bit more form under the belt in the 2’s or;

2. The player who played in the 1’s the week before but was omitted through no fault of his own and who was otherwise in sparkling form in the 2’s

Which one could least afford a week off watching from the stands? Player 1 of course - outstanding management.

For the record I personally don’t think he needs anymore time in the 2’s, and if you watch them as much as you say you do, you will know he has never dominated the 2’s but always raises his game when promoted.
I wonder which one you are, Tool or Troll?

I'd be a strong advocate for using the mid-season draft to select Matthew Wright who can become a dedicated travelling emergency.

For a club like ours, it'd be valuable to have a versatile, not-developing player that could be used in this specialist role
I really like this kind of thinking. I can actually see clubs starting to do this. If they read BF they would

Oh wait they do ;)

Jordan was not AFL ready in 2017.
Really? I watched a JLT game at Noarlunga that I thought he showed some nice glimpses, just as Jones did and got a call up
We still gave him a mercy game in 2017 despite finishing minor premiers..
Wow thats quite a tool or troll comment

We may be stupid, but there is no way were that stupid.

This just seems like foxing for the sake of.

Let’s hope so. Injury niggles, little jabs here and there, no worries. But an energy sapping illness, there’s got to be zero chance that he’ll suit up. But at 2-3, we know the guys get desperate for experience and continuity, so it remains a concern.

So if he’s unfit as you’re implying, why was he held back as an emergency?

Or are you still just grumpy we didn’t draft Berry instead of Gallucci?

Bicks does find it hard to move past assessments made from u18 seasons. He’s arguing against Gooch right now because he’s a massive wrap for Poholke. Exposed form at the level remains meaningless when he’s seen so much in the u18s. He did the same when with Gore v Lyons a while back.

It’s simple, Gooch has now been travelling emergency twice, so fitness is no longer a consideration. That excuse is off the table, but that will leave a discussion only on who’s the better AFL player thus far, and that’s a discussion that Bicks isn’t interested in getting involved in.

Let's hope Gallucci is a late in for Gibbs

If he's not getting games now when Seedsman and Milera are both out then he's no chance later
Gibbs stayed home so I doubt he's playing.

Although it is nice to have some players returning soon..... hopefully.

So if we assume that Gooch comes in for Gibbs how do we structure?

Milera was playing fwd-mid last week. Gooch could do that but given we brought Poholke in then it’s fair to assume that should be his role.

Gibbs was back do we need someone to fill that role (given if playing Milera would be the one)

Does Mackay go to half back, then Gooch to the wing?

Either way I think Mackay would go to Gibbs role and the inclusion to wing or forward with someone else pushed to a wing

So if we assume that Gooch comes in for Gibbs how do we structure?

Milera was playing fwd-mid last week. Gooch could do that but given we brought Poholke in then it’s fair to assume that should be his role.

Gibbs was back do we need someone to fill that role (given if playing Milera would be the one)

Does Mackay go to half back, then Gooch to the wing?

Either way I think Mackay would go to Gibbs role and the inclusion to wing or forward with someone else pushed to a wing
Mackay back and Atkins, Knight playing the wing with Gooch able to go forward or wing if needed. Poholke both forward and mid along with Greenwood.

Atkins already wing though but I agree Knight would be 1 who can get pushed up there while the in plays fwd. Sloane could also if we want to try Poholke/Gooch I side a bit more.

If jones comes in I’d also like to see him given time on the wing to free him up and get him involved. Particularly early before pushing fwd more as he inevitably tires

You really need to see Neddy play before making what I suspect is an uneducated call.

https://www.sen.com.au/news/2018/11/21/johnson-nominates-the-jack-higgins-of-2018-afl-draft/

Fox Footy draft expert Brad Johnson has nominated Ned McHenry as his biggest sleeper of the 2018 AFL draft.

Johnson has compared the small forward to Richmond livewire Jack Higgins, praising his character and attitude.

“I really like Ned McHenry…I think he is the character of the draft, no question,” Johnson told SEN Breakfast.

“He is one that once drafted, he is going to be the Jack Higgins of next year.

“He is one to look out for. Apart from the talent side of things, he is just a good lad.

“He is really honest, so hopefully we get to hear a fair bit from Ned.”

McHenry was the number one tackler at the under-18 championships this past season, while also recording a high kicking efficiency. He is expected to be selected in the early 20s.

We coulda got ports Duursma at pick 16 at least and still got McHenry at pick 19 instead of giving it to Carlton . We will Finish not too far apart from Carlton this year so such a stupid trade as practically given up first rounder for nothing if we don’t get pick 1 this year which we won’t as Carlton have some real decent youngsters .

Yeah nah. We obviously rated mchenry higher than duursma
Carlton will finish bottom 3 we'll be somewhere between 6 and 13. Great trade either way

And why are you so confident McHenry wouldn’t have been picked up before 19? There’s no way you can know that and I’d say it is unlikely to be true

Bicks does find it hard to move past assessments made from u18 seasons. He’s arguing against Gooch right now because he’s a massive wrap for Poholke. Exposed form at the level remains meaningless when he’s seen so much in the u18s. He did the same when with Gore v Lyons a while back.

It’s simple, Gooch has now been travelling emergency twice, so fitness is no longer a consideration. That excuse is off the table, but that will leave a discussion only on who’s the better AFL player thus far, and that’s a discussion that Bicks isn’t interested in getting involved in.

What a load of tosh, I've watched every minute of the Crows SANFL games on the live stream and gone back and watched replays of the games on anything that I had doubts about. Gallucci's first 2 SANFL games were underwhelming and that's being kind, his last game was easily his best but was OK, not great, just OK. Poholke's 1st quarter last week was the best football I've ever seen from a Crows player in the SANFL, he was absolutely dominant all around the ground and overall his form this year is light years ahead of Gallucci. Gallucci has not played one single game at either level that comes close to Poholke's game last week.

And you're talking out your ass in regards to my ratings of Poholke by the way if you care to go back over my posting history.
Before the start of the season I clearly stated Poholke needed to lift big time or I doubted he'd get another contract.....I've got some big news for you, Myles HAS lifted big time as anyone that watches the SANFL Crows every game will tell you, his decision making which I've questioned in the past has been excellent and his willingness to take the game on at every opportunity is there for everyone to see. The only time I've ever been a wrap for Myles is this season, well earned I might add.

I like all true Adelaide supporters will be hoping Jordan plays a blinder today if he comes in but that does not alter the fact that thus far this season Myles has been in far superior form.

What a load of tosh, I've watched every minute of the Crows SANFL games on the live stream and gone back and watched replays of the games on anything that I had doubts about. Gallucci's first 2 SANFL games were underwhelming and that's being kind, his last game was easily his best but was OK, not great, just OK. Poholke's 1st quarter last week was the best football I've ever seen from a Crows player in the SANFL, he was absolutely dominant all around the ground and overall his form this year is light years ahead of Gallucci. Gallucci has not played one single game at either level that comes close to Poholke's game last week.

And you're talking out your ass in regards to my ratings of Poholke by the way if you care to go back over my posting history.
Before the start of the season I clearly stated Poholke needed to lift big time or I doubted he'd get another contract.....I've got some big news for you, Myles HAS lifted big time as anyone that watches the SANFL Crows every game will tell you, his decision making which I've questioned in the past has been excellent and his willingness to take the game on at every opportunity is there for everyone to see. The only time I've ever been a wrap for Myles is this season, well earned I might add.

I like all true Adelaide supporters will be hoping Jordan plays a blinder today if he comes in but that does not alter the fact that thus far this season Myles has been in far superior form.
To be fair though Bicks it’s not just about being dominant at SANFL level, if it was Grigg would have 100 games up by now.

The key difference between the 2, so far, is Gallucci has AFL qualities and looks better at the higher level.

I accept what you say though that Myles has improved in key areas.

Let’s hope both have good games this afternoon, assuming Gallucci plays

Yes couldn’t agree more - outstanding management.

When selecting an emergency to hold back last Thursday we had 2 options:

1. The player who is close, but supposedly needs a bit more form under the belt in the 2’s or;

2. The player who played in the 1’s the week before but was omitted through no fault of his own and who was otherwise in sparkling form in the 2’s

Which one could least afford a week off watching from the stands? Player 1 of course - outstanding management.

For the record I personally don’t think he needs anymore time in the 2’s, and if you watch them as much as you say you do, you will know he has never dominated the 2’s but always raises his game when promoted.

You do know it was not form in the 2nd that was keeping Gallucci out but his run and fitness that was holding back, And after last weeks game they worked him hard after the AFL game,
Remember Gallucci started way back in terms of fitness this year, he spent a considerable amount of time in a Moon Boot and had to rebuild some fitness. Note his ability to run hard is one of his strengths,

And besides as you and others have mentioned he does not need time in 2nd to find form, He just needs to keep his fitness level up, but first, he needs to get to that fitness level and then bide his time.

You do know it was not form in the 2nd that was keeping Gallucci out but his run and fitness that was holding back, And after last weeks game they worked him hard after the AFL game,
Remember Gallucci started way back in terms of fitness this year, he spent a considerable amount of time in a Moon Boot and had to rebuild some fitness. Note his ability to run hard is one of his strengths,

And besides as you and others have mentioned he does not need time in 2nd to find form, He just needs to keep his fitness level up, but first, he needs to get to that fitness level and then bide his time.
I’m just banging my head against a brick wall.

I’ll ask the same question that Bicks refuses to answer:

If the issue is his fitness and he is being managed, why was he held back and on standby as an emergency to replace an late withdrawal?