Prediction Changes Rd 13 vs Hoks

Hawthorn don't have the bye next week. They play top team Collingwood on Friday. Who do we want to win that?

It would normally be Collingwood in the general course of the season, but seeing we play Hawthorn the following Thursday would we want to be up against a finals fancy that has just lost its last three games? They would come out pretty fired up if they were facing four losses on the trot.

Maybe we just hope that the Collingwood game is a bruising gruelling one played in heavy conditions, whoever wins.

Control what we can control

We should be equally hungry for a scalp of a top 4 side after losses we have had

Gotta win for many reasons

I would like Bevo to try just Buku and Darcy and move Naughton back.
I don’t think Naughton will ever play back again for the dogs (apart from the break glass in case of emergency).

He’s not the guy you want distributing the ball out of defensive 50. We get punished on turnovers badly.

He played a half in defence last year (against North Melbourne) and it wasn’t pretty.

I don’t think Naughton will ever play back again for the dogs (apart from the break glass in case of emergency).

He’s not the guy you want distributing the ball out of defensive 50. We get punished on turnovers badly.

He played a half in defence last year (against North Melbourne) and it wasn’t pretty.
I doubt it'll happen while Bevo is coach. But if there was a new coach it would be a possibility.

I don't think Naughton's field kicking is as bad as some make out. And playing behind the ball might be the mental switch that revives his confidence.

Don't forget the idea of Lobb being a KPD was widely panned after Bevo sent him back for half a game a couple of years ago and we still lost (might have been a GWS game at Ballarat from memory). Now everyone sees it as a genius move.

Anyway I'm not in the move-Naughton-back camp ATM. I think he's going quite well as a KPF.

I'm not willing to stamp his card as a defender off one half of footy. If you're interested in historical context, he finished 4th in the BnF in his first year as an 18 year old defender and he's only finished above that once in the six seasons since. Only two top 10 finishes as a forward across that time.

Didn’t watch the vfl game…..

But Ryan Gardiner. 5 contested marks. Wonder if he’s a sneaky chance of a recall. 😂
Not against the Hawks with their smaller forwardline set up.
I'd much rather us stay a little quicker down back for the upcoming game.

Treloar looks very likely, Darcy less so but still a chance. Both trained last week I believe, so will be about how they pull up over the next week.
Darcy was always aiming for after the bye as a best case scenario.
Treloar was a 'test' so must be 50/50 for this game.

Darcy was always aiming for after the bye as a best case scenario.
Treloar was a 'test' so must be 50/50 for this game.
I don't want Darcy back in the side against Hawthorn if there's the slightest chance he's underdone and not fully tuned up for a critical high-intensity match. We have adjusted to play good football without him and trying to revert to a Darcy-centred forward line when he's not quite ready could undermine our good form and fluency.

I'd rather take introduce him in a later match, say Rd 14 against St Kilda, the week after we play the Hawks.

Hawthorn don't have the bye next week. They play top team Collingwood on Friday. Who do we want to win that?

It would normally be Collingwood in the general course of the season, but seeing we play Hawthorn the following Thursday would we want to be up against a finals fancy that has just lost its last three games? They would come out pretty fired up if they were facing four losses on the trot.

Maybe we just hope that the Collingwood game is a bruising gruelling one played in heavy conditions, whoever wins.
I don't give a rats ass who wins just push noughton too CHB and leave him there he's useless in the fwd line

New username.
Recent join date.
Unnecessarily rude reply to a high-value poster.
Poor punctuation.
Cannot spell prominent player's name.
Insults him for good measure.
Makes oft-repeated, tiresome statement we've heard a million times and are thoroughly sick of.
18 posts with not a single like.

This is surely what the 'Ignore' button was made for.

I don't like dropping players for just 1 bad mistake but McNeil's mistake in the last qtr is just unacceptable.

What was he thinking? Buku was literally less than a meter in front of him when he kicked it..

With the scores tied and 6min left that was the turning point of the game.

We had 2 on 2 in the goal square too. If your not going to have a shot, at least put it there.

I don't like dropping players for just 1 bad mistake but McNeil's mistake in the last qtr is just unacceptable.

What was he thinking? Buku was literally less than a meter in front of him when he kicked it..

He did it because he missed twice before this play and had no confidence left

It also backs up my point about lack of composure. McNeil had a metre or two on his nearest opponent but kicked to the first thing he saw, a low percentage pass to Khamis. Put the ball in say Ed Richards' hands and he might have taken the extra moment to assess his options and perhaps hooked it hard right to give our two trailing forwards a chance close to goal.

It's not just this once. It seems to be the way McNeil plays. He is busy and does some good things but he makes far less of his scoring/GA opportunities than the good small forwards do.

From memory McNeil is a right footer so we need to acknowledge he was on his non-preferred foot, but at this level you're expected to be able to handle that. Perhaps another reason he didn't kick long (a pass or a shot at goal) is because he didn't trust his left boot.

New username.
Recent join date.
Unnecessarily rude reply to a high-value poster.
Poor punctuation.
Cannot spell prominent player's name.
Insults him for good measure.
Makes oft-repeated, tiresome statement we've heard a million times and are thoroughly sick of.
18 posts with not a single like.

This is surely what the 'Ignore' button was made for.
If you are saying this about me well i do apologize for my In polite but i was so frustrations about Noughton i just thing that he does need some kicking skills are not the best. If you heard this post so many time it tells you he does need too go back to CHB . Look i really don't know about JUH i know he's going through times . but I'd rather see JUH up FWD along side Darcy but in this case he's still in the air

Libba was alone in the corridor 20 out as well

If you are saying this about me well i do apologize for my In polite but i was so frustrations about Noughton i just thing that he does need some kicking skills are not the best. If you heard this post so many time it tells you he does need too go back to CHB . Look i really don't know about JUH i know he's going through times . but I'd rather see JUH up FWD along side Darcy but in this case he's still in the air

No worries mate. We are probably all a little frustrated by Naughton's dip in form, but it pays to remember that he had a really rough start to the year with illness and now, being the only real target in a forward line without Darcy and Marra must be incredibly difficult. The fact that he's still splitting contests to create goals for our smalls is pretty admirable, I reckon. Taking him away would decimate our forward line.

I agree Mate

It also backs up my point about lack of composure. McNeil had a metre or two on his nearest opponent but kicked to the first thing he saw, a low percentage pass to Khamis. Put the ball in say Ed Richards' hands and he might have taken the extra moment to assess his options and perhaps hooked it hard right to give our two trailing forwards a chance close to goal.

It's not just this once. It seems to be the way McNeil plays. He is busy and does some good things but he makes far less of his scoring/GA opportunities than the good small forwards do.

From memory McNeil is a right footer so we need to acknowledge he was on his non-preferred foot, but at this level you're expected to be able to handle that. Perhaps another reason he didn't kick long (a pass or a shot at goal) is because he didn't trust his left boot.
Yea, total lack of composure there. He had much better options. But this is supposed to be his forte as a small forward, he has to make something of those opportunity's. I know many on here don't like Arte but I'm pretty confident that he would have gone for goal there, even with a right kick banana Motlop style if he had to.

Arte might not get the most touches but he makes the most of the ones he gets. And he puts on a ton of forward pressure, just like how he injured himself going at 110% for a chase down tackle.

Prediction Changes Rd 13 vs Hoks

Write your reply...