Prediction Changes Rd 13 vs Hoks

No worries mate. We are probably all a little frustrated by Naughton's dip in form, but it pays to remember that he had a really rough start to the year with illness and now, being the only real target in a forward line without Darcy and Marra must be incredibly difficult. The fact that he's still splitting contests to create goals for our smalls is pretty admirable, I reckon. Taking him away would decimate our forward line.
This.
I think people are a bit harsh in Naughts. He is the lone key forward in our forward line.
I love Buku but he is not and never has been a key position player. He is a medium that plays tall.

Naughtons form is something that can turn in the space of a week

Legit question, unlikely for the hawks game but what does Bevo do with Naughton when Darcy gets back? Does he play him higher up the ground? I didn’t think I’d ever say this but feel as though Buku is offering us more up forward at the moment.
When Darcy is back, we should play Naughton similar to the way Bob Murphy played CHF in the mid 2000s. Very much the leading target from about 40m out to the defensive 50

Yea, total lack of composure there. He had much better options. But this is supposed to be his forte as a small forward, he has to make something of those opportunity's. I know many on here don't like Arte but I'm pretty confident that he would have gone for goal there, even with a right kick banana Motlop style if he had to.

Arte might not get the most touches but he makes the most of the ones he gets. And he puts on a ton of forward pressure, just like how he injured himself going at 110% for a chase down tackle.
I must say Arty is sure mist and i like the way he place yes i do agree with you he doesn't have touches and as you said he puts FWD pressure , as Mcniel does lack that composure

Out of 23
Duryea, playing him as a half forward for part against Cats come on…
Cleary, really bad game go back to VFL for a spell
McNeil, didn’t lose us the game but could have won it, tbh I’m over it
McNeil becomes sub / 23rd man

In
Dolan, replaces McNeil in 22
Sellwood, well he’s on list give him a go, replaces Cleary

We should be playing all three. I think Buku stays as the second ruck and we just leave Darcy forward the whole game plus take F50 stoppages. Naughton can play higher which might free him up a bit.

Buku is growing in confidence as a forward and I think can be a very handy third tall.
Buku is an excellent kick for goal - you can trust him

Really tempted to chuck Sellwood in considering Duryea seems on last legs, Bramble & Cleary shaky (I’ll give Cleary another go he has been solid in previous weeks)
I wanted a Jaques debut for weeks now but he didn’t time his worst game of the year well. Got a lot of it but his disposal let him down. Which is normally clinical.

Don’t think it’ll be long until we see both of Sellwood & Jaques in the seniors in any case. And who knows Walker might even get a taste too.

I'd be surprised if we even play Sellwood in the Hawks game. He needs time to understand our structures, his role and and such. Will likely play some weeks in the VFL.

Agree. Players need to earn their stripes. He's just a kid. Would be completely irresponsible to put him straight in the team, as well as insulting to the current list.

Looking forward to watching the Hawks tonight - am genuinely split between wanting to face the Hawks off the back of three consecutive losses vs coming off a huge win over the top of the table Pies.

Naughton has become a workhorse type of player in the last couple years.
Gets to contests and does a bit of everything but doesn’t have the imposing presence of a gun key forward like he used to. I wonder when Darcy is back whether he would be an upgrade on Buku’s role as forward/2nd ruck.

Prediction Changes Rd 13 vs Hoks

Write your reply...