Preview Changes Rd 14 vs Sydney

• Thread starter Thread starter Visenfest

Nah fu** that attitude. We will likely finish top 2 and get the double chance. We are in this up to our eyeballs. In the last season and a half we have beaten West Coast twice, and we have beaten Richmond and Geelong. We need a bit of luck but it is doable.

If we dont win it this year, it won't happen for another 3 or 4 years. All of our senior over 30 players will be worse next year. The players coming through will no be able to counter act that in the short term. This is the year to strike if we are good enough. If not, so be it, but we should still go 100%. Giving a couple of our 18 years olds some token games will do bugger all in the scheme of things. The time is now. Why not us?

If we don't win it this year then 2021 will be just like 2015.

Death or glory in 2020.

Per the listed team last week:
Lienert - Def (Bench) -> Burton
Mayes - Wing -> Duursma
Motlop - HFF -> Rozee
Georgiades - FP -> Marshall
Woodcock - Fwd (Bench) -> Sutcliffe

I think Sutcliffe will play forward. And in the next few weeks:
Bonner -> Houston
Westhoff -> Ladhams

Then it's Farrell, Woodcock, Motlop & Sutty competing for that last forward bench spot.
👍 Yep!!

also, we often play an extra forward around the ball, whereas Sydney (and other teams like Geelong) will play one behind the ball. It has started to become a strategy against us - to block Dixon but also get some run going. Geelong perfected it and pumped us.

I think, As part of not congesting our forwardline, Ken wants some players with experience like Ebert/Sutcliffe (or Motlop) to play selfless roles and help draw defenders out of the forward 50 and open space up.

I think this is why Sutcliffe came in and Woodcock was dropped/rested, especially with Motlop out

Surely this agreement will change in the next agreement what with foxtel owned kayo being a far more utilised avenue for afl viewing movinh forward?
You need to listen closer every time they announce a new TV deal.

Since 2002-06 deal left the 7 monopoly for Foxtel+FTA broadcasters set up, the following rules have been in place:

The WA, SA, NSW and Qld teams are guaranteed that all 22 of their games will be shown on 7 / FTA TV.

The Vic teams don't get that guarantee. They only get 7 / FTA TV produced games on FTA TV.

For the 2017-22 TV deal, Foxtel insisted that the 4 WA and SA teams each had to have 3 Foxtel produced games delayed by 3 hours.

The household penetration rate for Foxtel is only about 15% in those 2 states compared to around 30% in Vic and 40% in NSW and Qld (driven by NRL having so many games on Foxtel). They want to try and increase the number of households in WA and SA that have Foxtel. Footy is one of their levers.

The 3 games are either home or away games.

So since 2017, Port and the crows each get a combo 3 Saturday arvo/twilight and Sunday early games, produced by Foxtel shown on 3 hour delay. This year it has been 2.5 hours delayed. Don't know what timeslots the WA clubs get delays but I'm assuming the same ones.

I wonder if Sutcliffe is actually an attacking selection and not a defensive one. He is one player who has shown the ability to lower his eyes and hit targets inside 50.

Last week only 2 of our goals resulted from a player lowering his eyes to hit a target inside 50- surprisingly, on both occasions it was Wines! First goal he hit up Gray who hand balled to Ebert, later he spotted up Woodcock who marked and goalled. We took very few marks inside 50 at all.

Last year againSt Essendon, I think, Sutcliffe hit two or three targets inside 50. Maybe that is his secret to selection and not photographs that prove Hinkley’s ungodly obsession with short people.

Because IMO I don't believe this group can win a flag, and I'm sure I'm not the only one. Our hope is for the next gen to get as much experience and develop as fast as possible. We can't take our eye off the future for the now when the now is only a tease. We are nowhere near deserving of our #1 spot and will be found out in finals and the club internally must have a sense of that reality. We'd be better off with Bergman in than Sutcliffe, if he is to be a key part of the future.

We are top of the ladder having lost to Brisbane (2nd), St Kilda (6th) and Geelong (4th)

Brisbane are second having lost to Hawthorn (15th), Geelong (4th) and Richmond (3rd)
Richmond are third having lost to Hawthorn (15th), St Kilda (6th), GWS (12th) and Port Adelaide (1st)
Geelong are fourth having lost to GWS (12th), Carlton (11th), Collingwood (7th) and West Coast (5th)

Are Brisbane more deserving of top spot? Or are Geelong because they have beaten 1st and 2nd and only lost to 5th and 7th?

Every team has their strengths and weaknesses and at this point of the season we're absolutely a premiership threat with our current team. This team is fundamentally different to previous years while still playing plenty 1-4 year players throughout the year including this weekend.

Nah fu** that attitude. We will likely finish top 2 and get the double chance. We are in this up to our eyeballs. In the last season and a half we have beaten West Coast twice, and we have beaten Richmond and Geelong. We need a bit of luck but it is doable.

If we dont win it this year, it won't happen for another 3 or 4 years. All of our senior over 30 players will be worse next year. The players coming through will no be able to counter act that in the short term. This is the year to strike if we are good enough. If not, so be it, but we should still go 100%. Giving a couple of our 18 years olds some token games will do bugger all in the scheme of things. The time is now. Why not us?
Because our midfield is completely front running, our defence can't function under any pressure and our forward line is simple to clog. We have some good players and generally good structure, and hell this year we've won a few games we would not have in the past, but when finals come and the tempo rises we've shown we can't match increased tempo and good sides will be able to break us down far too easily.

But regardless, when we're talking Sutcliffe, we're talking the 22nd player in the side. He's a nothing player who adds very little. We seriously can not be hurt by playing a kid that's part of our longer term, has far more upside, and may inject some enthusiasm into the group. I can't understand a selection like Sutcliffe at all. We have seen him at AFL level, we know what he can do, there's no reason why we couldn't use that 22nd spot on another player that has lacked exposure to the top level, and hopefully get some experience into them which could add some real long term value.

Surely this agreement will change in the next agreement what with foxtel owned kayo being a far more utilised avenue for afl viewing movinh forward?
7 have signed up for 2023-24 and are basically paying the old 2022 fee + CPI for both 2023 and 24, but after negotiating a reduction of $70m fee for 2020-22 seasons. 7 are also saving $17m production costs for 2020-22.

Foxtel haven't signed up for 2023-24 yet. They negotiated a $90m reduction in fee for 2020-22 seasons.

They have done their calculations based on what they paid for NRL fees in 2016 and looked at production costs and subscription revenue and advertising revenue and reckon they probably over paid by $300m back in August 2015 for 2017-22 AFL TV rights.

Murdoch at the August 2015 presser for the deal came out and said the AFL is the superior product - sledging the NRL, despite trying to destroy the game in the mid 1990's and then having monopoly control between 1998 and 2012. They have found out whilst it might be the superior product, they overpaid for it.

For the 2017-22 TV deal, Foxtel insisted that the 4 WA and SA teams each had to have 3 Foxtel produced games delayed by 3 hours.

The household penetration rate for Foxtel is only about 15% in those 2 states compared to around 30% in Vic and 40% in NSW and Qld (driven by NRL having so many games on Foxtel). They want to try and increase the number of households in WA and SA that have Foxtel. Footy is one of their levers.

The 3 games are either home or away games.
Even worse, from a general football watching perspective, we then also miss out on seeing the Channel 7 Saturday night game.

i agree

he was fine. He will be fine against Sydney

If fine is what we’re happy with let’s fold the ******* club though

Sutcliffe isn’t as horrendous as people may make out but he’s a finished product. He is the player he is, a barely competent role player, and he’s never becoming more than that.

so when he’s regularly getting games over younger players with unknown ceilings it’s infuriating.

hell, we’ve got a bunch of players who we need to make calls on at the end of this year or next and guys who may leave for more opportunities.

garner, drew Hayes (but westhoff is going eek out a few extra games as a complete passenger hey) and atley for starters. Come the end of the year we’re gonna have no idea whether these players have more to offer and will make a decision anyway.

then we will have holes on our list we will have to throw picks / money at to fix and put a bunch more time into developing all because Hinkley wanted to play Sutcliffe into the magical 70 afl games for port territory before he becomes a trivia question.

That's a pretty pessimistic view. That's the approach to take if we're not winning the flag this year.

If we're winning the flag this year though we just play whoever is best right the **** now, even if they're a role player who isn't getting better because who cares if they're gone next year - we'll have already won the flag by then.

We aren't a rebuilding team right now, we're a challenging team. We have to pick the team like we are challenging, not on future potential.

Because IMO I don't believe this group can win a flag, and I'm sure I'm not the only one. Our hope is for the next gen to get as much experience and develop as fast as possible. We can't take our eye off the future for the now when the now is only a tease. We are nowhere near deserving of our #1 spot and will be found out in finals and the club internally must have a sense of that reality. We'd be better off with Bergman in than Sutcliffe, if he is to be a key part of the future.

How about you take that unicorn down from the pedestal mate. We have till this point clearly deserved the right to be top of the ladder, the only metric that counts is the wins and losses column. Are we the best team this year? Well current form would indicate we are not, but show me one team apart from Brisbane and us that have been consistently winning this year. Are we the in form team? No, but we were in patches this year, not too unlike the Eagles, Cats and Tigers at the moment.

How about you just enjoy it for what it is and thank kcuf we have played any football this year. We have been dealt an absolute turd in what would of been a revenue raising year highlighting what is tried and true about this proud 150 year old club. Our club has worked tirelessly to polish it in the face of adversity in the most dire of scenarios and has exceeded even the most optimistic of us’s predictions.