HAW v ADE · FRE v StK · RIC v ESS · NM v GCS · GEE v SYD · COL v WCE · PA v CAR · GWS v BL · WB v MEL ·
Weekend Wrap and "Liked, Learned, Hated" right here -- How did tipping go?
Soccer Notice Image
Champions League - FINAL - PSG v Arsenal ⚽ Europa Semis ⚽ 2026 FIFA Series A - Socceroos friendlies ⚽ The Matildas x 2026 Womens Asia Cup ⚽ Conference League - SEMIS! ⚽ Conference League - Rd of 16 ⚽ Socceroos Internat'l Friendlies ⚽ FA Cup - Man City Win
Nah fu** that attitude. We will likely finish top 2 and get the double chance. We are in this up to our eyeballs. In the last season and a half we have beaten West Coast twice, and we have beaten Richmond and Geelong. We need a bit of luck but it is doable.
If we dont win it this year, it won't happen for another 3 or 4 years. All of our senior over 30 players will be worse next year. The players coming through will no be able to counter act that in the short term. This is the year to strike if we are good enough. If not, so be it, but we should still go 100%. Giving a couple of our 18 years olds some token games will do bugger all in the scheme of things. The time is now. Why not us?
Per the listed team last week:
Lienert - Def (Bench) -> Burton
Mayes - Wing -> Duursma
Motlop - HFF -> Rozee
Georgiades - FP -> Marshall
Woodcock - Fwd (Bench) -> Sutcliffe
I think Sutcliffe will play forward. And in the next few weeks:
Bonner -> Houston
Westhoff -> Ladhams
Then it's Farrell, Woodcock, Motlop & Sutty competing for that last forward bench spot.
Yep!!I will watch it on Kayo.In case it hasn't been mentioned already, this is another Foxtel game delayed being broadcast on 7 by 2.5 hours
First Bounce: 1.15pm
Channel 7Mate from 3:30pm ACST
Maximise on in stadium crowd..... oh wait.Why is that you get so many free to air games delayed in SA?
Victoria shows all their free to air games live?
You need to listen closer every time they announce a new TV deal.
Since 2002-06 deal left the 7 monopoly for Foxtel+FTA broadcasters set up, the following rules have been in place:
The WA, SA, NSW and Qld teams are guaranteed that all 22 of their games will be shown on 7 / FTA TV.
The Vic teams don't get that guarantee. They only get 7 / FTA TV produced games on FTA TV.
For the 2017-22 TV deal, Foxtel insisted that the 4 WA and SA teams each had to have 3 Foxtel produced games delayed by 3 hours.
The household penetration rate for Foxtel is only about 15% in those 2 states compared to around 30% in Vic and 40% in NSW and Qld (driven by NRL having so many games on Foxtel). They want to try and increase the number of households in WA and SA that have Foxtel. Footy is one of their levers.
The 3 games are either home or away games.
So since 2017, Port and the crows each get a combo 3 Saturday arvo/twilight and Sunday early games, produced by Foxtel shown on 3 hour delay. This year it has been 2.5 hours delayed. Don't know what timeslots the WA clubs get delays but I'm assuming the same ones.
Because IMO I don't believe this group can win a flag, and I'm sure I'm not the only one. Our hope is for the next gen to get as much experience and develop as fast as possible. We can't take our eye off the future for the now when the now is only a tease. We are nowhere near deserving of our #1 spot and will be found out in finals and the club internally must have a sense of that reality. We'd be better off with Bergman in than Sutcliffe, if he is to be a key part of the future.
Because our midfield is completely front running, our defence can't function under any pressure and our forward line is simple to clog. We have some good players and generally good structure, and hell this year we've won a few games we would not have in the past, but when finals come and the tempo rises we've shown we can't match increased tempo and good sides will be able to break us down far too easily.Nah fu** that attitude. We will likely finish top 2 and get the double chance. We are in this up to our eyeballs. In the last season and a half we have beaten West Coast twice, and we have beaten Richmond and Geelong. We need a bit of luck but it is doable.
If we dont win it this year, it won't happen for another 3 or 4 years. All of our senior over 30 players will be worse next year. The players coming through will no be able to counter act that in the short term. This is the year to strike if we are good enough. If not, so be it, but we should still go 100%. Giving a couple of our 18 years olds some token games will do bugger all in the scheme of things. The time is now. Why not us?
7 have signed up for 2023-24 and are basically paying the old 2022 fee + CPI for both 2023 and 24, but after negotiating a reduction of $70m fee for 2020-22 seasons. 7 are also saving $17m production costs for 2020-22.Surely this agreement will change in the next agreement what with foxtel owned kayo being a far more utilised avenue for afl viewing movinh forward?
Felt sure I heard Ken say hayes was emergency in that presser aboveSurely Sam Hayes gets named an emergency
Experience in playing as a defensive forward in a closely fought Grand Final?Exactly. You kno what sutcliff brings and I wouldnt want that come grandfinal day.
Even worse, from a general football watching perspective, we then also miss out on seeing the Channel 7 Saturday night game.For the 2017-22 TV deal, Foxtel insisted that the 4 WA and SA teams each had to have 3 Foxtel produced games delayed by 3 hours.
The household penetration rate for Foxtel is only about 15% in those 2 states compared to around 30% in Vic and 40% in NSW and Qld (driven by NRL having so many games on Foxtel). They want to try and increase the number of households in WA and SA that have Foxtel. Footy is one of their levers.
The 3 games are either home or away games.
i agree
he was fine. He will be fine against Sydney
If fine is what we’re happy with let’s fold the ******* club though
Sutcliffe isn’t as horrendous as people may make out but he’s a finished product. He is the player he is, a barely competent role player, and he’s never becoming more than that.
so when he’s regularly getting games over younger players with unknown ceilings it’s infuriating.
hell, we’ve got a bunch of players who we need to make calls on at the end of this year or next and guys who may leave for more opportunities.
garner, drew Hayes (but westhoff is going eek out a few extra games as a complete passenger hey) and atley for starters. Come the end of the year we’re gonna have no idea whether these players have more to offer and will make a decision anyway.
then we will have holes on our list we will have to throw picks / money at to fix and put a bunch more time into developing all because Hinkley wanted to play Sutcliffe into the magical 70 afl games for port territory before he becomes a trivia question.
Because IMO I don't believe this group can win a flag, and I'm sure I'm not the only one. Our hope is for the next gen to get as much experience and develop as fast as possible. We can't take our eye off the future for the now when the now is only a tease. We are nowhere near deserving of our #1 spot and will be found out in finals and the club internally must have a sense of that reality. We'd be better off with Bergman in than Sutcliffe, if he is to be a key part of the future.
Who are the emergencies? if Hayes is one then I agree.No concerns with Lycett! My money is on him being a late out tomorrow.
Ken said in his presser if Lycett didn't get up Hayes probably would of played.Who are the emergencies? if Hayes is one then I agree.