Unofficial Preview Changes (Rd 22) v Gold Coast Suns

Stephenson’s ball use was hardly all that bad despite what most seemed to claim. I had him top 2. Worpel I was gobsmacked he last that long. I had him getting out to #25 on my draft board at the absolute maximum. I was very keen for us to nab him.
I'd love to see your full draft board for this years draft class cotter.

I'm not going to this game, IIRC this will be the first Pineapple Stoush I've missed. Getting to and from Metricon is a pain in the arse, car-train-bus/bus-train-car. Wouldn't get home till Sunday so I volunteered to have the grand children for the night and watch it on TV.

Would much rather a win and take pick 4-5 than a loss and pick 2, it's been said numerous times but more often than not the best player in the draft does not turn out to be the one most expected pre draft. I'm on the Connor Rozee train, toot toot.

A win moves us into a harder fixture bracket, and shuffles us 3 picks back in the draft and Rules out a PP IMO.

A loss gives us a vastly better draw next year, a pick 2 and would make it hard for the AFL to give GC a PP and not us one if we are below them.

If there was ever a game we would want to lose, it's this one.

Having said all of that, I would never want us to tank and what will be, will be. Id be thrilled if we smash the GC on the weekend, which I think we will.

A win moves us into a harder fixture bracket, and shuffles us 3 picks back in the draft and Rules out a PP IMO.

A loss gives us a vastly better draw next year, a pick 2 and would make it hard for the AFL to give GC a PP and not us one if we are below them.

If there was ever a game we would want to lose, it's this one.

Having said all of that, I would never want us to tank and what will be, will be. Id be thrilled if we smash the GC on the weekend, which I think we will.

we would need to finish 12th to go up a fixture group

You can say all you like about how they want to win but there is always that little bloke in the back of ur mind saying "we need a gun for next year'. That's y I think they were so shite against Nth last year and maybe even against the magpies in the 2nd half. Its all between the ears.

Subconscious tanking?

We need onballers who can get a contested ball, lay a tackle and apply some physical pressure. The exact opposite of Taylor who has 100 games and still opposition players look up, see Taylor and know they are safe. He cannot break a tackle or lay one.

Our younger players might be able to step up quickly but last week we did not go hard enough when the ball was in dispute. Harder bodies which come with age for most players, which mean the young top draft picks will not solve our central deficiency for a few years.

We are still several years off being a reasonable side, and although we have improved, we are only going to win five games for the season and tinkering with the side at this late stage means nothing so out with Gardiner and in with who ever.

Outs - Dizzy
Ins - Allison

Been a disappointing season for Allison, but would give him a gig. I think Rich has had a reasonable season but has put in some shockers in the last few weeks - dropping a senior player might be a good message for senior players who think they can relax over the pre-season.

Clubs have to sell HOPE. It is HOPE that drives members to renew their tickets and it is hope that brings new members and sponsors. It would be easy to make wholesale changes but the leadership the club has now won't allow wholesale changes and have a publicity stink around us tanking. We will replace Darcy because he is injured but I doubt there will be any other changes the the reserves didn't play. The financial future of this club relies on us not having 2 blow outs to finish the season. We have the Eagles at home in the last game and there is no way we want to go into the off season on the back of a flogging trying to sell the messages we have improved. Two very close losses I can live with and its very tempting to get that high draft pick but I much rather spend the long months of the off season with HOPE rather than the unknown potential that a draft pick 3 places hight on the ladder will some how change next season. Let's flog the Suns and convince some players from around the league that we really are on the improved and they should come here.

Starcevich has shown more productivity than Cox in his first two games. I'm all for keeping him in. Huge body and seems to be getting up to speed.

I showed footage of him to a mate of mine who is a mad Geelong supporter. He was shocked how big a unit Starcevich was...thought he was an early 20s mature ager.

FYI, loved his tackling and his at times clever moments. Made some mistakes but most definitely wasn't a liability on the pitch

Outs - Dizzy
Ins - Allison

Been a disappointing season for Allison, but would give him a gig. I think Rich has had a reasonable season but has put in some shockers in the last few weeks - dropping a senior player might be a good message for senior players who think they can relax over the pre-season.
I don't think it has been a dissapointing season for Allison. Hasn't really been in the seniors and you can tell he is a class above when at the reserves. Just needs to keep developing, still only his 2nd season. I reckon he can play on the opposite wing with Cutler. Both quick, with long kicking.

Clubs have to sell HOPE. It is HOPE that drives members to renew their tickets and it is hope that brings new members and sponsors. It would be easy to make wholesale changes but the leadership the club has now won't allow wholesale changes and have a publicity stink around us tanking. We will replace Darcy because he is injured but I doubt there will be any other changes the the reserves didn't play. The financial future of this club relies on us not having 2 blow outs to finish the season. We have the Eagles at home in the last game and there is no way we want to go into the off season on the back of a flogging trying to sell the messages we have improved. Two very close losses I can live with and its very tempting to get that high draft pick but I much rather spend the long months of the off season with HOPE rather than the unknown potential that a draft pick 3 places hight on the ladder will some how change next season. Let's flog the Suns and convince some players from around the league that we really are on the improved and they should come here.
For years we have won in the last few rounds which has netted us picks around 5/6 which are the Mayes of the group. Good players but not the elite of the elite. We have gone into the off season with hope and optimism but that does little when the new season starts. We still need elite talent. While l want to win every game, i am not gonna be extremely dissapointed if we have a close loss. Really depends on the individual and that is me as a supporter wanting to get the best players. I really don't think the club or players will go in with the intention to not do their best.

I don't think it has been a dissapointing season for Allison. Hasn't really been in the seniors and you can tell he is a class above when at the reserves. Just needs to keep developing, still only his 2nd season. I reckon he can play on the opposite wing with Cutler. Both quick, with long kicking.
It seems he has played pretty well in the NEAFL but off the back of some good games in the seniors at the end of last season, must be good reasons why he has not been selected.

We need onballers who can get a contested ball, lay a tackle and apply some physical pressure. The exact opposite of Taylor who has 100 games and still opposition players look up, see Taylor and know they are safe. He cannot break a tackle or lay one.

Our younger players might be able to step up quickly but last week we did not go hard enough when the ball was in dispute. Harder bodies which come with age for most players, which mean the young top draft picks will not solve our central deficiency for a few years.

We are still several years off being a reasonable side, and although we have improved, we are only going to win five games for the season and tinkering with the side at this late stage means nothing so out with Gardiner and in with who ever.
No , we need mids who can run both ways ,and are class players...... matchwinners,like Pendelbury and Bontempelli ,neither are particularly hard,though they do what is required.

Walsh is remembered long after the win against the basketcase Suns is forgotten

I think this is 100% accurate. There has been enough improvement thus far, and it is clear the club is headed in the right direction. A potential top 2 draft pick will be a hell of a lot more important long term, then a win in a rubbish contest that means very little.

If I was a mod I’d be giving days off to both tankers and tankies.

Which may be why I’m not a moderator but ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
It's not actually about tanking at all,it's about if we happened to lose,what would your feelings be regarding the implications ? Everyone is different.