Changes Rnd 1 - Vs Demons

What I think should happen and what will happen can be different.

The team that will go out:

Hamling Cox Conca
Ryan Pearce Young

Acres. Fyfe. Aish
Meek. Brayshaw Cerra

Shultz. Taberner Frederick
Banfield. Treacy Henry

Tucker, Hughes, Mundy,

Remember Schammer.

Ranked up the possessions because teams were ok with him turning over the ball.

Acres is not as bad as Schammer but the principle is the same.

Acres has tunnel vision, too much hang time on kicks, misses the handball receivers and bombs it.

Teams put effort into players that hurt.

Personally Acres is pretty suited to an inside role but we have a long list of those type players.

You're missing one - presumably Serong. You're probably spot on here.

Henry vs Switta is the interesting one - although the former was picked in the squad yesterday so fair play.

I'll have a go;

Ryan Pearce Logue*
Hughes Cox Young

Frederick Serong Aish
Meek Brayshaw Cerra

Mundy Taberner Shultz
Henry Hamling Fyfe

Tucker, Crowden*, Chapman, Darcy*

Hamling to FF - need someone who can actually pluck one and we don't have any forwards so why not

*assuming they are fit

Acres and Conca to slow moving the ball

Banfield = B grade
Hamling not ideal but I do like the idea.

Hamling can work as defensive tall forward stopping intercept marking.

He originally played forward with no success but its not like he hasn't played forward before.

Pearce and Cox can play the key posts and Hughes, and Ryan can defend the third tall.

You're missing one - presumably Serong. You're probably spot on here.

Henry vs Switta is the interesting one - although the former was picked in the squad yesterday so fair play.
Henry vs Switta I agree.

Switta is better defensively and Henry is forcing a bit and trying to be special instead of being the simple option.

If was playing for a grand final next week I would bring in Switta.

My point is that we are not top 4 and Henry upside is huge vs Switta workmanlike game.

It's of time when Henry understands AFL and getting games into him is important.

I know its early and yes he'll get better. But Henry is pretty awful atm. Looks lost tbh. He shouldnt be anywhere near the MCG Saturday week.

Our Backline is the best in the AFL imho.

Midfield will line up the way we all envision it to and go alright with Serong, Brayshaw, Cerra, Mundy, Tucker, Aish and Acres...with Meek Rucking and Darcy could be in as Fwd/Ruck.

Fwd line is an absolute rabble. Ok so we've locked in the backline, Mids are on the magnet board ..now we go down the magnet board to the Fwd line. Six spots up for grabs.

Ok so we can dsicount Lobb and Walters for now. The first name ill put on is Tabs. He's a lock (fitness down but we'll lock him in possibly at FF). I'll then put Fyfe CHF for the whole game. That's 2 magnets so far. Big Sean darcy as a big target and alternate with Meek. Freddy gets the 4th nod to play rd 1. Shultz comes as he has the runs on the board with 2 majors on the weekend and 13 snags last season. Colyer sneaks in to the starting 6, with Crowden on the bench.

Missing Out: Banfield, Switta and Henry. I don't think we should play Treacy ( If Darcy is unavailable, our hands will be tied and he plays alongside Tabs Deep/offers ruck support when Gawn is resting. If Crowden misses, we look at bringing in Switta.

I'll add just one thing. If they decide to go full Malcom blight (see Shane Ellen) and throw Chapman fwd to plug a hole. I'm all for it. Unfortunately Jlo does seem alot more conservative than Connoly throwing Mcphalrin around in the 2000s. Chapman seems to have a footy brain and i agree with the other posters he could be that medium size option until Sturt gets his body right.

Channel 10
Pearce scanned. Crowden groin. Banfield on crutchers (free kick to WC??). Lobb nothing yet.
Pearce scanned? Dude was cleared and went back out there to play. I swear to ****ing God, if they’ve sent him back out AGAIN while being injured...

Also, Crowden 😢

Lately a freo game is never complete without at least one Schultz handball to a guy in full flight running past him that results in a turnover because the pass is a metre behind the receiver.
100%

He wasn't on his own yesterday though. I can remember both Fyfe and Mundy doing it plus probably 10 other occasions.

Why isn't anyone talking about the possibility of Watson up foward? The kid has natural talent and has the foundations to be built into a forward.

On another note we really need our mids to start kicking more goals. Premiership teams have their mids do just this and it really makes a difference.

Why isn't anyone talking about the possibility of Watson up foward? The kid has natural talent and has the foundations to be built into a forward.

On another note we really need our mids to start kicking more goals. Premiership teams have their mids do just this and it really makes a difference.

You know what else premiership teams have?

Forward lines.

Pearce scanned? Dude was cleared and went back out there to play. I swear to ******* God, if they’ve sent him back out AGAIN while being injured...

Also, Crowden 😢
Lol. Predicted this exact scenario yesterday after the game. It’s actually comical if it wasn’t so annoying.
The west also reporting that Western hyperextended his knee the other day for Peel against west coast reserves too.
**** these injuries are farcical.

A few posters have mentioned Chapman as a Fwd and i agree with this notion.

Hff: Freddy Fyfe Colyer
FF Chapman Tabs Shultz

If Darcy doesn't come up, it could be an option. Or you could go with a bigger body like Treacy who did look lost at times yesterday.

Lol. Predicted this exact scenario yesterday after the game. It’s actually comical if it wasn’t so annoying.
The west also reporting that Western hyperextended his knee the other day for Peel against west coast reserves too.
fu** these injuries are farcical.

Its not just us though. Players falling down left right and centre.

FF Chapman Tabs Shultz

If Darcy doesn't come up, it could be an option. Or you could go with a bigger body like Treacy who did look lost at times yesterday.
How you would you do it? Should they trial him out in the WAFL as a foward?

He seems bright and adaptable out on the footy field. I reckon he's a sneaky option as a third tall. He couldnt be any worse than a Henry or Switta or our pre season specialist! But if Darcy is available if play him and Meek together. Sharing the load.

FF Chapman Tabs Shultz

Totally agree

Very excited about Chapman . Yesterday just showed how he keeps taking the next step up in class with ease..Warmed the bench for 3 and a half quarters and then came on and looked totally at home. Takes a great mark , can pressure and is a good kick..(at least a better option than Banfield)

We have a keeper here!!

Totally agree

Very excited about Chapman . Yesterday just showed how he keeps taking the next step up in class with ease..Warmed the bench for 3 and a half quarters and then came on and looked totally at home. Takes a great mark , can pressure and is a good kick..(at least a better option than Banfield)

We have a keeper here!!

Had the sting come out of the game by the time he came on though?

There’s a big step up in intensity from preseason games to the real thing and if he came on late after the game had slowed and dropped in intensity then it’s an even greater step up.

100%

He wasn't on his own yesterday though. I can remember both Fyfe and Mundy doing it plus probably 10 other occasions.
Yeah unfair singling Shultz out. A lot of guys missed their handballs or tried to do some miracle shite through fifteen sets of arms or legs. Schultz was pretty good on replay IMHO.

Here’s a crazy idea, why don’t Freo play everyone in their natural positions?

Treacy is a key forward prospect - play him there. Chapman is key defender depth, he’s going to have to bide his time and come in once Pearce breaks down.

Changes Rnd 1 - Vs Demons

Write your reply...