Changes Rnd 2

id definately look at playing Polak in the square and basically not letting him move from the forward 50

Morton and Jack are good options but u want to have a FB sitting on Polak not coming over to contest 3 up against mitch and jack

Vickery is only a kid he cant be expected to crash packs out body defenders and demand an opponent

id be suprised if Polly dosent play 10-15 games this year

Was Polak injured? He was promoted almost solely on the fact that he could provide relief for Riewoldt and Morton. If they are not going to play him then they should have promoted Gourdis to play as FB. He should come into the side next week.

Tambling, Edwards and Connors should be kept in the side for almost the entire year. Tambling and Edwards didn't have great games last night but they have enough credit in the bank - imo - from last year. Edwards was a bit unlucky that Betts kicked some of those goals. However, Edwards was a bit sloppy when he had the ball. If Richmond are going to have a great midfield in the future then these three players must step up and support the potential stars in Deledio, Cotchin, Martin and Foley.

Key backs are a huge problem. Moore should be omitted and Post has to come in. Richmond have to develop Rance, Gourdis and Post if they want to go anywhere. These three all have the build to be really big strong defenders. Tigers need some big, mean and tough backmen to run through the likes of Betts and Yarran. I thought Hardwick was a little conservative in his team selection last night and should have played more youth.

OUT: Moore, Tambling
IN: Post, Polo/Tuck

Nothing to be gained dropping Nason, who was actually good and will get a lot better, and Roberts. Give them game time and let them find their feet.
Ditto for Vickery - besides the fact he is a far better option that Graham and Browne.
Again, not adverse to Polak playing ruck if Vickery was to go back to Coburg.
Those calling for farmer to be dropped clearly have no idea!

We don't want to slow the midfield down. Leave Tuck out :cool:
Cotchin and Martin just need to build up their fitness a bit more and Thomson just needs more games under his belt. I agree with Post/Moore swap. I wouldn't drop Tambling, he was playing out of position. We should all know he isn't a forward ;)

In: Graham, Polak, Post
Out: Simmonds, Edwards, Nahas

We need height, particularly up forward. We will get reamed anyway, but we can't take the same forward line in. Would like to see Troy Taylor in there soon, and where the hell is Andy Collins? Always injured.

Last night I was against changes but after a good nights sleep I'd agree with those changes.

Polak to sit at FF and not move from the F50.
Post to CHB.
Graham first ruck with Vickery as backup.

Afterall it isn't about wins and losses this year, its about finding out who can take us forward. I don't think Polak will take us forward but at least he gives the forward line structure until the likes of Astbury & Griffiths are ready to come in and take over.

At this stage I would like to see the following lineup next week:

B: Farmer McGuane Thursfield
HB: Newman Post Tambling
C: Deledio Cotchin Connors
HF: Cousins Riewoldt Morton
F: Roberts Polak Hislop
R: Graham Jackson Martin
I: Thomson Moore Vickery Nason

Ah the old revolving door policy, we lost so therefore someone must be dropped. Agree Simmonds is past his use by date but that is about it.

Considering the side we play next is a fast running side the likes of Edwards & Nahas SHOULD play. Bringing Polak in and Post will only allow our opponent more of an opportunity to expose us.

Ah the old revolving door policy, we lost so therefore someone must be dropped. Agree Simmonds is past his use by date but that is about it.

Considering the side we play next is a fast running side the likes of Edwards & Nahas SHOULD play. Bringing Polak in and Post will only allow our opponent more of an opportunity to expose us.
Errr...yes. Players need to be dropped on last night's effort.
No point leaving Edwards and Nahas in when they only get 10 touches between them. Very disappointed in Nahas' game.
We need to get a couple of bigger bodies into the forward line, otherwise Jack and Mitch will be ready to call it quits by the time the midseason break comes around.

Bugger me, look at all the chicken littles running around hysterically because we didn't come out round 1 and belt the Blues. Seriously WTF did you guys expect tonight. While I hoped we would steal a win there was no way I was walking in with more than 25% confidence that it would happen.

As for the changes, unless someone has an injury that stops them from playing I would give the same 22 another week against the Dogs and see who redeems themselves and who doesn't. Thats when you'll start to learn about who wants to be part of the journey and who wants to take the easy way out.

Rome wasn't built in a day kiddies, today was the first day the builders were onsite and all they did was stand around and discuss what they wanted for morning smoko most of the time. Its going to be a long cold winter and if you blokes are this wound up after round 1 you'll be in the asylum by round 11 and legally insane by seasons end.

i didnt want this nugget to get lost in this thread.

For mine, everyone got to start over when Hardwick took over. Clean Slate. I'm a big believer that you really get to find out about a player not when things are going good, but when the chips are down. Ok, so we got beat. Now we see who responds and who shows they really are up for it ni the long run. Those that dont can **** off as they will hav eno part of the future. The sooner Hardwick figures out who is around for the long haul and who wont be, the better off we will be.

No point leaving Edwards and Nahas in when they only get 10 touches between them.

Edwards actually got 17 disposals. He looks different this year with his bigger body and all-business haircut. Didn't have a great game but he was alright. Nahas got 13 touches.

I didn't realise they got those stats, but I was talking more for effect than for pure accuracy. The fact that they both got those stats is even more damning for them in my eyes.

I plan to watch it again and I'll be looking closer at Edwards. It was only about half way through that I realised who he was. I agree Nahas was pretty poor.

reckon you give the first gamers 1 more chance. Hard for them to make a big impact when all the more senior players are no where to be seen. Possibly 1 gets dropped (Roberts or Farmer were more quiet...but atleast Farmer has defence) But to drop 3 out fo the 4 rookies is an overreaction I think. They need atleast 3 weeks to get a feel for it.

You'd think Polo and Tuck would be shoe-ins for a spot. Maybe Jake King but I would hope not.

Graham straight in for Simmonds if you are serious about building for the future.

Thought Edwards was your worst player. May have got a bit of the ball, but turned it over and was responsible for a number of Carlton goals. You simply can't play defence with such poor defensive skills. Until he learns to compete he shouldn't get a game. I understand he is there to run the ball out of defence...but he can't defend and his skills are ordinary. So must be dropped based on that performance.

Connors survives barely only because he worked into the game. But gosh his defensive efforts were horrible.

9 player had an effective disposal % of 75 or higher so you really can't drop a person for have poor disposal because half the team did
to be honest i would make 2 changes max
out simmonds, Moore
In: Graham, post

really the only reason for moore to go is because i would lke to see post play and develop
simmonds wasn't up to it last night couldn't keep up with kreuzer although he would probably be better against hudson

many people are wanting 4 or more changes, it's to many to have for a team that is suppose to be developing
and for some people who say tht thomson didn't get his hands on the pill enough he had 14 the team average was 13 and its pretty hard to get a clean disposal when ur the only tiger in a pack of 3 blues

We don't want to slow the midfield down. Leave Tuck out :cool:
Cotchin and Martin just need to build up their fitness a bit more and Thomson just needs more games under his belt.

Thomson's slower than Tuck in both leg speed and reflexes and no amount of games or your self-delusion is going to change that MT.

If you base your judgement on that then perhaps another dozen should join them.

It's okay to be disappointed after a round one loss and want blood but can you honestly say that you didn't think the loss would happen? Dropping players like Edwards and Nahas will send a message but by the same token you are telling players like Vickery with 5 touches and little impact, Roberts 7 touches and Farmer 11 touches that it's okay?

As I have already stated in recent weeks Polak IMO is more of a hindrance than an asset and if you think the opposing coach will leave Riewoldt in a one on one and put his best defender on Polak then your dreamin mate. Riewoldt, Morton and Nahas would be our three most potent forward targets and these blokes will receive more attention than Polak or some other similar hack, hell you may as well use Simmonds up there too:eek:.

Relax and let the team settle into some sort of game plan if you want to see any long term results.

forward line is to small jack will get killed every week needs help big time cant wayte for griffo and ash:thumbsu:

Odd to see so many people wanting to swap out youth for our 'old faithfuls' - are you people serious? First game of the season, new gameplan, do you want us to develop our youngsters or have a season of honourable losses? There will be pain. Accept it.

I don't think they can DW. They just want blood for the hell of it. Next they will be wanting McMahon back in:o.

The rest of the footy world can see how bad our list. We should be looking forward to pick 4 at seasons end whilst getting games into the Nahas, Roberts, Thomson etc. Not Polak, Polo, Tuck etc

I don't think they can DW. They just want blood for the hell of it. Next they will be wanting McMahon back in:o.

The rest of the footy world can see how bad our list. We should be looking forward to pick 4 at seasons end whilst getting games into the Nahas, Roberts, Thomson etc. Not Polak, Polo, Tuck etc

To be fair, Polo is the same age as Thomson and should be given a chance to show his wares. He has been solid over the preseason and deserves a shot. I agree about the others, however - unless they start tearing it up at VFL level that is.