Changes round 4 VS Sydney

Yeah people complain top talent is problem but then ur saying we need more role players.

Sounds like everything is the problem.
Don't really think there's anybody knocking down the door in the 2s though, which has been the case over the last couple of years. The development of the up and coming players leaves a lot to be desired.

Simpson has slowly evolved into Woosha. No tough changes made, no flexibility with the game plan. Becoming frustrating and boring to watch. Interest in this team is waning.

Totally agree. He had his head up his arse after we managed to win last week mainly because of St Kilda's inaccuracy. I hope the penny drops after todays result but I doubt it.
Some of the soft ***** in the side eg Jack Darling, Hill need a rocket but like Worsfold, Simpson fails to take decisive action.
I can see another year of underperformance coming up. Too many players in their comfort zone.

People have been saying the same stuff for years now. Masten has one or two good games and that seems to buy him a free pass for a while. When the rain and pressure come we see what type of player Masten is.

I'm sick of hearing that the young players aren't ready yet. When will they be? Watson has started the season in fantastic form, upgrade him and give him a shot. To a lesser extent Mutimer and Partington have been ok as well. Yes they all need to improve but they can't do much worse than Redden and Jetta.

I'm not saying bring all the young guys in at once, but give some of them a go. Looking at the team today we had from the 2013 draft Barrass, 2014 draft Nelson, 2015 and 2016 drafts nobody. Is it bad drafting, bad development or ok WAFL form going unrewarded? We need an experienced development coach.
Why is Duggan not playing in the Senior side. He showed such promise but appears to have fallen off the perch.

We over possessed the ball today. We've got to be more decisive with our ball movement and i think a big part of that is on field leadership.
Which we don't appear to have. I've never had much confidence with Hurn as the skipper. I was hoping with Mitchell onboard that he would show the leadership qualities we have been lacking.

For the life of me i can not work out why the Eagles struggle at the MCG, its not likey are a useless team, i mean two years ago they finished runners-up and last year they were finalists.

Is the "wide MCG" a factor in the Eagles structure/zoning etc

Agree with this, but I think the shape is still a part of it too. There's just so much empty space that our slow plodding team can't shut down as effectively as they can on the narrow subi. Teams with decent foot speed just cut our zones to ribbons.

Its the widest ground in the comp

Agree with this, but I think the shape is still a part of it too. There's just so much empty space that our slow plodding team can't shut down as effectively as they can on the narrow subi. Teams with decent foot speed just cut our zones to ribbons.

So the reasons that the Eagles struggle at the MCG - are the reasons roughly the same for my team (Richmond) when they play at Domain Stadium, so not mentally tough and struggle with the shape (long and narrow). Richmond have won 11 games from 34 attempts at Domain Stadium which is probably not good at all.

Outs Hutchings, Darling, Nelson, Redden
IN Sheed, Lamb, Watson, Partington.

Looking fwd to Cripps out for Rioli. Giles out for Lycett.

Not Lamb. He'd be lucky to hold his place in East Perth's 1's.

I've always been a believer that Jack isn't a CHF/ KPF. His best use is as a third tall.

Agree with Hutchings and Redden out for Sheed and one of Duggan/ Partington.

Parto's form at WAFL level has been very good.

Watson has been terrific for East's but there will be a quantum shift between WAFL and AFL footy. Not sure he is up to that shift just yet and right now is largely an attacking player.

Would like to see some more defensive/ negating attributes to his game or else he'll get found out by his opponent on a fast break at AFL level.

Not Lamb. He'd be lucky to hold his place in East Perth's 1's.

I've always been a believer that Jack isn't a CHF/ KPF. His best use is as a third tall.

Agree with Hutchings and Redden out for Sheed and one of Duggan/ Partington.

Parto's form at WAFL level has been very good.

Watson has been terrific for East's but there will be a quantum shift between WAFL and AFL footy. Not sure he is up to that shift just yet and right now is largely an attacking player.

Would like to see some more defensive/ negating attributes to his game or else he'll get found out by his opponent on a fast break at AFL level.
I wonder if Watson would do any worse than Jetta? I can't see him having less impact so I'd roll the dice and throw him in there for a couple of games.

**** me, read through the first page and no one had Butler as an in.

I'm ****in sick of this shit you pack of useless campaigners. Butler is GOAT.

He will win us games. He is everything our team isn't and everything it needs to be.
The cream on an otherwise vanilla team.
Vanilla tastes better with cream FFS just ask one of those masterchef pricks or the wannabe Paleo doctor hack from the other cooking show.

What the **** am I talking about, cooking shows?? The missing ingredient is a bit of Sam bloody Butler.
Spread it on ya toast, stir it into your potato mash, treat him like ****in tomato sauce, this guy is magic.

It's like adding hundreds and thousands to buttered ****in bread. ****in magic. Here you go kiddies, ****in bam, best shit you ever had. GOAT, LOCK, 4 POINTS, FLAG, $$$, FFS make it happen already Simmo you useless flog!!

In: Sheed
Out: Jetta

We need more players who are hard at it at the contests. Love Jetta's outside run but he isn't the answer against Sydney

Jetta is the laziest campaigner. Jogs around everywhere. That one handed pickup was great but then instead of burning off the Richmond player just kicks a ball to nobody. Could've then used his speed and ran into 50 and slotted the goal. Simply lazy. He's been dropped a heap of times and nothing changes. Needs to be delisted as he'll never play with heart
I was ****ing livid when we wasted a trade on this guy.

Shown a bit "bit" but will be glad to see the back of him

So far big trades for Wellingham, Jetta, Redden have worked out ****ed but passing on Gov Jnr, SPP etc is perfectly fine.

There's your ****in flag chances right there Simmo/Woosha and gang

I'd say LOL at you mate, but I am not laughing.

Honestly can you visualise Gaff and Master as premiership winning wingers? Because I can't. They are our starting wingers, yet more damaging to us when they get the ball than to the opposition. Best we will be with these little men is a middle of the road team, never quite good enough.

You, like most on here, are overreacting.

Gaff has been fine. A few questionable moments today, but he's been fine.

He was a legitimate candidate to be dropped last week, and I like him. Butler was the flying emergency for a reason. Lets not get too over excited.

What exactly am I getting over excited about?

IMO we need to persist with Jacko, ATM he's the only one of all the younger mid sized Defenders AFL ready. Butlers 31, Wellinghams closing 30. Soon enough they'll be cooked and we won't have anyone to replace them with.

We need a Dangerfield, Selwood or Martin type - badly. Someone who can impose himself on the contest. Is there hope for Mutimer in midfield? We need his pace at least. Need Venerables sooner than later too.
Sam Pepper Powell, Ohh wait...

I really hope Venables plays this year and plays well.

You, like most on here, are overreacting.

Gaff has been fine. A few questionable moments today, but he's been fine.

Gaff, IMO hasn't been the same since that campaigner Jonas elbowed him in the back of the head. His kicking hasn't been up to his usual standard the 2nd half of last year and so far this season, which he needs to fix. But you gotta' laugh at those who want to drop him/ don't rate him.

Look campaigners, even with my sponsors hat off, Jetta has two weapons, elite kick and serious speed. Today he showed the elite kick side and I feel that it is enough to keep his spot.

We can't play like 6 inside mids and Jetta is essential for balance.

I know you all hate his apparent lack of effort but in my eyes he tried his heart out by making runs.

I am certain he can make an impact and even though he didn't take opportunities today which could have won us the game, he will be a game winner in the future, trust me.

Look campaigners, even with my sponsors hat off, Jetta has two weapons, elite kick and serious speed. Today he showed the elite kick side and I feel that it is enough to keep his spot.

We can't play like 6 inside mids and Jetta is essential for balance.

I know you all hate his apparent lack of effort but in my eyes he tried his heart out by making runs.

I am certain he can make an impact and event though he had opportunities today which could have won us the game, he will be a game winner in the future, trust me.

If he's not I'll host a beers night for the good campaigners of Bigfooty soon.
Nah he kicked to the boundry in the last when we has two leading to the pocket and I don't remember seeing any decent disposal by him.
I'm not picking on him in this post as I truly believe he is best 22 if he can add something on game day but he only deserves a few more goes and then it's delist time. Wasted trade, just like Redden who I also thought would be a worth addition.

It's clear that we have too many lumbering talls. I would get rid of Giles and force Kennedy or darling to ruck a little more. Not be main ruckmen obviously but to chip in more. Kennedy, for a tall forward does least amount of rucking of all. The extra mid we would play instead would help with numbers.
Perhaps it's because Darling is 6'3 and Kennedy is the most dominant kwy forward in the game? We would be essentially be playing a man down if either of them played in the ruck. Not to mention the heightened injury factor of playing someone in ruck.

OUTS- Hutchings And Masten

IN- Sheed and Duggan

For those ragging on Jetta, i was at the game yesterday and the amount of time he was on space and his team mates burnt him was ordinary, happens to him a lot. We all talk about foot skills and pace. He has good foot skills and yes he has lost a yard of pace, but he's still a damn sight quicker than Hutchings.

We cannot play Priddis, Hutchings, Redden and Mitchell in the same team.

I know the coach won't try it, but i'd like to see Mitchell rest in the forward line next to JK.

For the life of me i can not work out why the Eagles struggle at the MCG, its not likey are a useless team, i mean two years ago they finished runners-up and last year they were finalists.

Is the "wide MCG" a factor in the Eagles structure/zoning etc?
Slow midfield exposed on wide ground

Changes round 4 VS Sydney