Strategy Changes: Round 9 Fremantle vs. Collingwood

In:Josh Carr

He wouldn’t have let a bunch of mid talent thugs kick our midfielders heads in at the centre bounces.

Out: Cox; Young; Amiss; Frederick; Switta
In: McDonald; Erasmus?; Voss; Simpson; Anyone who can show effort, guts, or skill
Wait.... Frederick played? I barely saw him.

I did see Dudley and Bolton get a fair bit of the ball up forward and in the midfield.

Like most on here. I can't care less about our next home game. We don't look like winning vs Collingwood.

Mind you, we some how got a draw last season.

Surely we can throw a younger player or 2 on the bench?

OUT:
Darcy (for good), the two rucks don’t work, trade him out, and tell Jackson he’s the guy.
Amiss - back to the WAFL for you old son.
Cox - how about trying for once.
Sharp - blokes a wafl level player.
Frederick - the ultimate front runner.
Switkowski - make a statement, he’s the most overrated player to ever walk through the four walls of the club. “Elite via champion data” what a joke.

In:
Voss
Omac
Erasmus
Aish
Brodie
Simpson

All those blokes will at least put 100% effort in, even if they aren’t good.

I swear 80% of amiss goals have been junk time goals this year

Cox won't be dropped, played ok. But he's not a modern day defender. Wilkie is a modern defender. Agile, can shut down and win ball back in the air and on the ground. Not afraid to be one out in space. Cox can take contested marks that's it. Between Cox and Darcy we have heaps of unmovable salary cap for goodness knows how long in 2 dinosaurs that are extinct

yeah cox has a decent game taking some marks but hasn’t his whole career been emblematic of what this team is now? picks and chooses when he’s going to show up, and when shit gets tough he melts

if JLo wants to keep his job he needs to start demanding more out of these players and make some ****ing changes. not expecting that at all though

For me, I would make quite a few changes after Friday night. The club cannot accept that result "as business as usual" and the way a footy team demonstrates that is by swinging the axe. So its time for the lumberjack.

I would make six unforced changes. Won't happen ... especially the last three. But a hard club would.

Out:
Young
Will be a big loss.

Draper, Johnson
I am not "blaming" these guys for the loss or calling them spuds. But both have been ordinary for several weeks now and as young players could do with a spell. Sometimes the correct way of handling poor form is gut up and work through it. But sometimes the best way forward is to step back and reset. A couple of weeks away from the pressure of playing in a dogshit team might do both the world of good.

Switta
You have to earn it and at the moment, Switta isn't. Playing someone who doesn't earn it is corrosive to the team's culture. Go back and find form, kick goals, do goals assists, get a run through the midfield. And then come back into the seniors in form.

Darcy, Serong, Bolton
What happened on Friday night was unacceptable. And these three did not fire a shot. Not effing one. For Darcy and Serong that is the second time in three weeks. As leaders, as highly paid talent, you just have to be better. You have to find a way to contribute. Bolton comes into the club on a big paycheck, costing a lot of draft picks, as a marque player. You can't walk around the park (literally walk at various times on Friday) getting frustrated and then late in the fourth spud up a routine shot at goal. If you want to be the marque player, if you want the biog paycheck, you have to be more responsible ... you aren't here to be a highlight reel you are here to be a serious footballer, a leader. And if you don't want to be a leader, don't accept the marque paycheck.

None of these three will be dropped. But at least one should be. And I would drop all three. I'd let the team know we aren't offering up that rubbish again ... and that everyone is accountable.

Is anyone still going to this game?

Can we start a movement to all bring in signs that say "Sack Longmuir"?
I’m actually flying home for a week and have tickets to go with Dad for the first game together in over a year.

Last night we debated not going at all and going to the pub instead…shame really, but I don’t want to support the club whilst Longmuir is still in the role.

JLo has to make a statement at selection. These guys are way too comfortable, and they need to be on the edge to play well.

I said it after the Melbourne game, but how can we be a "tough, uncompromising" club if we can't drop the hammer at selection.

MJ should be dropped. He just makes shit decisions. Honestly, Raz and MJ could both be duds.

Hmmm debating whether to turn up at all or watch with morbid fascination as McRae and his team who always show up ram a 4 X 2 up our arses

I’m at the stage where players who refuse to have a dip have to go.

Draper, Frederick, Switkowski gone.
Young out
Erasmus an Brodie have to play. I don’t care…they can’t possibly be worse
Johnson goes.

We are thin on replacements because of injury

Bring Simpson in
OMac and Voss back in.

Darcy gave us nothing…**** off.

If nothing else we should get a lift in effort.

I am an unabashed Brennan Cox fan as a player but increasingly I wonder what is the point of him.

He doesn't really play well when required to be accountable, not a lot of intercept making this year (as least under any kind of pressure), not really involved a lot as an outlet despite being a good kick.

Honestly would probably drop him if we had another hbf down at Peel but unfortunately we really don't

I am an unabashed Brennan Cox fan as a player but increasingly I wonder what is the point of him.

He doesn't really play well when required to be accountable, not a lot of intercept making this year (as least under any kind of pressure), not really involved a lot as an outlet despite being a good kick.

Honestly would probably drop him if we had another hbf down at Peel but unfortunately we really don't

We can play Hugh Davies. That’s all we have.
Or we make Draper play tall.

And I think Luke Ryan is in the gun.
He’s fat, slow and getting burnt by small forwards.
His ball movement is shit too.

Cooper Simpson in.

Agree. Cox strength is his intercept marking as many have highlighted before. He did take a few grabs last night, but I think one of the last plays in the final quarter sums up his issue 1 v 1. Seen lately beaten in the air but how easy it was his oppo got around him and kicked the goal

We can play Hugh Davies. That’s all we have.
Or we make Draper play tall.

And I think Luke Ryan is in the gun.
He’s fat, slow and getting burnt by small forwards.
His ball movement is shit too.

Cooper Simpson in.

If anyone would offer us something good for Ryan and Cox, I would happily trade them both.

Brodie has to come in if he's fit, but realistically Collingwood are probably the worst team for him to come up against given the knock on him has been his defensive work.

Time to go back to basics and just grind one out.

Out: Switta, Frederick, Amiss, Draper, Young
In: Erasmus, Voss, Aish, Simpson, Brodie.

Whatever we do isn’t going to make an iota of difference.

I reckon just sit back and watch a Masterclass by Daicos. Enjoy watching the spectacle of great footy by a top 3 player in the game. No sarcasm.

Can’t say I’m going to get much joy as they win the ball and endlessly flick it to him running past while our formless coach just sits there.

We have the ultimate, experienced team who always turn up, coached by a good coach against a team of conditional front runners, coached by the village idiot.

What could go wrong?

BT on Triple M said on the call that Collingwood are going to use the game next week to rest their older players. The team will be younger by 4 years apparently.

He was bemused as to how this got out though.

Can’t say I’m going to get much joy as they win the ball and endlessly flick it to him running past while our formless coach just sits there.

We have the ultimate, experienced team who always turn up, coached by a good coach against a team of conditional front runners, coached by the village idiot.

What could go wrong?
Gotta take something out of it. 💁🏻‍♀️

Strategy Changes: Round 9 Fremantle vs. Collingwood

Write your reply...