Preview Changes/Squad/Team vs Lions

Well then, you're wrong!! Could have spent 10 seconds on the ground and still would have felt the nervous. Learning to deal with these are a big part of making the next step. The coaches watching how he handles this is also very important for them. And two minutes on the ground shows how fast and hard the next level is.

Do you honestly think he would be a better player today if he had played VFL for the last 2 weeks??? 2 extra games in the VFL are going to mean shit in 3 years time, but having the hunger to get to the level he know knows he has to be at will mean everything.
No mate, I'm not wrong. I just have a different opinion than you. Something I very comfortable with.

It didn't work out... because why? Bon only has himself to blame about that one! Should have been enacted much earlier in both games.

That's just like your opinion man

I would like to know why you disagree. You don't think it was Bon's fault that he didn't come on earlier?

Firstly i don't think it was a waste of time because any taste of AFL footy is a step up for the kid and thus he will have a better appreciation of what is required to make the grade at that level. He may not have got much of a run which is a pity but he will get plenty of opportunities.

As for it being Bons fault he didn't come on earlier, he stated that "we would have liked to have played him a bit more than we did and it wasn't our initial intention to start him as sub two weeks in a row", so that leads me to think either;

A) Brad Scott is an idiot and simply forgot to name him in the 21 AND forgot to activate him earlier,

or

B) Game day circumstances conspired to ensure that the coach determined it best for the team as a whole that things stayed as they were for longer than anticipated.

I'd go with option B, but that's just me.

Bon also stated that he reckons McKenzie will be an important part of the side for the second part of the year which is really exciting for him and the supporters.

It didn't work out... because why? Bon only has himself to blame about that one! Should have been enacted much earlier in both games.

If he enacted him earlier in the Port game we would have only had two on the bench when Harper got injured! We probably would of lost by 3 points!

B: Firrito Thompson Wright
HB: MacMillan Delaney Grima
C: Wells Ziebell Cunnington
HF: Edwards Pederson Harvey
F: Adams Petrie Thomas
R: Goldstein Swallow Bastinac
I: Greenwood Atley Harper Black
E: Garlett Warren Delaney

Brad doesn't appear to treat the sub role with any tactical relevance.

He utilises it as a consolation prize.

Seriously how the f*** does Pederson, Macmillan, Cunnington, Harper, L.Delaney and C. Delaney keep there spot. Rattling all them names off makes me realise why and how we are such an average side.

If he enacted him earlier in the Port game we would have only had two on the bench when Harper got injured! We probably would of lost by 3 points!
Unless of course Harper was the one subbed out.

Firstly i don't think it was a waste of time because any taste of AFL footy is a step up for the kid and thus he will have a better appreciation of what is required to make the grade at that level. He may not have got much of a run which is a pity but he will get plenty of opportunities.

As for it being Bons fault he didn't come on earlier, he stated that "we would have liked to have played him a bit more than we did and it wasn't our initial intention to start him as sub two weeks in a row", so that leads me to think either;

A) Brad Scott is an idiot and simply forgot to name him in the 21 AND forgot to activate him earlier,

or

B) Game day circumstances conspired to ensure that the coach determined it best for the team as a whole that things stayed as they were for longer than anticipated.

I'd go with option B, but that's just me.

Bon also stated that he reckons McKenzie will be an important part of the side for the second part of the year which is really exciting for him and the supporters.
It wasn't a waste of time, per se. But it was an opportunity that could have been better utilised in my opinion. Brad must have had his reasons, I agree. I would love to know what they were though and to discuss it with him.

This is the team I would like to see on the park by end of year with a few key moves.

F Harvey Black Ziebell
HF Wright Edwards Thomas
C Adams Swallow Gibson
HB Wells Petrie Atley
B Thompson Grima Mcmahon
1R Goldstein Bastinac Greenwood
INT Garlett Warren Daw Firrito

Key Moves
Petrie- Moved to defense to add some experience. Could be one of the best swingmen in the league, but let's start him back. If things are working well leave him there. If not push him forward.
Firrito- Interchange. If Petrie goes forward spud goes back. Can be used in midfield rotations on and off bench.
Wells- Half back. Uses the ball well. Run and create.
Gibson- Mature age player and let him find his feet on the wing. Can find it. Takes Liam Anthony's spot. Hard runner and we all know he is hungry for his chance. We all know how well mature age recruits have done over last 2 seasons.
Harvey- Permanent forward. It's time. Sorry boomer I think your midfield days are over. Could maybe swap with Wells now and then on the half back flank.
Ziebell- Forward about 60% of game time. Needs to spend more time up forward and start to take more overhead marks and kick goals in the James Hird mould.
Black- Give him his chance. Has Warren on the bench for support if this isn't working.
Daw- 2nd ruck to Goldy. Rucks around 30% game time. Goldy does the rest and Petrie can do the defensive 50 while Daw or Goldy sit infront of Edwards as target across middle of ground to give Edwards support for his key post role.
Greenwood- Needs to get super fit . The decision has to be made. Needs confidence and encouragement and needs to be our Glen Archer. He has it in him. Never going to be a star. We know that and we shouldn't expect stardom from him. Take the heat off Swallow.

Daw? He is that far away from seniors its not funny.

The solution is playing the best 22 blokes at our club in their most suited position.

We don't use the sub well at all. It isn't there for a young fella to come in and do jack shit. It's for a bloke who is either quicker than 85% of players in the AFL with goal sense.

Daw? He is that far away from seniors its not funny.

The solution is playing the best 22 blokes at our club in their most suited position.

We don't use the sub well at all. It isn't there for a young fella to come in and do jack shit. It's for a bloke who is either quicker than 85% of players in the AFL with goal sense.

Campbell??? It's a sh8t rule the sub rule. Go back to the 4 on bench. Waste of everyones time. Too difficult and not fair on the kid playing his first game remembered for sitting on bench for 107 minutes before getting on.

Macmillan, Cunnington, Harper, Delaney, Delaney, Pederson, Anthony, Mcintosh, Mackenzie are all not worthy of seniors at the moment and they have all played at some stage over last 3 weeks much to my disgust.

I don't think I can be accused of being a Scott acolyte but I should point out something.

NM have lost 3 games to SS, WCE and Ess who are a combined 20 wins and 4 losses and none of whom have a % under 133 % and each is withinn the top 4. They have lost those 3 games by a combined 63 points while playing their 8 games at 5 different grounds.

Brisbane have lost 4 of their 5 games against Carlton - 7th, Fremantle 8th, Ess 3rd and Collingwood 5th by a combined 235 points. Those 4 teams combined have a winning record of 23 wins and 9 losses.

I'm not suggesting the team is playing well or the coach is coaching well, but the negativity about this game surprises me.

Now compare forward lines- Bris 8 games, 21 scores of 2 or more goals in a game, NM 8 games 36 scores of 2 or more goals in a game.

Consider also that Brisbane have only 5 blokes who have even kicked more than 5 goals for the year - NM have 12 blokes who have kicked more than 5 goals for the year.

If it gets into a shootout, NM are a good chance.

Yes NM can lose this game- Brown is the key here as NM have allowed Posiadly, Hawkins and Schulz to kick 4 or more goals in a game- but the negativity, against Brisbane is not warranted.

Macmillan, Cunnington, Harper, Delaney, Delaney, Pederson, Anthony, Mcintosh, Mackenzie are all not worthy of seniors at the moment and they have all played at some stage over last 3 weeks much to my disgust.

Will all be a massive part of our club moving forwards. 1 - They need gametime. 2 - Please provide better options.

The Delaney boys seems to cop a lot of flak here, personally im a fan of both. If you think a Scarlett or even Silvagni could have stopped Shultz with the way we let the rebound ball in last week i think your wrong.

Luke hurts every time hes beaten, then mans up and gives everything at the next contest. Hes certainly had no help from the mids the way the balls come in the last 2 weeks.

Cam offers something very different, hes 194 but not rigid like our other talls, given time hes the type of player that can make and add X factor to our backline. With his size/build and at an age of 20 and with only 86kg on him i think his first 3 games have been excellent. Cam pick 69, Taz pick 15, Hansen pick 3 of the 3 whos offering more atm.........

****ing disgraceful that McKenzie is the scapegoat for that puss dished up last week.
Evidence is starting to mount up that this bloke really seems like he doesn't know how to select a 22.

Yeah, lets bring a bloke on with 10 mins to go, in his first year might I add, and expect him to have an immediate impact in that situation...... AHHHHH yeah nah, young blokes work their way in to games BRAD. Bloody hell, it's been seen on numerous occasions and yet it coaches still choose to run with it.

Prior to last week, Aaron Edwards had almost been non existent for 3 outta 4 weeks, yet comes straight back in to the side?

Good luck to blokes like Aaron Black and Cruize Garlett, hope they can really take their chance, especially Garlett in the 7 minutes he'll get on the ground.

****ing disgraceful that McKenzie is the scapegoat for that puss dished up last week.

He's not a scapegoat, he's just a young player who has had a bit of a taste and is in no way ready to be part of our best 22 week in week out.

Take a breather.

I'm going to disagree with people saying mckenzie isn't ready yet. There's only 1-2kg different between him and heppell in his 1st yr. I'm not saying he's as good as heppell but he has played 3 league games of footy in the sanfl and was solid. Maybe start him instead of being the sub. He has great hands and an amazing leg. I want to see us win every week but there comes a time were you have to make some tough decision we have to try and get some games into these kids asap but with the mentallity of winning.

Agree with this, McKenzie is a decent size now and definetly looks bigger in the arms than when he first got here.
Would like to see him get a full game soon, I thought he showed enough as the sub and thought he deserved a full game

Agree with this, McKenzie is a decent size now and definetly looks bigger in the arms than when he first got here.
Would like to see him get a full game soon, I thought he showed enough as the sub and thought he deserved a full game

I have it on good authority that as much as the club thinks his kicking is elite, he's not ready to last a full game.