Changes to our round 3 team?

For gods sake lets hope Clark is injured, after going to the game on Sat he has officially taken over as the games shittest player. Cant kick for peanuts, is slow as as a wet week, is unfit, and cant take a mark. Send him back to Perth and get a good draft pick from freo!

Clark may be struggling to find his feet with the pace of the game (which is not helped by Voss playing him in 3 different positions each week), but to say that he is slow and unfit, can't kick or take a mark is rubbish.

Clark would benefit from Voss playing him in one main position each week, rather than rotating him from one end of the ground to the other with the regularity that he does. Players do not learn and develop from being used in "spare part", "fill in the gap" type of roles.

Proud isnt far behind him, goes everywhere the ball isnt.

Perhaps that's because he has hardly been selected as of yet?

Proud worked hard against Carlton to lock up the loose ball and to lay tackles in contested situations. There were a few times when Carlton would have been clean away had it not been for Proud's determination at the contest. 11 touches isn't bad for a first up performance in the seniors for 2009 either. When given consecutive games with considerable ground time last year, Proud showed that he was capable of accumulating touches.

Notting is one who always goes in hard, kicks it long and for some reason Voss doesnt like him, surely he is better than Proud!

Can't agree with that either!

For most of Notting's career, I have found him to be very frustrating due to his extreme inconsistency when it comes to form, his indecisiveness when under pressure, his tendency to try to do too much and either run himself into a corner in trying to take the man on or giving off a hospital-sideways handball, getting caught out for being one-sided with his kicking, and a lack of physical input at the contest. There have been a number of times over the years when I've thought that Notting has been "one of a few" players whose average performances in a given game has cost us a win.

When Notting is in good form, sure, he's a very handy player, and maybe some of these deficiencies occur to a lesser degree when he's playing well. But to make out that he can be classified as someone who always gives 100% and always does the hard, 1%er type of things is inaccurate. I would suggest that if Notting had not been in a team that had included as many stars as it has during his time with the Lions, that he would not have made it to 200 games (in quite a number of which he has been used off of the bench).

At the end of the day, Notting is also coming close to the end of his career. It would not be a wise move to cut our better young players (ie: Clark, Proud, Sherman, etc.), just to bring in someone like Notting, who will most likely be gone within a year or two (and is no guarantee to perform better at any rate!).

Hooper doesnt turn up to training yet still plays...

. . . and he has been very good in the first two rounds of this year. Unless of course you haven't actually been watching?

I can see Notting retiring this year if blokes like Proud, Harding and anyone else who has done nothing get games ahead of him.

He's probably a fair chance to retire anyway . . . particularly considering he is one of the oldest on the list, was dropped towards the end of last year for declining form, has not cracked the senior team as an "automatic" selection this year (despite being reported as one of the best in pre-season training), and in reality, has probably always been 2-3 bad games away from being dropped from the seniors throughout the entirety of his career.

Unless of course you think he may continue to play on indefinitely? :rolleyes:

Goodes seems like a bad matchup for Bunno.

Yeah, I've been thinking about this one. It sort of reminds me of last year when Selwood got smashed by A.McPhee in that Essendon game at TD. McPhee was just too athletic for him.

J.MacDonald could be another option for Goodes. Although, I reckon MacDonald might also be a good match-up for R.O'Keefe. I would say that Selwood could be another option for the job, based on him having the running endurance to match O'Keefe, but I've got a feeling O'Keefe might have an edge on pace and certainly with strength. O'Keefe hasn't been in great form so far, but being able to match up on a smaller player like Selwood could possibly see him exploit his opponent and play himself into form.

Put Bunno on Kirk who will show him how to be a star with limited natural talent.

It'd be interesting to see this match-up! Kirk will no doubt try to go to Black, but the reality is that Kirk is just as much a play-maker as a tagger these days, so if we could try to force the match-up our way, it could be two wins for us.

Dodongo is annoyed that Notting is on the sidelines. Dodongo wants Notting in the team.

MacMumongo agrees with you;)....He must be in our team as long as he is still playing football IMO.....There are always other players who don't play well..he is not the only one to have put in some bad games...

WE WANT NOTTING! WE WANT NOTTING! etc etc etc...:D

On the footy show tonight they did mention as ins from Roe, Sheldon, Henderson, Polkinghorne (and a couple of others which flashed too quick on the screen for me to gather) and no outs at this stage. But they did mention these r tentitive names with the proper team released tomorrow.

Take that for what its worth.

On the footy show tonight they did mention as ins from Roe, Sheldon, Henderson, Polkinghorne (and a couple of others which flashed too quick on the screen for me to gather) and no outs at this stage. But they did mention these r tentitive names with the proper team released tomorrow.

Take that for what its worth.

You got them all except the important one - Brennan was named :eek:

Oh man I hope he plays. It will go down as the fastest healing quad injury in history!

Changes to our Round 3 Team in:Jason Roe
out:Jamie Charman

This thread may now be closed.This will become are weekly thing so next week I will start one saying changes to our Round 4 Team than Changes to our Round 5 Team ect,ect.So every time I say the actually ins and outs after disscussions on these threads Moderators that is me telling you to close the thread!Cheers guys.

Who wants to have a punt Roe gets tackled running off halfback without realizing he's being run down, gives away the free kick and Syd kick the goal to win the match from it..

Nah.

What will happen is this:
  • 3 points up with 40 seconds to go
  • Roe takes an uncontested mark 40m out from our defensive goal
  • No-one on the mark, so he plays on slowly
  • Gives off a handball to Selwood, who steps side-ways and almost runs into an opponent (BALL! yell the crowd), but luckily at the last minute Selwood handballs back to Roe who comes steaming past
  • Roe, now running at full-steam, takes on an on-coming opponent, baulks, beats him and then takes two bounces
  • Now about 65m out from goal, Roe start looking like a supermarket shopper who has reached the "8 Items or Less" isle with more than 8 items and is unsure what to do next . . .
  • The proceding disposal is a debacle of the highest order . . . resulting in a turn-over
  • Sydney's laser-like disposal sees the ball shot back down, straight through the middle, with a well-weighted pass that the crowd could anticipate hitting its target (an unattended B.Hall, being J.Roe's direct opponent) as soon as it left the boot
  • Hall goals from 30m out
  • End-game

Changes to our Round 3 Team in:Jason Roe
out:Jamie Charman

This thread may now be closed.This will become are weekly thing so next week I will start one saying changes to our Round 4 Team than Changes to our Round 5 Team ect,ect.So every time I say the actually ins and outs after disscussions on these threads Moderators that is me telling you to close the thread!Cheers guys.

In all seriousness though, I'll be keeping my discussion of potential changes in the Official Match Thread of the previous game in the future.

As a new poster, you need to be mindful of the "norms" we have in place. The Official Match threads exist for a reason, and its great to be able to go back to them months later and see the pre-match, during match, and post-match discussion all in one place.

You don't win a prize for creating the most threads, if you want to be a valued member here, you should try and fit in and complement the discussion on the board rather than fighting against the structures in place and disrespecting the hard work that other people do to keep this place awesome. Barking orders at the moderators about when they can lock threads at your convenience doesn't help your case either.

One in every 5 of your posts is a new thread... its ridiculous quite frankly. There are other Lions boards out there for people simply interested in patting each other on the back about their post counts.

Lionshine I’m giving you a last warning here mate. You have been funny for a little while but you are now becoming very tiresome.

Stop creating new threads every 10 seconds, stop posting silly rubbish, stop presuming your are in any position at all to tell anyone here what to do.

Your enthusiasm is great, but you need to stop annoying everyone. If you can’t start behaving yourself I’m going to have to block you from the board.

Changes to our round 3 team?