Preview Changes V. Adelaide in the NT

• Thread starter Thread starter Tulip

Was just listening to Sam McClure on sen1116 made a point we all know. This game is 3rd vs 4th with Jake Lever playing his old side this game should be on the mcg on Friday night. At least Saturday night in my opinion instead it's on the second worse timeslot. Oh well.
Why would we play Adelaide on a Friday night at the MCG? It would draw 40k max. It’s not like anyone is coming along just to see Lever play his old side. When we played Sydney last year on a Friday night it was 47k because of the South Melbourne attendance (when we were also on a 4 game winning streak). Our game v Adelaide in 2016 pulled 30k. This would be prime Saturday or Sunday arvo fodder. When we play them at the Adelaide Oval it should be Friday night tho

Why don't they do the tv slots in 4 week blocks? Is it really that hard to have moveable times?

Fair play to Daisy Thomas, bit of an old school footballer. If that was one of the new breed he would have stayed down got 7 concussion tests and tweeted he was sore mid game.
I liked that he just bopped straight up looking furious. Actually I’m quite impressed he got it together a few years back and continued at Carlton rather than dropping out altogether, which looked a bit likely.

If he stays down to milk a free kick and grabs his face no doubt Bernie gets a week or 2 for that. Bernie owes him a beer or 2.

For not being soft? How low are you setting the bar lol

Mate 80% of the poonces these days would have gone off for a concussion test. I agree there was nothing in it but you don't don't think Danger or Rance wouldn't have milked every ounce of milk out of that nipple?

Saw some amazing stats from AFL player ratings. For the most part I think these systems are flawed but it's interesting discussion.

Jake Melksham is #1 in the AFL for goal assists.

His game against Carlton was in the top 5 rated games by anyone since 2010.

Player ratings form ratings which are based off a 4 week period have Gawn 2nd in the AFL, Melksham 3rd in the AFL. ANB is 48th in the AFL and Gus in the 50s. We aren't just beating teams at the moment we are flying. Let's hope the faithin these blokes is rewarded against the best.

Mate 80% of the poonces these days would have gone off for a concussion test. I agree there was nothing in it but you don't don't think Danger or Rance wouldn't have milked every ounce of milk out of that nipple?
Eh. Regardless of whether that’s true or not I’m not going to applaud Daisy just for getting on with it, especially when he’s flopped a bunch of times in the past

I'll applaud because I like watching Bernie kill campaigners on a weekly basis and the less he is suspended the more we will see it.

I love Bernie. Up close he looks like a cheeky little pretty boy. On the field hes as hard as nails.

If Hibberd doesn’t get rascal of the week for the thing with Jed Lamb then I’m lodging a petition to remove Jack Riewoldt from the judging role.
Is this award real or something you imagined?

It’s a 360 thing. Bob Murphy used to pick it - now he has handed over to Riewoldt. Stevie J used to feature prominently in the nominations.

Well, yes, he should win it for sure!

If Hibberd doesn’t get rascal of the week for the thing with Jed Lamb then I’m lodging a petition to remove Jack Riewoldt from the judging role.

Except Jack Riewoldt has the personality of a dead guy these days.

Well yes - but we have kind of observed that you prefer them tattooed and scandal ridden.

Meh, I just prefer that if they are a loud mouth idiot be a loud mouth idiot. Don't be fake which he is fake as ****.

Went on 360 all high and mighty after the MMM Caroline Wilson scandal and said he wouldn't go on the radio station yet turned up the day after Mark Robinson had a go at Fasolo for being depressed and didn't say a word. Nothing riles me more than spineless campaigners who fake morals.

Anyway I'm in a good mood :D

Surprised to read people advocating dropping Smith.
I love Bugg, but Smith really showed some talent once he found his feet. I'd like to see how he goes against the Crows.
I didn't notice Timmy after quarter time @ the game because i was laughing at carlton and throwing hot chips at their supporters. watching the replay now, he did some good things! (mind you, we were playing witches hats).

Apologies if this a double post? my internet is weird!

Meh, I just prefer that if they are a loud mouth idiot be a loud mouth idiot. Don't be fake which he is fake as ****.

Went on 360 all high and mighty after the MMM Caroline Wilson scandal and said he wouldn't go on the radio station yet turned up the day after Mark Robinson had a go at Fasolo for being depressed and didn't say a word. Nothing riles me more than spineless campaigners who fake morals.

Anyway I'm in a good mood :D
I hadn’t really thought about those things.

Actually I confess I preferred him in full dickhead stealth mode - back when Richmond banned the media from speaking to him and he did all sorts of hilarious stuff like hiding behind garbage skips wearing a beanie pulled down to eye level. I miss Richmond being just terrible and crazy. They’re no fun these days.

I hadn’t really thought about those things.

Actually I confess I preferred him in full dickhead stealth mode - back when Richmond banned the media from speaking to him and he did all sorts of hilarious stuff like hiding behind garbage skips wearing a beanie pulled down to eye level. I miss Richmond being just terrible and crazy. They’re no fun these days.

I liked him better when he was a selfish player and giving the bird to the opposition bench or trying to sneak back onto the ground after a concussion.

And having a sook in the pocket when T Mac dominated him.

I hate to see flopping, even if it is Melbourne players who do it. So while my opinion most likely means nothing to Thomas good on him for getting up like he did.

Unless there is a tier A player waiting in the wings with some form. Like Garlett (who may or may not have form) I would go in with an unchanged side.

If the conditions suit smaller, faster players. Then I would hope they drop Smith and bring in Bugg/Garlett whoever.

Why would we play Adelaide on a Friday night at the MCG? It would draw 40k max. It’s not like anyone is coming along just to see Lever play his old side. When we played Sydney last year on a Friday night it was 47k because of the South Melbourne attendance (when we were also on a 4 game winning streak). Our game v Adelaide in 2016 pulled 30k. This would be prime Saturday or Sunday arvo fodder. When we play them at the Adelaide Oval it should be Friday night tho
The point is this is a game between 3rd and 4th and is probably the game of the round. The current friday night game is Collingwood 10th vs bulldogs 13th who cares about that game. I think people would be more interested in 3rd v 4th wouldn't you?

Fixture is done weeks out from rnd 1. AFL would have seen Crows up top and us mid.

What's bizzare is they should have known Carlton to be bad yet they get a lot of the prime time.