Review Changes V Adelaide.

To say it undoes our greatest win ever is a bit much, don't you think?

It was an away game to nearly a full strength top 2 side. It looked like we just imploded halfway into the third quarter and never recovered. At least we gave them a fight until half time. Otherwise I would agree with you, Iva.

For me, Magin, Coad, Hickey and Caddy had extremely bad games. I'm willing to let Caddy and Hickey slide a bit because they were ill, but still, tough to ignore outright.

Harbrow slipped back into his 2011 form, which was a little sad. Weller made a few bad choices too which didn't help.

McKenzie's kicking is way, way off. Not sure if it's an ego or confidence thing, but some of those kicks were shocking.

Lynch and Ablett best on ground for mine. Lynch was just awesome I thought.

Dixon, Matera, May, Shaw, Horsley, Stanley and Harley nipping at their heels. Warnock kept Tippett semi-quiet at least.

Rest were average.

Okay, so I normally like to think I'm a pretty logical and fair type of guy.
Firstly, I thought our first half was really good today. Apart from the two errors that cost us goals, Coad was playing out of his skin! The best game I've seen him play. Add last weeks effort to this one's, and I'd seriously think twice about cutting him loose at the end of the year. I have no idea why he was kicking out though, because he shouldn't be.
Harley is probably the silkiest, smoothest playa I've seen go about it. He's so young too. He's simply a joy to watch. However, gee defensively he really can hurt us at stoppages inside our defensive 50 in particular. Just gets caught ball watching and has no idea about defensive positioning. The coaching staff and Harley really have to work gar at improving this area of his game.
Charlie Dixon's attack at the ball and tenacity to run through packs when he's got it is phenomenal. Look forward to watching him for years to come.
Hine looked really good today. I think he's smart, which is the type of player you can never have too many of.
Caddy looked lethargic, rumoured flu wouldn't have helped.
Lynchy again was really impressive. If he can continue to be this high volume marks guy and move really well around the ground then he's going to be an AA in years to come. He looks to really have come on the last month or so. Maybe his confidence is up. Hopefully he can continue that into the preseason.
Harbrow was flat and yuck today to be honest. Still had flashes of brilliance but no doubt is looking toward the off-season today.
Maysie looks to bring a real 'big guy X factor'. When we're up and about winning games, look for him to take a key contested grab to change the game in the future I reckon. He's got that spark. Tad inconsistent though.
Another thing. Gary Ablett is simply amazing. Not his best game today, but still manages to be almost BOG for us and have a real impact. He is tough, courageous, smart, skillful, disciplined, unselfish... There are not enough superlatives to accurately describe how good he actually is.
Now to the logical bit. The umpiring today was abso-frikkin-lutely disgraceful! I literally reckon they cost us 4-5 or 6 goals. In particular, about two and a half minutes into the third quarter where Gazz dd some great work on the half back flank and missed the handball. The non holding the ball free that wasn't paid was arguably the weakest non-call I've seen at a game of footy. Not just that but multiple times our arms were chopped or they threw it out. And what about that kid umpire who paid the holding the ball free against Harley after asking the boundary umpire of the tackle started inside the boundary line!! It absolutely shits you doesn't it. What about the blatant push in the back not paid to Browny? FFS!! So god damn infuriating!! It's just crap!!! Anyway, sorry for that little rant. I'm off to watch the wrestling - hopefully let out some of my frustrations haha.

Missed the game due to work but from all reports it sounds like the typical competetive for a half and then running out of legs from the 3rd quarter on. Did I miss anything that warrants viewing?

McKenzie is clearly a confidence player. Fortunately with no surgeries or injuries, he'll go into 2013 with a full pre-season under his belt. Unless he injures himself in the middle of it.

I have no doubt that the Coaches would have told him about his down 2012. He probably knows it too. Fingers crossed he works extremely hard so we can get the best Cannon we can in 2013. Also not having half the season just to get fitness is also ideal.

I wrote McKenzie's year off awhile ago as 2nd year blues. Give him a good preseason to get his head right.

McKenzie needs to be put in the position of earning his place in the 22 not being gifted it because they want to get players to the magical 50 game mark as soon as possible.

He's been dropped a couple of times.

To be fair to McKenzie, his second half of the year has been much better. His game against Carlton was very good.

He's been dropped a couple of times.

To be fair to McKenzie, his second half of the year has been much better. His game against Carlton was very good.

I think McKenzie is one of your favourites Sunny....agree with others that he can be soft at times.....We need players with good foot skills in our back half especially, his kicking has been very disappointing!!

In my opinion McKenzie has one string to his bow and that is his big kick. Up close struggles to hit a target by foot or hand. Has been exposed this year as teams have worked him out. Unless he can find something else he will struggle 2013 and be overtaken by more versatile players. Bennell is a fantastic outside runner and exciting player but lacks any defensive skills and hates getting near a hard ball.I was yelling at the telly today watching his short steps when getting near a hard contest. Trouble with some of the GC players are that they are worried out of getting a hard ball and courage is hard to teach. Thats why we need the bigger bodies, Warnock, Horsley, Dixon (who has showed heaps) Stanley Bock Brown etc to take on that role. Really liking Hine knew he would get there when given the opportunity, and May is a unit up forward do not really want Tippett as I can see we have grown so much the 2nd half of the season with our forwards. Realise we have some players to come back in but hard to dismiss the great games some of these fringe players have played and I do hope that we stop gifting games to players that do not deserve it or are coaches pet. To be a successful club going forward we must put the best 22 on the park every week and players need to fight for that right to be out there. Will be very interesting to see who is a regular and who is not in 2013. All in all I am pleased with the growth of some inexperienced players and glad they have been forced to be given a chance.For example Think Bluey locked Tape in without ever trialling or changing the team around. Do not mind saying it but have not missed him at all as a matter of fact the team has played better without him. Quite excited and looking forward to 2013 and watch the shoot out for positions.

In my opinion McKenzie has one string to his bow and that is his big kick. Up close struggles to hit a target by foot or hand. Has been exposed this year as teams have worked him out. Unless he can find something else he will struggle 2013 and be overtaken by more versatile players.
How is his pace not another 'bow on his string'? Give him another preseason, he has loads of potential.

Seriously a 2nd year player has a worse year then his first and he is already being written off. Half of the AFL would probably be gone if we took that approach.

How is his pace not another 'bow on his string'? Give him another preseason, he has loads of potential.

Seriously a 2nd year player has a worse year then his first and he is already being written off. Half of the AFL would probably be gone if we took that approach.
That is my opinion. We will wait and see. Nearly all of the 2nd year players that have been given an extended opportunity have played better footy this year. I am saying McKenzie has not shown anything this year. He has a long kick but apart from that was ineffective this year. Very soft and disposal in close is not good. All I am saying if he does not find another facet to his game he will be overtaken. Can't hang onto players in the hope they play good footy one day. The average AFL lifespan for players is 5 games of course many play on longer but some do not even get 5 games. I believe this year he was not missed when he did not play and other players have filled the gap a bit like Tape for mine. Not writing him off just saying needs to find something else.

Review Changes V Adelaide.