Preview Changes V Blues

• Thread starter Thread starter McCauley

Watching the game from behind the goals, I watched Jaensch closely & he had a decent game. Kept his opponent quiet & ran off to provide run when needed. There were only a couple of poor players yesterday & Jaensch wasn't one of them. Some posters on here will call Jaensch crap no matter how he performs...
I agree. Its what annoys me about posters. Jaensch went forward a few times yesterday and is damaging up there. I think he would actually be a damaging crumber where he doent need to worry about his man. Great twist and turn, great kick- long and short- did a couple of great passes yesterday in the forward line. Has got some toe AND ACTUALLY CRUMBS WELL WHEN I HAVE SEEN HIM PLAY FORWARD IN HIS EARLY sanfl DAYS

If Dangerfield goes forward I'd suspect there would be a pre-planned swap. I highly doubt that Armfield would be left on him.
Not quite..Walker has been spending most of his time playing loose down back, so swapping would not be a problem..

Rory Sloane is the concern for me, probably curnow for the gut running and carazzo and mclean rotate on scott thompson..

Midfield battle is going to be interesting this week..

I would go for no change this week. Smith needs another run and no other changes needed at the moment. A stable lineup will be a bonus against the Blues.

IF we are planning on bringing Smith back this week, i dont think it's all about his actual form. it's more about whether or not they think he's physically ready to play. it looks like his game wasn't a total disaster, so thats enough for form as far as i'm concerned.

If the decision is then that he will play, i think Mackay is the like for like replacemnt at the moment. I wouldnt drop Mackay the wingman for him, but if we're talkinmg about Mackay the half back, then it's an easy choice.

I dont think Jeansch will be making way for Smith.

I think we'll see Porps out, and Smith or Lyons in. Smith in would allow Mackay to move further up the field where quite frankly he's a better player.

I would go for no change this week. Smith needs another run and no other changes needed at the moment. A stable lineup will be a bonus against the Blues.

I like that TBH. As much as I want to see Smith and Lyons get a game this week, do you drop players from a near 10 goal win?

I'd imagine the only player in danger of being dropped would be Porps as Sando seems to like kicking the subs ass to the curb but I actually like Porps as the sub, if we can bring him in from halfway through the third the game will have slowed down to his pace :)

Would anyone consider throwing Petrenko into the backlines this week to provide an injection of pace back there against Betts (assuming he plays), Yarran and Garlett? Either straight swap with Jaensch who goes forward (I don't think he's particularly fast) or simply push a set of players up one line (Jaensch to HB, Mackay to Wing, Douglas to HF, Wright to FP).

i used to like the idea of Petrenko down back. I remember when this whole board was screaming for weeks for Craigie to play him in defence. (pretty sure thats where he'd been playing at WWT). It was a game we played in Tassie and he started forward but was then moved to defence, completely dominated a quarter, then inexplicably got moved forward for the rest of the game.

so on that i'd love to see him got back there.

however, for some reason i just can't get images(nightmares) of him overrunning the footy, missing spoils and failing to hit targets heading out of 50. I think there's a very different skill set required in being a defensive forward or a small defender.

as the defensive forward you're there more to harrass, annoy and just generally piss the opposition off. scoring goals wouldnt hurt either. whereas as a small defender you'd better kill the contest, then be sure in your disposal or you really cost the team. mistakes as a small forward dont seem to matter as much.

i just dont trust Pets in the role at the moment.

I could understand there being no changes this week. Everyone pretty well did their jobs on Sunday.
Although Sando is making the green jacket look like a poison chalice at the moment. Porps maybe saved ?
Good to hear that reputations count for nothing now and selection is based on form.
It was great to see all those guys ripping it up in SANFL, to come in and contribute to the team. SANFL form actually looks like it does mean it gives you a good shot at performing @ AFL level.
It was only WB but they seemed to offer a lot more than the guys who missed out.
Worrying signs I reckon for Callinan, Johncock, Vince and maybe Reilly if he keeps playing like he is. I would like to see Smith take his spot, especially if he plays higher up the ground like Reilly did on the weekend.
It would be nice to see one of these basketballers show something soon & put some pressure on Jacobs for a spot also.

Yes, Kerridge was a bit disappointing for his first full AFL game

Out
Kerridge
Laird
Brown
Crouch

In
Vince
Johncock
Callinan
Tambling

Is Doughty available this week?

It makes sense, Crouch is only holding up Tamblings development

Brown, Laird, Smith and Jaensch in the same team would have some hope of slowing down the mosquito fleet. Realistically, we're doing well if keeping all but one of them from getting off the leash.

Great question, my answer is no. Luke Thompson got more possessions than Brodie did. Vince smashed him.
Don't think it matters though. Smith a first 22 player so straight in. Whilst Vince may have smashed him, you would hope this would happen (ie a fit, experienced and extremely capable 150+ game player smashing a 50 game player coming back from injury).

A big part of defending against those really quick forwards comes down to concentration and reading the play. Brown completely shut out Dalhaus, so he should be able to take on one of those small forwards. Kerridge worked hard on Griffen, then Cooney - also did a few good things around the contested ball. Laird looks like a defender. Let them have a go this week.
If Smith has done enough for a recall, then it maybe Porps who has to go.

I agree. Its what annoys me about posters. Jaensch went forward a few times yesterday and is damaging up there. I think he would actually be a damaging crumber where he doent need to worry about his man. Great twist and turn, great kick- long and short- did a couple of great passes yesterday in the forward line. Has got some toe AND ACTUALLY CRUMBS WELL WHEN I HAVE SEEN HIM PLAY FORWARD IN HIS EARLY sanfl DAYS

Did 2-3 lazy passes as well

Just wondering when are we going to see this so called toe, I'm starting to believe that it is a big footy myth

Did 2-3 lazy passes as well

Just wondering when are we going to see this so called toe, I'm starting to believe that it is a big footy myth
Ugh, I still remember that game against the Kangas in 2010, where Old Man Harvey burnt Jaensch off and kicked that goal.

Sando said something to the effect that Laird looked like a 100 game player so I'd be staggered if he was dropped.

Carltons strength is speedy small forwards, we'd be mad to drop a speedy small defender.

I reckon it will one change:

Out Porps
In Smith to increase our speed further

One more game for DMack otherwise it's Lyons

Yes, Kerridge was a bit disappointing for his first full AFL game

Out
Kerridge
Laird
Brown
Crouch

In
Vince
Johncock
Callinan
Tambling

Is Doughty available this week?
I don't think Kerridge was so disappointing.:) But all this fapping over Laird who touched the ball a grand total of 8 times is simply laughable.

Just watching a bit of a montage of the Eagles loss against the Blues and fallout on VFL360.

The theme is that the Weagles were too slow.

Bit of food for thought there for our game this week.
Yeah, but then they showed footage where Yarran was completely on his own the whole time. I can out run thin air too (when the winds blowing the other way).

Key will be to actually man him up for a start!

I don't think Kerridge was so disappointing.:) But all this fapping over Laird who touched the ball a grand total of 8 times is simply laughable.

I remember people flapping over Tom Lee in a NAB game and he had 0 touches, but a couple of nice leaps.
Laird had some good compusure for a first gamer, I'd like to see him play against Carlton.