Changes v Bombers

• Thread starter Thread starter Danoz

As long as he straightens out his disposal and decision making ... way too often he will boot it straight to opposition without lowering his eyes or over-kick on his shorter to mid range passes . It will be the difference between him being a very good ball winner and an out and out star .
BC has good disposal and decision making. I think you might be getting confused with another certain midfielder in our side. Besides even with those deficiencies he's still an out and out star.

Well why does he continually butcher the ball or kick long without looking ? no confusion just a few kinks he needs to iron out of his game .
Big fan of his ball winning , line breaking runs and he is only young so no doubt he will get there .

Actually I tend to disagree. Unfortunately disposal is Brad Crouch's weakness IMO. He often kicks over the head of a player on the lead and often over handballs always looking for a 1-2 even if it's not there. He's a great young player but he definitely needs to improve his disposal to become elite.

is this a symptomatic flow on of the Sanderson no skill required contested ball game plan...
hopefully we are seeing a trend toward better disposal skills added in to the mix for the long term...

Well why does he continually butcher the ball or kick long without looking ? no confusion just a few kinks he needs to iron out of his game .
Big fan of his ball winning , line breaking runs and he is only young so no doubt he will get there .
The long kick without looking is just adjusting to the pace of the AFL. Didn't butcher it that much. Hard to be Gary Ablett in your first year but Crouchy came pretty close!

Will be an absolute star and would be very close to our best midfielder already if he wasn't injured this year. Was already learning to take a little more time hitting up a target and has only played 16 games.

I don't think it's entirely consistent with your argument to use Tippett, Riley, Shaw, L. Thompson or Petrenko.

No, you don't understand my point.

It was suggested that playing in a final this year is very important for us to eventually challenge for a flag. My point was that we were allegedly a very young team that played three finals just over 18 months ago and 6 of our finals team have already left the AFC and another 6 are very unlikely to be involved in our next tilt at the flag.

Our number one priority must be to get games into our quality young players to get them up to 60+ games as soon as possible.

Our second priority should be to work out whether we should keep the current crop of players outside our best 25 (Lyons, CEY, Atkins etc).

We don't have to tank, in fact it may well be that playing Hartigan instead of Truck will make us a better team by the end of the year.

No, you don't understand my point.

It was suggested that playing in a final this year is very important for us to eventually challenge for a flag. My point was that we were allegedly a very young team that played three finals just over 18 months ago and 6 of our finals team have already left the AFC and another 6 are very unlikely to be involved in our next tilt at the flag.

Our number one priority must be to get games into our quality young players to get them up to 60+ games as soon as possible.

Our second priority should be to work out whether we should keep the current crop of players outside our best 25 (Lyons, CEY, Atkins etc).

We don't have to tank, in fact it may well be that playing Hartigan instead of Truck will make us a better team by the end of the year.

Fair enough, I did view your post out of context.

Agree, the team that you're getting experience into has to be the team which is actually capable of winning a flag.

Is it every player in a premiership team that requires the experience, or just a core? If so, what size would the core be?

Fair enough, I did view your post out of context.

Agree, the team that you're getting experience into has to be the team which is actually capable of winning a flag.

Is it every player in a premiership team that requires the experience, or just a core? If so, what size would the core be?

I agree that our younger players getting some finals experience would be handy but I suspect the Collingwood match and hopefully the Hawthorn match and the Showdown will be similar to finals pressure.

Our lack of high draft picks means we have to accelerate the development of our KIDS and take more risks than Geelong and Hawthorn who have given most of their KIDS a good grounding in the twos.

If we get back Lynch, Crouch and Hendo and the injury gods are kind we need to start to put together our 2015 best 22 (and that doesn't include JPod, Truck or Radar, IMHO)

Take Smith out of our backline and we are left with solid plodders who can't kick.
If hendo returns he is equally skilled at kicking as Smith. Whatever our backline structure, it must contain at least 2 quality distributors of the ball.

The long kick without looking is just adjusting to the pace of the AFL. Didn't butcher it that much. Hard to be Gary Ablett in your first year but Crouchy came pretty close!

Will be an absolute star and would be very close to our best midfielder already if he wasn't injured this year. Was already learning to take a little more time hitting up a target and has only played 16 games.
Is that " Year of the Smack " regarding Shaun Mckernan ? if so you have no credibility to talk anything football .

He may be referring to him being 'smacked' in the head, getting dropped to the reserves and never playing AFL again ;)

If hendo returns he is equally skilled at kicking as Smith. Whatever our backline structure, it must contain at least 2 quality distributors of the ball.
Hendo was really coming on last year and has a very accurate , long and penetrating kick very similar to Smith .
Plus he is quick with good reach , excellent closing speed and reads the play well .
He will be a massive in as will Lynch for his work rate in the forward half .
There is some massive upside for the crows in the second half of this year , i just hope they tinker with the gameplan to play to our strengths .
Let the players play ala the Power and this team can be very exciting and cause some damage to all opposition .

Why the aggro mate? Thought we were having a civil footy discussion I wasn't putting your opinion down.

Yes I'm a fan of SMACK I'm not saying he is a superstar should I jump off because he is struggling?

I don't know if I'd go that far mate; he's a creative/attacking/long kick of the footy, but Smith's boot is top shelf.

Hey guys just a question, I have Ricky Henderson in one or my fantasy sides, just wondering how far away he is ? I really rate him as a good player down back.

One or two more SANFL games I reckon, then back in