Changes v Brisbane

Do you think Scott Thompson WILL come in this week?

Deals off then? Thommos back in!

But seriously they have had more than a bad game lol. Hartigan is barely a footballer. He can punch. Sometimes. That's it. He brings absolutely nothing to the table in terms of ability.

Under any pressure in big games brown is found out. Again and again. Not a once off.

Brad crouch is a more controversial one. And I can concede he hasn't been our worst. But he's not doing enough either.

You are so right with Hartigan. Iffy. As a defender he needs EVERYTHING going just right around his playing zone. Any cracks in our defence and he is very suspect.

But I can tell you one thing.

If you believe you can afford to drop Mackay you can afford to drop brown.

If you believe you can afford to drop otten you can afford to drop Hartigan.

Deals off then? Thommos back in!

But seriously they have had more than a bad game lol. Hartigan is barely a footballer. He can punch. Sometimes. That's it. He brings absolutely nothing to the table in terms of ability.

Under any pressure in big games brown is found out. Again and again. Not a once off.

Brad crouch is a more controversial one. And I can concede he hasn't been our worst. But he's not doing enough either.

You mean top 10 in the b&f Hartigan? Rightio, you obviously have NFI. But he is struggling at the moment, I've seen him walking under duress in the rooms after a couple of games. I wouldn't be surprised if he's playing injured as I wouldn't be with others.

I said before last week's match that our biggest problem was centre clearances. Despite being 6-0 we were -7 for centre clearances. Unbelievably we lost the centre clearances to both Essendon and Gold Coast. Over the first 6 games we were +13 for stoppages which made our overall clearance numbers look O.K.

In the last two weeks we have broken even at stoppages (55 - 55) but we have lost the centre clearances 17 to 41. Last Saturday Sauce won the tap outs 76 - 29 but we lost the centre clearances 6 to 18. That's like giving the opposition 12 additional inside 50's.

What can we do? Firstly we need to bring in the best centre clearance player in the Twos. The Mighty THOR has been averaging more than 7 clearances a game plus a load of tackles.

Secondly we need to have our best clearance players in the centre clearances. I know it is robbing Peter etc but I am inclined to give Rory Laird 3 or 4 weeks to see what he can achieve.

You mean top 10 in the b&f Hartigan? Rightio, you obviously have NFI. But he is struggling at the moment, I've seen him walking under duress in the rooms after a couple of games. I wouldn't be surprised if he's playing injured as I wouldn't be with others.

No need for personal attacks because I have a different opinion to you.

But if my believing Hartigan is a very average footballer means I have NFI as you say then I am happy for people that think he's great to have that opinion. Because ultimately i feel the same about you. But it doesn't need to be said. It's just assumed.

Also on Harto, Talia has been pretty ordinary as well. As have all defenders when our mids are comprehensively beaten and the balls coming in under little pressure.

I agree Tahlia has looked ordinary for awhile now. And I thought he was a superstar all Australian back when everyone was goin on about rance. But it's been about 12 months he has looked off.

He looks like someone who has been given more team responsibility and his own game is struggling as a result imo.

I said before last week's match that our biggest problem was centre clearances. Despite being 6-0 we were -7 for centre clearances. Unbelievably we lost the centre clearances to both Essendon and Gold Coast. Over the first 6 games we were +13 for stoppages which made our overall clearance numbers look O.K.

In the last two weeks we have broken even at stoppages (55 - 55) but we have lost the centre clearances 17 to 41. Last Saturday Sauce won the tap outs 76 - 29 but we lost the centre clearances 6 to 18. That's like giving the opposition 12 additional inside 50's.

What can we do? Firstly we need to bring in the best centre clearance player in the Twos. The Mighty THOR has been averaging more than 7 clearances a game plus a load of tackles.

Secondly we need to have our best clearance players in the centre clearances. I know it is robbing Peter etc but I am inclined to give Rory Laird 3 or 4 weeks to see what he can achieve.
These ruck and clearance stats have me completely rethinking the game. Why even play a ruckman?

I agree Tahlia has looked ordinary for awhile now. And I thought he was a superstar all Australian back when everyone was goin on about rance. But it's been about 12 months he has looked off.

He looks like someone who has been given more team responsibility and his own game is struggling as a result imo.
All Australian last year. Been a bit down this year but certainly not 12 months.

Well me and a mate have been talking bout it for close to 12 months. Shortly after he signed the big deal. At first we laughed because we rate him so highly and found it funny that he was making some mistakes he wouldn't normally make.

But it seems to be a trend these days. Not as reliable as he was and decision making/execution is looking questionable . I'm sure he will figure it out tho. I still think it's because he is running the backline and been given a lot of responsibility under pyke and is worried about team structures etc more than his own game .

Any inside word on Knight? Club sounding positive yet some claiming he has a 4 week injury?

How big is Thursday night! Will be a huge insight into the club's thought process going forward.
4 weeks is what I was told by a family acquaintance of his. But like I said then, it's the country town talking, so it could have been effected by the chinese whispers phenomenon.

That's pretty ****ed.

I reckon you and Thor's mum must have something going. Other than that, yes, I think it's time for the might Thor also, and as much as I hate to say it, in place of Hampton. Sheesh, MacKay lives again.

Interesting no one seems keen to drop easily the worst player in the team ATM and has done nothing since his return from injury in 3 weeks, which he shouldnt have been brought back in. And yet we have so called structural issues and yet he isnt the first to be dropped

JJ clearly needs top get back and find some form yet people are either 50/50 or leaving him in

Shoudl this be the Gold Pass thread because he is tall and , stuff the fact he is playing like an amatuer

I think it is Mackay, Menzel and Jenkins out.

Thor, Wigg and Lever in. Otten up forward.

Jenkins needs a run in the twos. He doesn't have confidence with his body yet. Cameron MUST be healthy, as they rested Knight and Lever last week. Menzel might be injured, and if he comes up it's too much of a risk, as is Knight.

Interesting no one seems keen to drop easily the worst player in the team ATM and has done nothing since his return from injury in 3 weeks, which he shouldnt have been brought back in. And yet we have so called structural issues and yet he isnt the first to be dropped

JJ clearly needs top get back and find some form yet people are either 50/50 or leaving him in

Shoudl this be the Gold Pass thread because he is tall and , stuff the fact he is playing like an amatuer
I think you'll find quite a few people are willing to entertain the idea but the reality is that the selectors are likely to drop Otten, who is the inferior player in slightly better form.

I think it is Mackay, Menzel and Jenkins out.

Thor, Wigg and Lever in. Otten up forward.

Jenkins needs a run in the twos. He doesn't have confidence with his body yet. Cameron MUST be healthy, as they rested Knight and Lever last week. Menzel might be injured, and if he comes up it's too much of a risk, as is Knight.
Imo, we have been playing underdone & unhealthy players the last few weeks, such that we have too many passengers not contributing & making us vulnerable.

Doesn't make sense given we have fit & in form players in the sanfl. Appear to making similar selection mistakes to last year.

We were playing good football when we had an even contribution from all.

I'd throw Lever into the guts for a bit of a hard edge, just for a spell here and there, see how he goes. He won't take a backwards step.
I'd give Andy Otten a crack in the midfield if we're at desperation point and talking bringing in a clearly underdone Thommo. Andy's a big solid body and is one player that's not frightened to get aggressive and combine that with his top end footy smarts why not? Did play some midfield early in his career and was quite impressive. Even if only to use his big body and aggression to block and intimidate some of these dirty Sloane taggers. He's one bloke in our side I reckon you could rely on to carry out the coaches instructions and if that was to niggle and scrag the tagger Andy would relish the opportunity. Yeah, it's left field but someone has to step up and give some fair dinkum support to Rory. Reckon Andy would have 2017 Thommo for pace and endurance most likely too. :eek:

Changes v Brisbane