Changes v Brisbane

Do you think Scott Thompson WILL come in this week?

How is Greenwood's job security and what do you reckon his role will be?
Thanks guys.

Seems like one we'll give a fair bit of opportunity to. As we have with Hampton.
Has that winners attitude and will take his chance, most likely playing inside mid and forward.

+4s all day with his tackling. Yet to see how he'll go finding the ball but he's not afraid to kick it.

Just get him in :)

There's absolutely nothing wrong with Galluci pushing ahead of Wigg, who burnt his chance during the JLT. Galucci showed enormous promise and for once we've finally chosen a player with the higher upside ahead of the near certain of a 4.5/10 result from a player who deserves it more based on time served. I don't see an issue if Wigg is seen as depth, as long as he gets a game ahead of Thommo when the need arises, there's no problem whatsoever. God I hope Hampton is heading to the outside, we're heading towards our best 22.
When did Galluci show all this promise ?

I expect Poholke to get an AFL game ahead of Wigg.

And rightly so.

Wigg is in the VB, Mackay mould. Nice highlight package but found wanting when we need some grit and he has to perform under real pressure.

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

Yeh, I'm struggling to understand the lament from some posters. Galucci is a kid who showed some really good signs in the preseason and has been backed in ahead of a more senior player of limited potential. This is exactly what we've been asking of our club for years.

There's absolutely nothing wrong with Galluci pushing ahead of Wigg, who burnt his chance during the JLT. Galucci showed enormous promise and for once we've finally chosen a player with the higher upside ahead of the near certain of a 4.5/10 result from a player who deserves it more based on time served. I don't see an issue if Wigg is seen as depth, as long as he gets a game ahead of Thommo when the need arises, there's no problem whatsoever. God I hope Hampton is heading to the outside, we're heading towards our best 22.
Correct. We have obviously identified that Galluci has more upside than players like Wigg and hes now leapfrogging blokes that were previously next in line. Weve been calling for the club to do this for years.

When did Galluci show all this promise ?

JLT mate. He was impressive to my eye, which I posted at the time. Completely unsurprised that he's jumped Wigg. He hits the ball at pace and is slippery. He was a little off in the same way Knight was, not perfectly clean, but as a first year player, 5 months from draft day, he showed plenty.

Correct. We have obviously identified that Galluci has more upside than players like Wigg and hes now leapfrogging blokes that were previously next in line. Weve been calling for the club to do this for years.

Yes, it's a punt by the club. If you take the traditional view, Thor has "earned" his promotion, but Gooch hasn't.

Haha who would know

Absolutely no evidence of that
During the JLT this year Poholke showed more composure in his first games as an adult than Wigg did after at least two full years playing senior SANFL footy and three AFL preseasons.

Wing's stats look nice. And He is a good SANFL player. Just not good enough to play AFL

And Harrison Wigg's stats??
Harrison WIGG
2017 SANFL

Totals
4 games
1 goal
3 behinds
1 time in best players list

Averages
17.0 kicks
8.0 handballs
25.0 disposals
4.5 marks
2.5 tackles
5.0 inside 50s
3.0 rebound 50s
90.25 DT points

So we have posters screaming for the club to take more risks with selection and then we have others complaining whether a player has earned the right . FFS. Good luck galluci ! Love the club taking control at selection
Sometimes "earning the right" is more than stats and weight of numbers at the lower level.

Plenty of people were complaining last year. Even when he was in form he didn't do a lot of the team things he should have been doing.
Well ... hes never gonna be wayne carey like everyone is expecting ... he just needs to kick the goals and work hard. Maybe hes not fully over the ribs yet. Anyways at least we didnt trade him for Vickery.

Yeh, I'm struggling to understand the lament from some posters. Galucci is a kid who showed some really good signs in the preseason and has been backed in ahead of a more senior player of limited potential. This is exactly what we've been asking of our club for years.
It's not lament.

Personally Galluci hasn't excited me, you've obviously seen more promise than I have.

Hopefully I'm wrong and you and the club are right.

Should give him a game so he doesnt get sad?
That's taking it a bit too far.

Last year his form was very good in the SANFL and we should have given him the opportunity at AFL whilst he had the confidence up.

This year we played him in 2 JLT games, got a heap of the ball but burnt it. Based on that he seems destined to not play one AFL game.

This for a player picked in the 40s and has been on our list for 3 years. What a waste of a pick and 3 years and not even given him one game to see what he can do.

Not sure what to make of this week's changes. Some good, some bad.

I like the selections of Greenwood and Gallucci. Greenwood has earned his promotion, and Gallucci clearly has bucketloads more talent than Wigg. It's good to see the club finally taking the opportunity (a game against Brisbane) to blood some new players. It seems almost radical after the selection policies of the previous 32 games under Pyke.

I have no problems with the dropping of Mackay and JJ. Neither player has impressed in the last couple of weeks, and their omissions are entirely justifiable. Mackay's season is following the same trajectory as his 2015 & 2016 season - starting in a blaze of glory lasting about a month, followed by a rapid descent into the mediocrity which has defined his career. JJ simply has no ability to perform under duress. His ribs might be fine from a medical perspective, but they're clearly still causing him pain - and JJ just doesn't perform when he's not at 100%.

Having said that, neither Mackay nor JJ are the reason(s) why we lost to North & Melbourne in such disgraceful circumstances. There are many causes, but the biggest of these is that our inside midfield is slightly softer than a well roasted marshmallow. Brouch & Hampton are, in my opinion, very fortunate indeed that the club chose to scapegoat an outside mid & a tall forward, when our biggest issue is non-performing inside mids.

We are seriously missing the inside grunt that Scott Thompson used to provide. I'm not suggesting that Thompson should be selected - he's completely cooked - but we do need to find someone who is capable of performing his role. I'm not sure that such a player currently exists on our team list (Poholke?), and Bryce Gibbs certainly isn't the answer when we start looking at outside recruitment.

The changes they've made this week are nice, but all they've done is change the icing on the cake, while the cake itself remains rotten inside.

That's taking it a bit too far.

Last year his form was very good in the SANFL and we should have given him the opportunity at AFL whilst he had the confidence up.

This year we played him in 2 JLT games, got a heap of the ball but burnt it. Based on that he seems destined to not play one AFL game.

This for a player picked in the 40s and has been on our list for 3 years. What a waste of a pick and 3 years and not even given him one game to see what he can do.
I wouldn't have thought it that unusual for a player picked up in the 40's. I think we all forget how ruthless this game is. There is no doubting that at the start of this year he was next in line and on the cusp of selection. I reckon they have identified that Wigg is another Lyons, Grigg type player, an accumulator of possessions but with no stand out attribute. We are obviously very keen on Galluci given that we took him with such an early pick.

I sometimes think second and third round picks are the hardest for recruiters

There is a bunch if guys in that range that are not quite first round quality but not totally speculative either.

Would be hard to see which 18 year old in this range is AFL capable or top level state league capable.

From games I've seen Greenwood play, he definitely has that want to win that you simply can't teach. Players either have it or they don't and it doesn't seem to correlate with skill level either. I've seen very skilled players without it and battlers with it.

Kelly and Sloane, for example, both have it in spades, giving their all, no matter the game situation. I'm not sure we have too many players that are the other extreme. The Motlops all generally seem like poster children for those that don't have it. So very skilled, yet just don't have the desire sometimes when things get hard.
I'd take it further and say there's a difference between wanting to compete and being satisfied with trying and being uncompromising and expecting to win.

The willingness to compete is absolutely required, but will only get you so far.

Mr Four-Year-Contract and Mr Five-Year-Contract both dropped.

Why doesn't the club realize what intelligent people identify years before?

Yeah, I'm talking about me.

Honestly, who didn't see this coming three million miles off? The club, that's who. Twenty years without a flag does that, I guess.

Greenwood has 'earnt' his promotion twice over. About time! He looks a footballer and is a footballer.

Good luck to Galluci. His selection just seems somewhat premature to me. I hope he doesn't get found out with the pace of things because my viewing passages recall (sparse) are not marked by any note of his speed. But then again good players with space, time and composure often can look slower movers.

I hope they both work. It was the Brisbane game last year when the opportunity to bring in debutantes was foregone, so very pleased with the selection approach changes. It is quite bewildering how the acceptance of Mackay's output has lingered over the years with selection. And now conversely and maybe even slightly perversely there is also some lingering selectors disappointment about how strongly JJ should have presented himself coming out of his injury spells. Anyway something good has happened and I want both of these inclusions to work so as to sow the seeds for a more responsive robust selection approach for the AFC going forward.
It's all been a little too comfortable and motherly for years.

Changes v Brisbane