Changes v Carlton - Changes, changes everywhere

I know ... I was just trying not to accept it :(
Sod that. Coincidence. Plus he's had fewer opportunities to have a ping. His goal against the Saints round 1 was a thing of beauty. I'm backing him as on the cusp of a return to that form (though he had better get a move on because I'm inches away from deflating like a soufflé)

Still a very reasonable team. Vince and Lewis will appreciate the eight-day break, need JKH and Hunt pace through the middle.
Wish Bugg had saved that hit for Cripps this week...

JKH having pace is a myth ....or a stereotyping

I agree that he needs to be given a go in the midfield, but pacy he is not.

Time for break-in-case-of-emergency for me - Lewis and Vince to the midfield, full time. We don't have the depth.

B: Jetta OMac Frost
HB: Hunt TMac Hibb
C: Stretch Lewis Vince
HF: Petracca Hogan Melksham
F: Garlett Pedersen Hannan
R: Gawn Oliver ANB
INT: Harmes Maynard Smith JKH

OUT: Viney, Wagner, White, Bugg, Tyson
IN: Maynard, JSmith, JKH, Garlett, Hogan

Honestly, it doesnt look that bad and looks like a solid team. Also the (not likely) chance of Watts coming in.

It's stereotyping. He is of indigenous descent so he must be quick!
He does a good job hiding it!
He's no Flash Davey Or Hunt

I dont see what mfc sees in him? Hes so small, put him in the midfield he will get eaten alive by Carltons Bulls

Almost as much of a whipping boy as M.Jones so looong ago!

Heard a whisper that Watts was the mystery player out last weekend with the Ken's and Spencer. Perhaps he was supposed to serve a club suspension this week but they have changed their mind due to the injury crisis?

He's bloody lucky if true*. I'd be seriously punishing him internally then blokes had 1 good year of AFL footy in his career. Was already punished at the start of the season as well and is still yet to prove **** all to anyone about anything

*if true id put him on an alcohol ban for the year. If not sorry Wattsy

Honestly, it doesnt look that bad and looks like a solid team. Also the (not likely) chance of Watts coming in.

That's some serious Melbourne glasses.
That midfield is horrendous, 2 blokes past their prime and 3 who have proven **** all at AFL level. Add to that a bench of unproven players and we could get belted.
Gibbs Murphy and Cripps will give us a bath.

That midfield is horrendous, 2 blokes past their prime and 3 who have proven **** all at AFL level. Add to that a bench of unproven players and we could get belted.

Doubt we get belted, Carlton are averaging 72ppg.

If we're going to win we need big games from Hogan and the leadership group. Lewis and Vince I'm looking at you two this week.

Ok I know it's not great but I'm just adding a little positivity around here because everyone has completely f*cking melted in the space of just 2 weeks

If we're going to win we need big games from Hogan and the leadership group. Lewis and Vince I'm looking at you two this week.

Belted in the midfield mate. I reckon Carlton will control the game and stay arms length in front all day, gonna take a special coaching effort to win

I can't see Hogan doing **** all, he's a touch player reckon he will need a few weeks to get back into it.
Lewis an Vince need to wind back the clock for sure

Ok I know it's not great but I'm just adding a little positivity around here because everyone has completely f*cking melted in the space of just 2 weeks

I don't think the melts have been that bad to be fair. I'm a serial melter but I still think we will play finals even if we lose to Carlton.

Well maybe not melting but we've got a shitload of supporters have lost hope and saying that we've almost no chance to beat Carlton.
I'm not underestimating Carlton, but I still think we've got a good shot to beat them.

Well maybe not melting but we've got a shitload of supporters have lost hope and saying that we've almost no chance to beat Carlton.
I'm not underestimating Carlton, but I still think we've got a good shot to beat them.

I think we're a good chance sure but I'm tipping they'll do enough to blanket us and win by 2-3 goals.

I am fairly close to it, our midfield is our strength and in the space of three matches we have lost three of our four best mids. Cannot believe what shit luck we have had.
I can count on one finger the number of sides I have seen have success with this injury level, and it was last year's premiers.

We really really need to win Sunday but I think Carlton's midfield will chew us up and spit us out, and our poor ball use due to no Salem and no Watts will see Docherty rip us a new one across HB.

I am fairly close to it, our midfield is our strength and in the space of three matches we have lost three of our four best mids. Cannot believe what shit luck we have had.
I can count on one finger the number of sides I have seen have success with this injury level, and it was last year's premiers.

We really really need to win Sunday but I think Carlton's midfield will chew us up and spit us out, and our poor ball use due to no Salem and no Watts will see Docherty rip us a new one across HB.

Yeah let's be honest, and rating system you wanna use tells the same story ( I'll use ABC )
Murphy A
Gibbs A
Cripps A
Kreuzer B

Gawn A
Oliver B
Petracca C ( gets tired too easily )
Vince B

Lewis/Melk/ANB/Stretch etc are all pretty average at the moment.
We won't win this game on talent, we need to play at their level and back our blokes to have enough discipline to be patient with the ball

If Docherty and Simpson run free I'll freak out

Yeah let's be honest, and rating system you wanna use tells the same story ( I'll use ABC )
Murphy A
Gibbs A
Cripps A
Kreuzer B

Gawn A
Oliver B
Petracca C ( gets tired too easily )
Vince B

Lewis/Melk/ANB/Stretch etc are all pretty average at the moment.
We won't win this game on talent, we need to play at their level and back our blokes to have enough discipline to be patient with the ball

If Docherty and Simpson run free I'll freak out

Plus there's the fact Kreuzer is Gawn's kryptonite (even when max was at his best)...

JKH having pace is a myth ....or a stereotyping

I agree that he needs to be given a go in the midfield, but pacy he is not.

Lol! Yeah maybe a little stereotyping but more from his short rover-like stature than his ancestry. If he's half as good as flash I'll be happy...

He couldn't be any more different a player to flash if he was Fraser Gehrig
Davey was a gun small forward we are turned into a winger.
JKH is a shit small forward we are trying to turn into an inside mid

I have no idea how we are going to kick a score this week. If "Bomb it to Hogan" becomes the game plan we're cooked. He might be good for a couple of cheap frees where he gets held onto in the F50, but unless we drop the eyes of trust guys like Truck to have a ping from 50m, then I can't see where the goals will come from short of Hannan bobbing up now and then.

lol 'horrendous' is way overstated. Lewis is yet to play in the midfield for us, and has excelled there over the last three years. 2016 was probably his second best season and that's when he was playing in the guts, so there's no reason to think he can't have a similar impact there to Murphy. Vince too hasn't played much midfield since winning a B&F there for us in 2015, and has been very strong when played there as in against Adelaide this year (albeit in a tagging role).

Also you can't write off Oliver as having 'proven **** all' at AFL level when Cripps only has a year more experience - esp given Oliver is probably top 10 in the Brownlow. ANB and Stretch will really need to rise to the occasion but a Lewis, Vince, Petracca, Oliver midfield isn't 'horrendous', it's more than competitive.
He couldn't be any more different a player to flash if he was Fraser Gehrig
Davey was a gun small forward we are turned into a winger.
JKH is a shit small forward we are trying to turn into an inside mid
Lol what? JKH is a natural inside mid that burst onto the scene as a small forward but has struggled there since bc he's being played well out of position. His best game for us was in 2014 when he played in the guts v Adelaide and was a huge part of why we beat them. That also would have been like his seventh game.
I have no idea how we are going to kick a score this week. If "Bomb it to Hogan" becomes the game plan we're cooked. He might be good for a couple of cheap frees where he gets held onto in the F50, but unless we drop the eyes of trust guys like Truck to have a ping from 50m, then I can't see where the goals will come from short of Hannan bobbing up now and then.
This is a confusing post - other than Watts our forward line will be at full strength, and other than that we also have Gawn now to swing forward and take a pack mark or two if we can get it forward. With Pedersen playing as a full time forward and Hannan much improved it's arguably the strongest forward line we've played in a few months.

The melting on this board is hilarious - unless everyone on here is smarter than the bookies there's no way they're still offering $2.50 on a Carlton win if we're as screwed as you all seem to think. We'll struggle in the midfield a bit but we're much stronger forward and back than Carlton are, it'll be a close game.

Out: White, Tyson, Viney, Bugg, ANB
In: Hogan (Weid), Garlett (Kent), Maynard, Trengove, Kennedy

Stretch & Wagner get one more for mine - we've generally given blokes a pretty decent run at it this year. But on notice.

Kent & JKH are behind in the queue as they've already had their chance this year IMO

I can see us struggling to kick 60 points this week. But still, shouldn't get belted as Carlton won't score over 85.