Prediction Changes v Cats

May I suggest wank word bingo? Google it. We played it in a ph conference with our American manager. Juvenile but fun.

And MD it's spelt 'deities' you illiterate flog. ;):D

You sir can caress your labium athwart my posterior

Given our injuries, I don't think we should be omitting too many players on form. You could easily make the case for six or seven players to be dropped based on the Saints match in isolation. But three or four changes should be the maximum. Stability is important from week to week and we should back some of our players (Suckling, TBoyd, Dickson etc) to find better form.

Out: Wallis, Redpath, Morris
In: Dalhaus, Stringer, Hamling

TBoyd needs to spend most of his time in the forward half. We desperately need a focal point who can create a contest and bring the high ball to ground. This might be an over simplification, but why not only have him ruck stoppages in the forward 50, and leave the rest of the ground to Roughead? TBoyd can ruck in the centre/around the ground for 2 minutes each quarter, in order to give Roughead a rest, but otherwise should be permanently in the forward 50/half forward area.

I think the club should err on the side of caution with Morris. He is 33 and has played every match this season. I'm not one to advocate resting of players, but this might be the player and the week to do it. Although, a Roberts/Hamling backline does not fill me with a lot of confidence. I think, however, we just need to back our midfielders to apply enough pressure and for our defensive structures to work. The forecasted rain should help our cause.

If Dalhaus or Stringer are not fit, we shouldn't risk them, and the next cab off the rank is probably Honeychurch or Webb.

Danger and Selwood had a field day last time. Couldn't hurt to have picken sit on danger surely Bev?!

Personally, I would take it literally and actually physically sit on him at every opportunity.

I want us to ambush them on Friday night, a smash and grab when they Cats are not looking.

Hopefully, we're employing a siege mentality - us against the world. We've been kicked and it's time to kick back.

Good luck to your mob.
It's a shame what has happened this year because your club is one of a few who play such an entertaining brand of football and to lose so many key players is really unfair.

Geelong are definitely beatable. The players love themselves and get treated like gods in their little world. They will head into the game thinking it's a done deal and that is when teams can jump us from the get go.
Gotta play kamikaze footy and be prepared to play on at every opportunity and that means gut running. Not sure the Dogs have that in them at this stage of the season but if they can gut run till they nearly pewk, they will topple a team solely reliant on Selwood and Dangerfield in the middle of the ground.

Good luck to your mob.
It's a shame what has happened this year because your club is one of a few who play such an entertaining brand of football and to lose so many key players is really unfair.

Geelong are definitely beatable. The players love themselves and get treated like gods in their little world. They will head into the game thinking it's a done deal and that is when teams can jump us from the get go.
Gotta play kamikaze footy and be prepared to play on at every opportunity and that means gut running. Not sure the Dogs have that in them at this stage of the season but if they can gut run till they nearly pewk, they will topple a team solely reliant on Selwood and Dangerfield in the middle of the ground.
Cheers for the kind words mate. Living in Geelong I can't stand a few of your supporters, but your members on bigfooty (including yourself) are some of the most humble posters going around. Saying the Bulldogs play an entertaining brand of footy has been one of footy's biggest myths this year. And particularly far from enjoyable footy to watch the last 6 weeks or so. Hopefully it's a good game with no injuries to both teams.

Jong won't get dropped. Massive trade bait from here in.

Sell high.
Sell high? I would have thought if he was to keep his value it would be best to hide him in the VFL. 7 turnovers in the first half last week won't be winning him too many fans. Imagine how many he will have Infront of a hostile crowd at Kardinia park on a Friday night!

People actually calling for Suckling to be dropped I honestly believe have absolutely no idea.

He has brought in to play HF and due to injury has been pushed back.

He has had a few average games and wasn't great but is a premiership player and you want to drop him against the cats down at the kitty litter?

And the same people want to give Dickson and Jong and co there 15th chance this year??

What are you people looking at? How do oh think? What are you smoking?

Regardless injuries

Dickson has to go he has been garbage for weeks in fact all year.

He who mustn't be named played on of the worst games in AFL history and some want him starting midfield against Danger and Selwood? So we are tanking From the first bounce are we??

Biggs has struggled for weeks.

But apprently the only bloke we have with big game experience needs to go?

Wow!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Biggs has struggled for a couple of weeks but his form up until then was fine. He cannot b
Good luck to your mob.

I find it amazing that any side will go into a game thinking it is a done deal, especially when they are fighting to get a double chance in finals. They are far too professional for that. Upsets happen because of the eveness of the comp. A side may be a little off, but that doesn't mean they think "it is a done deal" before they run out. Its funny, everytime Geelong lose its because they arent switched on , or they underestimate the opposition. Its never because the other team was just too good on the day.

Speaking of needing a key forward. Does anyone know much about Brett Eddy from the SANFL? Mature age full forward.

Again we see Webb and Honeychurch amassing huge numbers at VFL level. If only these two could make the transition to AFL level we would be blessed with so many more options. If neither get more games this year one could understand their thinking that their futures lie elsewhere irrespective of contracted for 2017.

Even though we've got Dahlhaus and Stringer back, I'm far from confident that we're going to beat Geelong on Friday night. I think this will be a disappointing 30pt loss & our form over the last 3 weeks has been anything but ordinary.

Speaking of needing a key forward. Does anyone know much about Brett Eddy from the SANFL? Mature age full forward.

Personally, I'd be looking at Cory Gault from Collingwood. I'm unsure on what his form has been like this season but he showed a bit last last year.

Even though we've got Dahlhaus and Stringer back, I'm far from confident that we're going to beat Geelong on Friday night. I think this will be a disappointing 30pt loss & our form over the last 3 weeks has been anything but ordinary.

I'd back you guys in more than what you would mate. You've got some really good players who rise when the going gets tough. Was absolutely gutted to see Wallis and Redpath go down this week, really wanted you guys to have a good sniff at finals - your youngens are among the AFL's most exciting.

Anyway back to the point, Cats seem sleepy this year depends which Geelong side shows up. Smalls can cut our defense to pieces if they break our defensive press, you've got blokes more than capable. Really looking forward to this one.

Good to hear reinforcements are on the way. In fact with Stringer and Dahl back, depending on what happens with Morris, you could argue we will actually field a stronger team than last week even with the injuries. I don't mind Hamling so it will be good to see him back in the one's again. In fact I think he is better than Roberts and I'm often perplexed how he can't seem to get a run when Roberts is always ahead of him.

It will be great to have Dahl back in the side, we have really missed him. He was probably leading the B&F when he got injured and would have been a sneaky chance at All Australian contention so having him back should be a massive boost. Having said all of that I still think beating Geelong at home will probably prove too big a task but I want to see an improved effort and pressure than last week.

Ins: Stringer, Dahl, Hamling, McLean
Out: Redpath, Wallis, Morris, Jong

Would also consider Minson to allow Boyd to stay up forward but I think their mobile rucks might be a bit much for him so I think we will most likely go with Roughey and Boyd to give him a break for a few mins each quarter.

A loss this week and the seasons over, top four becomes basically impossible and if you don't make the top four history says your no chance. What's the point of being conservative? To load up for a semi final finish?

Strangled Cat, I am happy to discuss the game with you.

Last time we played, the Cats had come off a surprisingly easy win against Norf, courtesy of Norfs injuries and lack if a bench in the end (the fact that Norf were well on the way to beating you, before the injuries hit is also worth debating, but not now.)

Meanwhile the dogs took on Port away from home, for a really ferocious game, in which many said Hawthorn would have struggled and probably would have lost, also debateable but not now.

We were simply a very tired young team when we played the Cats, we had lost Dalh and just lacked energy. For that matter Port was pumped by Freo after playing us, perhaps testimony to how tough that game was.

After that game, the players were filthy and took it out on Sydney who we played away and won, Sydney went on and beat you, also at your home game the week after.

This incredibly young team was 8 months younger than the Saints in the weekend. Injuries have hit us hard, as well as some out of form players. But, I wouldn't get too complacent if I was a Geelong supporter, because this new team of Bulldogs doesn't like to lose (remind you of a previous team?)

Logic would say that we should lose to Geelong on Friday, but logic would also say that a team of youngsters propped up by Boyd, Morris and Picken shouldn't be beating the teams we have beaten, finalist experienced teams such as Adelaide, Eagles and Sydney.

My take on our ins and outs? Dahl back is huge, he is winning our B&F this year, taking Redpath out of our forward line will make us more unpredictable, especially if Boyd brings the ball to ground for others. Libba will be better for the run and him and Dahl are tackling machines.

Like Geelong, our VFL side plays the same way as the seniors, so each player knows their role.

If Geelong treats us too casually you will lose. You haven't faced the best of the Bulldog breed yet.
Thanks for your reasonable response.

There's no doubt that Dahlhaus and Stinger are both quality players, so their inclusions are massive. From your previous side earlier in the year, you were missing Wood and Johannisen plus a few others that don't initially spring to mind.

I'll have to go over the two respective sides once the teams are listed on Thursday to assess where both are at. From Geelong's perspective we'll have Guthrie back from when we last met, but Caddy won't be playing this week.

When the sides are released Thursday evening, I'll be keen to hear whether supporters like yourself believe that; a) your side is better/worse/equal to the side and b) whether or not you believe you have a side capable of travelling down the highway for an upset victory.

I do agree completely with your comment regarding Geelong not losing if they take WB lightly. Your mob has proven to be a quality outfit even with injuries, so to take then lightly would be foolhardy.

I do think Geelong will win comfortably - but, as no result is ever fait accompli, I won't be putting my feet up and popping open the Dom Pérignon just yet.