Prediction Changes v Dogs

• Thread starter Thread starter avishka5

Agree that Cole is probably a few weeks off but it'd be great for us to finish the year with all of Sheed, Duggan, Mutimer, Nelson, Venables and Cole fit and getting games.

So just reading that Boyd will be the Dogs ruck leaving them with a pretty small fast forward line.

So Barrass and McGovern play on who exactly?

The small forward Butler usually takes?:huh::cool::$
Im not worried about the dogs small.forwards. they bomb it in just like everyone else

Agree that Cole is probably a few weeks off but it'd be great for us to finish the year with all of Sheed, Duggan, Mutimer, Nelson, Venables and Cole fit and getting games.

I like the sound of that but curious who drops out of the regular 22 players ..

Run and run and run

It's what killed us in the EF and what we need to counter on Friday if we are to win

Would have loved Watson to be available for this game
Last year we had 3 talls down back Schofield, Barras, it was way too tall however, I think two talls is good down back. Saying that it is hard to drop Barras or McGovern haha

yep agreed good that Sheed, Duggan, Mutimer, Nelson are al in the team. Nelson and Duggan were only not in because of Injury. Duggan will come back in this week.

So
Out: Giles and Hutchings
In: Duggan, Karpany

Agree the dogs are not going to bomb it long they win run it and they have heaps of good on ballers.

I feel this board is a little too harsh on our fringe players. One bad game and you're gone!
Pretty sure people on here were ok with Giles the last few weeks as he "competed well". One horrid week as expected against an athletic beast of a ruck in Ryder and you're all calling to drop him...
If you want to play one ruck against the dogs, that's fine but Vardy would be the one you're looking to drop, not Giles. If he dishes out another performance like that against that overpaid dud TBOYD then the calls to drop will be more than warranted.

We have rucked Darling before (he did ok surprisingly)

And we only have to match it against Lin Jong

The other alternative is having an oaf running around doing nothing all game

He is necessary against the likes of Sandi and other behemoths - but not against teams who run.

If we had our quality rucks - I'd say stick with them and play to our strength. BUt rucks isn't our strengths at the moment, so IMO - play a nullifying strategy

Due to fitness of some of the players coming back from injury I think we will just have to be patient for it's no good bringing them in until they are ready, as they will just break down again.

Not sure I would call it a cracking game. Stats don't mean much if you have 0 impact against a 1st gamer in the ruck and 0 scoreboard impact up forward.
And that missed shot on goal was glorious. Happened right in front of me. Even said to my mate sitting next to me when he marked it that he will miss.

right-in-front-of-me2.gif

Not sure I would call it a cracking game. Stats don't mean much if you have 0 impact against a 1st gamer in the ruck and 0 scoreboard impact up forward.
And that missed shot on goal was glorious. Happened right in front of me. Even said to my mate sitting next to me when he marked it that he will miss.

Good call

Run and run and run

It's what killed us in the EF and what we need to counter on Friday if we are to win

Would have loved Watson to be available for this game

He's not on the injury list so I assume he's fit and ready to go.

Let's face it, our depth is being tested now and we do not have any options in terms of players.

Sick bay roll call:
Duggan (thigh) test
Partington (hand) 1 week
Rioli (hamstring) 2 weeks
Nelson (wrist) 3 weeks
Petrie (hand) 3-4 weeks
Lycett (shoulder) 4-5 weeks
Cripps (ankle) 6 weeks
Tunbridge (knee) Mid-late 2017 season
Naitanui (knee) Late 2017 season
Waterman (foot) Indefinite
Watson (ankle) 4 plus weeks

Of the above, only Duggan is likely to be considered.
Add to the above Cole who is on the comeback with and Venables who is still building.

What about the Dogs?

The outs are Stringer knee who is a big out and they will need to restructure and Dunkley out is not major and will not be missed much.
Likely to come in from VFL team are Dickson (kicked 3) Redpath is an option having (kicked 6 in return game) and Biggs who had 27 touches off HBF.

2 questions I have is
1) What do we do with our ruck (rather poor against a very athletic Ryder but different scenario v Dogs)?
2) What do we need to do to combat the Dogs speed and pressure (EF last year was a debacle)?

Giles will be a liability especially around the ground when facing an opposition who can run

Obvious changes against Doggies will be tossing about different ruck options and a way to add leg speed. So the MC are not going to have that many options to chose from and they will need to be better that they were last time we met with Brown,

Against the Dogs we will get exposed for leg speed and decision making speed. For me that means Hutching is out and Duggan back in. Would love to have Cole further ahead and I suggest Jetta is still battling his depression and will melt against the Doggies high pressure accountable game so no

We will not lack height and as stated the Doggies ruck stocks are low and I quite like the idea about bringing in Lamb for Giles. A bit left field but horses for courses and Lamb is certainly taller than the 193 cm stated on the site.

Lamb suggestion is out of left field. I like it. He and Darling give the ruckman a chop out and allow Gov to stay in the backline.

I'd play Giles rather than Vardy if you're going to go in with one lumbering ruckman. Only because Giles is more durable and Vardy's elbow might be a little suspect.

If you're looking to inject more footspeed then the only other player you'd consider would be Karpany, but I don't know who comes out and three changes to a side that's won two in a row seems a little drastic.

Does Brad Hill success at Freo show that intent is biggest issue for Lewis Jetta? Hill has come in to a new side and transition so well that he is playing his best footy. Similar type of players but one is succeeding while the other one is doing the bare minimum at wafl. I was heavily against getting Jetta but have supported him last year and this year as well but it's getting to the point where if he cannot turn up, he needs to be delisted at the end of the year.

In: Duggan, Lamb
Out: Hutchings, Vardy

B: Sheppard, Barrass, Wellingham
HB: Hurn, McGovern, Yeo
C: Gaff, Mitchell, Masten
HF: Hill, Darling, Mutimer
F: LeCras, Kennedy, Lamb
R: Giles, Shuey, Priddis
I: Butler, Redden, Sheed, Duggan
E: Vardy, Hutchings, Karpany

Lamb suggestion is out of left field. I like it. He and Darling give the ruckman a chop out and allow Gov to stay in the backline.

I'd play Giles rather than Vardy if you're going to go in with one lumbering ruckman. Only because Giles is more durable and Vardy's elbow might be a little suspect.

If you're looking to inject more footspeed then the only other player you'd consider would be Karpany, but I don't know who comes out and three changes to a side that's won two in a row seems a little drastic.
Good idea. We kinda miss a linkmen so lamb can play that as well.

Why are we dropping Giles and not Vardy? Vardy looks like an athlete, but he hasn't actually contributed anything, and he's less competitive against proper rucks. If we are going with one, at least Giles is a big lump that goes closer to halving a ruck contest than Vardy does.