Changes v Essendon

Chin up lads. The team named below is close to identical to the one we'll put on the field on Sunday (only Gawn and AVB unavailable, and we could've picked Kent or [at a stretch] Brayshaw).

The same team beat Hawthorn last year, who were on a 9 game winning streak at the time.

B
  • Sam Frost,
  • Tom McDonald,
  • Neville Jetta
HB
  • Jayden Hunt,
  • Oscar McDonald,
  • Tomas Bugg
C
  • Christian Petracca,
  • Bernie Vince,
  • Dom Tyson
HF
  • Jeff Garlett,
  • Jack Watts,
  • Aaron Vandenberg
F
  • Sam Weideman,
  • Cameron Pedersen,
  • Dean Kent
FOL
  • Max Gawn,
  • Nathan Jones,
  • Jack Viney
I/C
  • Angus Brayshaw,
  • Clayton Oliver,
  • Billy Stretch,
  • James Harmes

Could be worse. I mean, you have this...

B: Tom Gillies James Frawley Dean Terlich
HB: Jack Watts Tom McDonald Colin Garland
C: Jack Grimes Jack Viney Jack Trengove
HF: Sam Blease James Sellar Jeremy Howe
F: Colin Sylvia Mitch Clark Shannon Byrnes
FOL: Mark Jamar Aaron Davey Nathan Jones
I/C: Jimmy Toumpas Daniel Nicholson Matt Jones
SUB David Rodan

281419-tlsgallerylandscape.jpg

If the journos at the time didn't go with 'The gates of Hell' for this photo they missed a great opportunity.

Chin up lads. The team named below is close to identical to the one we'll put on the field on Sunday (only Gawn and AVB unavailable, and we could've picked Kent or [at a stretch] Brayshaw).

The same team beat Hawthorn last year, who were on a 9 game winning streak at the time.

B
  • Sam Frost,
  • Tom McDonald,
  • Neville Jetta
HB
  • Jayden Hunt,
  • Oscar McDonald,
  • Tomas Bugg
C
  • Christian Petracca,
  • Bernie Vince,
  • Dom Tyson
HF
  • Jeff Garlett,
  • Jack Watts,
  • Aaron Vandenberg
F
  • Sam Weideman,
  • Cameron Pedersen,
  • Dean Kent
FOL
  • Max Gawn,
  • Nathan Jones,
  • Jack Viney
I/C
  • Angus Brayshaw,
  • Clayton Oliver,
  • Billy Stretch,
  • James Harmes

hmm, so we missing brayshaw, AVB, Gawn and Fat Kent, and we get Hibberd, Milkshakes and Lewis and that new Casey guy - thats not so bad

Now we just need
Viney, Bernie, Tyson to return to form
Some kind of modern game plan

U

B
  • Sam Frost,
  • Tom McDonald,
  • Neville Jetta
HB
  • Jayden Hunt,
  • Oscar McDonald,
  • Tomas Bugg
C
  • Christian Petracca,
  • Bernie Vince,
  • Dom Tyson
HF
  • Jeff Garlett,
  • Jack Watts,
  • Aaron Vandenberg
F
  • Sam Weideman,
  • Cameron Pedersen,
  • Dean Kent
FOL
  • Max Gawn,
  • Nathan Jones,
  • Jack Viney
I/C
  • Angus Brayshaw,
  • Clayton Oliver,
  • Billy Stretch,
  • James Harmes
Yeah and Tyson and Viney played career best games while Watts was able to play as an actual forward to cover Hogan. If Pedo/Frost can step up in the ruck, Weideman pulls the finger out, and our midfield absolutely stars, we're a chance. Likelihood of this? Not high

Worst side we will have fielded in a few.

Yep but considering they beat us last year with a reserves side shows anything is possible. We have all been talking up our depth..... time to put it to the test :rainbow::thumbsu:

Could be worse. I mean, you have this...

B: Tom Gillies James Frawley Dean Terlich
HB: Jack Watts Tom McDonald Colin Garland
C: Jack Grimes Jack Viney Jack Trengove
HF: Sam Blease James Sellar Jeremy Howe
F: Colin Sylvia Mitch Clark Shannon Byrnes
FOL: Mark Jamar Aaron Davey Nathan Jones
I/C: Jimmy Toumpas Daniel Nicholson Matt Jones
SUB David Rodan

Are you exempt from your own cat?

We've kicked scores without Hogan before, and despite the obvious ruck losses, there's talent on every line. This is an Essendon side that lost to Carlton a few weeks ago, albeit in the wet, but I'd be disappointing we don't have a red hot crack, and I reckon the boys with put in a monster effort on Sunday. Dees by 15.

I'm like you mate I'm expecting us to go very close. I watched the Anzac day game and didn't find the bombers a scary proposition, especially given how shite the pies are. If our back line remains as leaky as recent, I expect Daniher and Fantasia to get on to a few. Hooker looked like a fair way off it. Walla is a great pressure forward but haven't seen him get overly dangerous offensively. Our press seems to work better at Etihad. Looking forward to the game

Watts sustained about 50% quality game time in the ruck against Geelong and Richmond. I expect similar from Pedersen - they can't ruck as long as proper ruckmen.

It's an absolute certainty that one of Weed or Omac will play. If Watts and Pedersen take all the ruck then it will be Weed. If TMac or Frost take some then it will be Omac.

That means 2 of the smalls come out - Salem, Tyson, Stretch, Bugg, Harmes.

I'd really like us to provide him some space to run and jump at it in our forward line, I reckon he'd have a bit more success than the congested mess we've had of late.
Clean conditions and probably a lightning fast game at Etihad would suit better than the congested mess against Richmond, so that's a plus.

Some of the shite the bloke spouted over on our board was monumentally stupid. Even tried to justify Jill Maher's murder alongside a proposed change to the side one week, if I recall correctly. I'm very glad that he's ventured into the wilderness.

Good luck on Sunday guys and girls! I write a big bastard Game Day thread every week and I definitely welcome you all to have a read when it's up about an hour before game time.

Looking forward to a ripper game!

One for AF: How is JKH's job security? I'd think coming straight into seniors from only the one VFL game indicates he's rated internally...

Thoughts would be appreciated. Cheers.
He's a gun, would be worth a first rounder on the trading table, but if carlton wanted him I would let him go for a 2nd round pick that's how nice I am.

Some of the shite the bloke spouted over on our board was monumentally stupid. Even tried to justify Jill Maher's murder alongside a proposed change to the side one week, if I recall correctly. I'm very glad that he's ventured into the wilderness.
Moved from the "be especially nice to this person because they're obviously in the head" to the ignore list fairly swiftly.

That Jill Maher stuff, wtf. Not surprised to hear it though, was one of those super-annoying "devil's advocate" types that don't bother thinking.

Moved from the "be especially nice to this person because they're obviously in the head" to the ignore list fairly swiftly.

That Jill Maher stuff, wtf. Not surprised to hear it though, was one of those super-annoying "devil's advocate" types that don't bother thinking.
Anyone who supports two teams is ****ed in the head.