Changes v Geelong

Not really, they only play the big Victorian clubs in Melbourne. West Coast, Sydney, us are at the cattery.
Kinda odd they played Richmond there though, would've thought that game would have attracted a decent crowd.

On that note, anyone else manage to get tickets yet?

I think the Cats will win this. However, if they don't then we will have really proven ourselves, because if we win, it won't be because the Cats played shit, it will be because we are a bloody good side.

I am going to be so bold to say that a Grand Final berth is on the cards this weekend if we win!

The way I have performed a ladder prediction for the end of R23, this game will shape 2012 season it is season defining. Losing this game and we basically hand the Hawks top spot and probably end up playing the Pies in W1 and then the Hawks in W3 - should we win in W2 which could be against the Cats!!!!!!

There is a lot of ifs and buts etc I know that and a lot of assumptions, but I am basing this on over 80% certainty averaging ~ 7.3 tips per week lol. Should we beat the Cats on Saturday, the Crows would end up playing a home final against Sydney in W1 and then a massive home prelim final in W2 against the Pies!

I dont need to be reminded about that there is so much that can happen but this season has been fairly predictable for a while, apart from the odd surprise here and there. Admittedly the only shock was when the Blues beat the Pies a couple of weeks back.

Food for thought.

Geelong has been one of the best teams in the history of the AFL and there's still life in the old dog yet. They have some exciting young players but it is their experienced players that are keeping them in the picture.

Is their record at Kardinia Park relevant to this season? Unbeaten at the Cattery this year, Richmond 10pts, Melbourne 43pts, GWS 65 pts, Power 38pts. We are the first top 8 / top 4 / top 2 team they have played down there.

Geelong's last win against a top 8 team before last Friday was hawthorn in round 2. Are Geelong back to their best or are Essendon unravelling. We will know on Saturday.

Geelong has been one of the best teams in the history of the AFL and there's still life in the old dog yet.

So lets put down that dog then lol on Saturday!

You made some good points about the Cats wins and who they played, although I thought the same with Hawthorn too until Saturday.

The difference though is that Hawks have been winning whereas the Cats have won some and lost some and have struggled in some of their wins.

The Power did push the Cats a few weeks back and it was only in the last 10 minutes that the Cats managed to kick away.

This game is massive and is mouth watering!

It is without doubt the match of the round.

Geelong has been one of the best teams in the history of the AFL and there's still life in the old dog yet. They have some exciting young players but it is their experienced players that are keeping them in the picture.

Is their record at Kardinia Park relevant to this season? Unbeaten at the Cattery this year, Richmond 10pts, Melbourne 43pts, GWS 65 pts, Power 38pts. We are the first top 8 / top 4 / top 2 team they have played down there.

Geelong's last win against a top 8 team before last Friday was hawthorn in round 2. Are Geelong back to their best or are Essendon unravelling. We will know on Saturday.

Most of us Cats supporters (reasonable ones, that is) wonder that too, now the initial excitement from last weeks game has subsided a little.

There was some over-excitement amongst us in the immediate aftermath, because we finally saw our guys play (this year) like they've done over the last 5 years. It was the way they won the game that caused the excitement, not so much the win itself. We finally saw a suggestion that the Cats are able to bring their old form back to the field.

However, the more reasonable of us have tempered our excitement with the concession that Essendon are struggling with injury and form. Hence, the above question is a valid one.

Our next 5 (?) games are all against sides in the top 8, and they're going to answer to this question very clearly, starting this week. I think you'll find most Cat fans are nervous about this game, as it could shatter an illusion or be the start of something good.

Your guys have been playing exceptional football this year, and are clearly in better form than us. They'll also benefit from the ground / team knowledge of Sando and Milburn.....

I for one am looking forward to a great game, and wish you guys all the best for the remainder of the season.

Most of us Cats supporters (reasonable ones, that is) wonder that too, now the initial excitement from last weeks game has subsided a little.

There was some over-excitement amongst us in the immediate aftermath, because we finally saw our guys play (this year) like they've done over the last 5 years. It was the way they won the game that caused the excitement, not so much the win itself. We finally saw a suggestion that the Cats are able to bring their old form back to the field.

However, the more reasonable of us have tempered our excitement with the concession that Essendon are struggling with injury and form. Hence, the above question is a valid one.

Our next 5 (?) games are all against sides in the top 8, and they're going to answer to this question very clearly, starting this week. I think you'll find most Cat fans are nervous about this game, as it could shatter an illusion or be the start of something good.

Your guys have been playing exceptional football this year, and are clearly in better form than us. They'll also benefit from the ground / team knowledge of Sando and Milburn.....

I for one am looking forward to a great game, and wish you guys all the best for the remainder of the season.

Back at you mate.:thumbsu:

Having had a look over at the Geelong board, they are approaching this game in a very circumspect manner. There is no chest thumping going on or outlandish statements being made. They are looking at this game as we are, potentially a ripper that will show both teams where they really are at.

I have to say the Cats supporters never came across as Moos or w***ers to me, which is the biggest compliment I could say for opposition supporters! Humble in their victories. Thank you for winning in 07, I couldnt bare to live in Adelaide had you guys lost.

Pies supporters jack me off as do a few other interstate teams (lol which I mean in this case the Victorian ones).

Our Club was too young to appreciate the flags, I wish the second one came later in all honesty. We would have had time to reflect and digest the magnitude of winning.

We should have won a flag in the mid 00's, that was a choke, but on reflection when your skipper has a ****** parvo virus, you know luck is not on your side!

to this day ranks as one of the most absurd reasons to miss a game!

Have we engaged the services of the Voodoo Queens from New Orleans?

It's spooky how much bad luck teams have before playing us this year. Hopefully the "contract" extends to the end of September.

u dont consider losing Tippett as bad luck?

Losing him is worse luck for u guys. lol

what ever happened to people getting carded for text speak?

honestly your posting is a disgrace.

Saying Tippett is a big loss is a disgrace you reckon?
U reckon that is worthy of being carded? hahaha
Whatevs
I didn't realise you were so insensitive.

Walker will be double teamed all day, and I doubt that Jenkins would dominate. Do we need a 3rd tall like Johnston or Lynch just to give us some more targets up foward. We seem to have to many smalls up there with Porps, Callinan, Pets, Wright, Stiffy, Vince etc. if we go in too small then they will throw Harry Taylor up foward and he could be a headache.

With Scarlett out, they have Gillies, Lonergan and Taylor as their defenders. Not sure how much faith Geelong would have in Gillies to cover Jenkins, but another tall wouldn't hurt to avoid Taylor being allowed to go forward. Lynch as sub I reckon to plug holes forward or back - can't see Johnston getting a game just at the moment. Pity McKernan won't be quite ready yet.

We have been playing Porps as a leading forward out of the forward pocket in recent weeks (with an occasional run on the ball). Our likely forward line will be

Petrenko Jenkins Vince / Douglas

Callinan Walker Porplyzia

Jacobs will spend some time forward when Jenkins is in the ruck.

Are we more potent with Lewis Johnson as a key forward? I suspect that we will run with the forward seven listed above and see how it goes whilst Kurt is "resting". Last week Petrenko, Callinan and Porplyzia did a great job reducing the impact of the spare man in defence (usually Beau Waters). I think Sando would like to see how this works against another quality opponent.

Perhaps its time we gave Johnston a run as CHF? We have no idea if or when Tippett will be back and its probably ideal we groom a replacement. A string of three or four games would give us a gauge of whether he's capable.

Changes v Geelong