Changes v GWS (post-bye)

there's an article on him in the Age today, I for one hope he is at another team next year, spending a no.4 pick on him stings, but cut our losses and take a downgraded pick at the trade table. he's a weak link in the chain, and despite improved intensity this year, I can't see this tiger changing his stripes no matter how hard he tries. I was sitting near the boundary on Monday and got a real close look at him at one stage, five years in the system and he's still a rake, he'll never play the tough team footy that Neeld wants, it just doesn't come naturally to him.

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/morton-is-yet-to-make-his-mark-20120612-2088y.html

What do you reckon would do the job? 2nd round pick? 3rd? I'd be more than happy for Geelong to look at him if he comes cheap. I still think he'll become a good quality AFL player.

I'm sure the dees would jump at a 2nd round pick. or I would anyway...

but seeing he still has a year left on the contract and the dees were asking for a late 1st round pick for Bate (ridiculous), I don't know whether they'd play hardball with Morton. meant to be a great draft though, I'm thinking if it's Neeld making the call then he's out the door.

don't get me wrong, he has the skill, but I reckon he would have made a better tennis player or something like that. I hear he's good at reading too.

The problem with Morton though TPM is when he shags his kicks or handballs it ends up costing us on the scoreboard, which was evident on Monday. Not to mention whenever the ball comes and you need clean hands, he usually fumbles it.

Could not agree more... when it is under pressure, then you can understand mistakes, but if you miss a simple target in the back half, for sure it will come back with interest!

Everyone is going on about his amazing improvement to intensity and hardness. Christ, he could run through the banner and that would be an improvement on his intensity and hardness. We can't continue to carry these types, otherwise Neeld will be on the scrap heap too!

don't get me wrong, he has the skill, but I reckon he would have made a better tennis player or something like that. I hear he's good at reading too.

Maybe he could try reading the play then. :thumbsu:

A lot of time to pass between now and then, but:

In - Martin (as the sub), Petterd (if fit, otherwise Bate?)
Out - Tapscott (obviously), Green

Martin as the sub otherwise we are too tall (can sub off Jamar or Sellar).

Geez do we need a small forward that's AFL standard...

Morton's main problem is that he's the easiest player to tackle in the AFL and he is still too slow. Tall, lanky, no core and no power to kick under duress. With his height he should be able to get over the tackle and release the handball but he can't. After 4 yrs in the sytem he should be way stronger than what he is - whether that is an indictment on him or the club I'm not sure.

I'll acknowledge that he's having a dip and he can be creative at times (like handballing between his opponents legs lol) and he is also 1 of our better players at getting into free space but unless he actually has that space he's in trouble.

I don't like getting stuck into players who actually have a dip (and he does) but he just doesn't have it I'm afraid.

Morton's main problem is that he's the easiest player to tackle in the AFL and he is still too slow. Tall, lanky, no core and no power to kick under duress. With his height he should be able to get over the tackle and release the handball but he can't. After 4 yrs in the sytem he should be way stronger than what he is - whether that is an indictment on him or the club I'm not sure.

I'll acknowledge that he's having a dip and he can be creative at times (like handballing between his opponents legs lol) and he is also 1 of our better players at getting into free space but unless he actually has that space he's in trouble.

I don't like getting stuck into players who actually have a dip (and he does) but he just doesn't have it I'm afraid.

See, I dunno. A tank can be built, to a point. Cale and preseason just doesn't happen. But he did some things that I damn like. Streaking through a bunch of Collingwood players early while all they could do is stare is one.

I'm more willing to blame the club than him right now. In particular though, I'm wanting to blame Bailey - he clearly destroyed his confidence over the last two years. He's gained some of that back with Neeld having faith, but it'll take time.

Streaking through a bunch of Collingwood players early while all they could do is stare is one.

I'm more willing to blame the club than him right now. In particular though, I'm wanting to blame Bailey - he clearly destroyed his confidence over the last two years. He's gained some of that back with Neeld having faith, but it'll take time.

Bailey definitely stuffed him around but the bolded bit is the story of his career. Have you noticed that he features more often when the opposition have a lapse. If you look at most of the critical phases against the Pies when they were up and we were rallying Morton just didn't cut it. Some times he's ok in the air when the pressure is on but at ground level or in general play he struggles IMO.

Not to say my observations are any more valid than yours though mate.

I actually think he has a good football brain, I've said it many times that I can see what he's trying to do as he is reading the play, he just isn't agile or quick enough to capitalis which is frustrating. Switched on but physically limited, he's the Stephen Hawking of AFL.

My dad describes him as 'quirky' and defends him ferociously.

Spoiler alert: my dad can be rather odd.

To be fair on Cale Morton maybe he is at the wrong club - he seems to be one of a number of lighter players at MFC who get easliy pushed off the ball etc. Maybe best for him and MFC if he went to a club like Geelong - plenty of hard bodies around him where his role and physique might be better suited.

A couple of posts referred to his height, it looks like he's grown much taller than we envisaged when we drafted him. He seems a bit too tall for the roles we have him playing (nowhere else he can play so that's nobody's fault). I'm not sure if that's actually true but it seems that way to me. Aside from that he just looks like the most under confident player I've seen in ages, if you don't have confidence you will struggle regardless of the apparent talent.

The problem for Cale is he spent the last two years playing without a role. He was turned from a promising attacking looking wingman to a below average all over player. This year he has been restored to the wing position and although he is still making some mistakes, his attacking ability is coming back and his confidence is growing. With more games under his belt I think his hands will get better and mistakes will decrease as he gets more used to the speed of play.

About time Morton shaved his head or something too, his haircuts have been nothing short of horrid. If we're playing shit footy, we should at least look good.

he needs to get some tattoos. they should add around 50lbs of toughness

But with all that extra weight from the ink, the poor bugger would struggle to move.

There isn't a problem Morton has that can't be fixed by a truckload of nasty horse steroids.

Get Daniel Kerr on the phone pronto

This is not the week to debut a kid or to experiment.

This week we MUST field our strongest team and we MUST win this game. A loss will be a disaster.

My changes

In - Aaron Davey

Out - Luke Tapscott (susp)

I have no problems bringing Davey back, dominated at Casey 2 weeks ago and we need him to find form now at the highest level. I would play him at the feet of Clark, as we have been crying out all season for a small crumbing forward.

Lineup

B - J.Rivers J.Frawley J.Sellar

HB - D.Nicholson T.McDonald S.Blease

C - C.Sylvia J.Grimes J..Watts

HF - J.Howe C.Garland J.Trengove

F - A.Davey M.Clark L.Dunn

R - M.Jamar N.Jones B.Moloney

I/C - C.Morton J.McKenzie J.Magner B,.Green (sub)

a few things id like to see

- our most attacking and creative players being used on the ball and given licence to attack - im talking mostly about Sylvia, Watts and Grimes

- Aaron Davey playing at the feet of Clark and Garland

- some real flair and attack from our backline through the speed of Nicho, Blease and Frawley

- Tom McDonald to play on Jon Patton

- and last but not least, James Magner to get the instruction to physically torment Tom $cully at every opportunity (i reckon Rivers will have $cully lined up too)

Sheedy wanted to "save" Patton for us so I say we should thank him by lining Patton up on one of the best defenders in the league in Frawley.

Let McDonald go to Cameron.
Sellar is a better match up, plus given the latitude to just drop him on hs arse if required.