Preview Changes V GWS

He was recruited as a midfielder .....playing down back was playing him out of position

No-one knows how he would go as a forward but IMO he has a good turn on him (not a straight line player) and could play forward
He played it for about a half against GWS. Yes it was only GWS but he just looked a natural at it.

It seems that the penny has finally dropped at the AFC, selection is now based on form, team comes first before individuals and a young player is no longer last in first out after a loss or one poor performance

Now all we need to do is get some players back in their natural positions

Our future is well and truly on display tomorrow

Lets hope it's a sign of a change of approach, and not just a one off.

And what a foolish strategy that is. What side plays their best 15 players?

Firstly, my point is that our team tomorrow is not far off the best available with 14 of our best 15 players available.

Secondly, I have always advocated playing our best fifteen players. I have never suggested dropping Rutten or Reilly. I don't however believe that there is a magical best 22 that should play every week.

We will probably arguue whether some players are part of our essential core but I doubt whether anyone would dispute the following players; Rutten, Smith, Talia, Jacobs, Sloane, van Berlo, Thompson, Dangerfield and Walker. I would also include Reilly, Brown, Crouch, Shaw and Douglas as definites if fit.

My issue has been the conservative selection of the final 7 players last year and earlier this year. I have never suggested banishing forever Johncock, Callinan, Porplyzia, Tambling and Vince. I have simply said that we can't afford to play all of these while Brown, Kerridge, Lyons and Lynch are cutting it up in the SANFL (as happened last year). Would we be significantly stronger (or weaker) tomorrow if we dropped Lyons, Kerridge and Laird and brought in Callinan, Johncock and Tambling,

And how many 200+ game players to support them? Most of our support act are in the 51-99 game bracket.

2.......... with a total 7 100+ gamers.
Most are actually the sub 50 game bracket (10) with only 5 in the 51 -99 bracket. Based on last week's team.

In 06 we had 3 200+ gamers with a total of 9 100+ gamers with 9 51-99 gamers. 18 players with 50+ games.

And how many 200+ game players to support them? Most of our support act are in the 51-99 game bracket.

The top figure is the average games played, the bottom figure is the median (middle number).

Screen Shot 2013-05-11 at 12.19.51 PM.png

Last week, here are the average age and average games played vs Hawthorn.

Screen Shot 2013-05-11 at 11.57.48 AM.png

Can't blame people for this with all the going off half cocked and firing off blindly that was going on prior.

Yes you can because people support for very different reasons and motivations. Just because you chose to believe and accept everything the club dishes up, isn't my fault.

I will question their existence and reasons for things they do.

If supporters have lost faith and trust in how they communicate with supporters, that's a good enough excuse to go off half cocked at any perceived poor decision. They need to win back the trust and faith that they are doing everything to be the best side they can, not just rack up games for senior players who have failed in the past.

This is exactly the problem. They will light it up against GWS and so the problem continues.

Last year Kerridge was given 40 m inutes against Hawthorn who were all over us. Guess what Kevin, he didn't dominate. Similar story for Lyons and Lynch.

The difference in output between Johncock (2012/13 Version) and Kerridge was/is buggerall but I know who will be playing better football in 2 years time. Hawthorn understand (Hill, Anderson), Geelong understand (Horlin Smith, Guthrie), Collingwood understand (Elliott,Fasolo, Witts). These are not first round draft picks but they are playing in front of premiership players. We seem to believe in the Ross Lyon School of Player Development.

I said at the start of last year that we can't afford to pump games into fading journeymen (Doughty - 24 games, Johncock - 19 games, Porplyzia - 22 games) instead of the KIDS (Brown - 3 games, Kerridge 40 mintes, Lyons - 150 minutes). Playing first round draft picks (Dangerfield, Crouch) is easy. Playing 3rd or 4th round picks, or Rookies takes a bit more courage.
So you don't think we had a good year last year? IMO, last year we did not have many passengers & we were playing well as a team. You don't drop experienced players for the heck of it, just to blood younger players. You pick your best team regardless of age.

This year the form of some experienced players has dropped off & we have dropped some rightly so (though you could argue a couple are lucky) for some younger players who now have got there deserved opportunity.

Play too many younger players at once & you end up like a Melbourne...

You don't drop experienced players for the heck of it, just to blood younger players. You pick your best team regardless of age.

Did we do that in the Finals?

How do we know what our best team is if we rarely drop fringe players and we don't bring dominant SANFL players into it?

We need to bring guys like Martin and Lyons in for extended runs to see if their output can exceed that of the incumbents.

Mackay shouldn't be dropped if he's playing 7/10 games every week - but he should be dropped if we think Martin could play an 8/10 game every week. But we rarely ever do that - we aren't ruthless.

He played it for about a half against GWS. Yes it was only GWS but he just looked a natural at it.
Yeah he looks a natural footballer who can play in multiple positions .......HB, CHB, HF, CHF, and midfield

Think people are seriously overlooking this lads talent & potential

IN: VB, Laird
OUT: Tambling, Jaensch

Emg: Callinan, Hendo and Jaensch
Ballsy not to bring Hendo in .......but sends a good message to team that team performance will be rewarded

Unless of course if you Jaensch :p

The top figure is the average games played, the bottom figure is the median (middle number).

View attachment 17885

Last week, here are the average age and average games played vs Hawthorn.

View attachment 17884
Still reckon all this ave age & game played is a crock of crap

Has no bearing .......19 YO with no talent v 19YO talent like Crouch

Age therefore inconsequential

So you don't think we had a good year last year? IMO, last year we did not have many passengers & we were playing well as a team. You don't drop experienced players for the heck of it, just to blood younger players. You pick your best team regardless of age.

This year the form of some experienced players has dropped off & we have dropped some rightly so (though you could argue a couple are lucky) for some younger players who now have got there deserved opportunity.

Play too many younger players at once & you end up like a Melbourne...

Correct ....no-one denying Melbourne is choc-blok full of talent

But talent undeveloped and without senior team mate mentoring leads to where Melb currently finds itself

On Melb radio today......the top 6 players in any club sets the culture for performance, and development

Have a bad top 6 and you have club culture problems .....who is Melbournes top 6 that define performance & culture???

The question isn't his talent and potential. Its whether his body can stand up to AFL footy.
Kane Johnston was worse with his hamstrings early years .......body matured and no hamstring problems at all in last 5 years, till he got to Richmond and was older

[quote="Jack is Back, post: 28174611, member: ]We will probably arguue whether some players are part of our essential core but I doubt whether anyone would dispute the following players; Rutten, Smith, Talia, Jacobs, Sloane, van Berlo, Thompson, Dangerfield and Walker. I would also include Reilly, Brown, Crouch, Shaw and Douglas as definites if fit.[/quote]
I am not convinced that Shaw belongs in this group. I love his run and pace, but his disposal is questionable to say the least. More importantly, Otten has done a great job in his absence. Shaw may not find a vacancy waiting for him if/when he ever gets the better of his soft tissue injuries.

[quote="Jack is Back, post: 28174611, member: ]We will probably arguue whether some players are part of our essential core but I doubt whether anyone would dispute the following players; Rutten, Smith, Talia, Jacobs, Sloane, van Berlo, Thompson, Dangerfield and Walker. I would also include Reilly, Brown, Crouch, Shaw and Douglas as definites if fit.
I am not convinced that Shaw belongs in this group. I love his run and pace, but his disposal is questionable to say the least. More importantly, Otten has done a great job in his absence. Shaw may not find a vacancy waiting for him if/when he ever gets the better of his soft tissue injuries.[/quote]

You're kidding of course ? ......you mark someone's disposal based on his first year in AFL, after what? ....11 games?

So then Dangerfield needs to be out of core group, because his disposal this year has been at 50% efficiency ....and Shaw had that well & truly covered

Need to stop assessing players on stats .......the eyes have and will continue to see talented players like Shaw

Lets have this conversation again in 2 years time when Shaw is dominating .....and happy to go on record .......hell why was the club wanting to rush him into the side ASAP?