Preview Changes V GWS

I wouldn't get too worked up just yet.

I'd bet my life savings on there being at least one late change. We just don't want to publicly "rest" players in the fear of showing disrespect to GWS.

My bet is Sloane will drop out due to a slight knock to the thigh or some other feeble reason.

Silly point. If we make Top 4 we are every chance to make the GF.

Last year we regenerated pretty well. This year more youngsters are getting a shot. They youngsters will never develop to their fullest in a side bereft of senior players.

The season is long and Geelong have done very well this year. Let's see if they maintain the intensity all year before we state what benchmarks are.

Disagree on the first point but otherwise fair enough

Callinan? I love him as a player but no thanks. Proved last year he only plays well against bottom 4 sides. Went missing in finals. Too slow, too small and doesn't offer much defensively for a small forward. He won't be a part of our next premiership side. May as well have a look at blokes like Lyons/Riley to see if they've got it.

Porps surely only has one more chance too.

So he'll help us win this weekend? ;)

The difference in output between Johncock (2012/13 Version) and Kerridge was/is buggerall but I know who will be playing better football in 2 years time. Hawthorn understand (Hill, Anderson), Geelong understand (Horlin Smith, Guthrie), Collingwood understand (Elliott,Fasolo, Witts). These are not first round draft picks but they are playing in front of premiership players. We seem to believe in the Ross Lyon School of Player Development.

Now you are talking crap.

Last year Sando assessed our senior players. We saw Talia, Shaw and Smith do very well. We saw Wright show his potential. Last year we started flying and burnt out somewhat.

This year we have had massive turmoil off season and a slow start. Notwithstanding, we have seen Jaensch, Kerridge, Brown, Crouch, Laird and Lyons given a crack. These guys will develop faster amongst senior players. We can't just drop every player that didn't win a premiership when you thought they should.

More than enough young players have got games to dismiss the Ross Lyon theory.

Smith was a first round pick.

Talia was a must due to Bock/Davis.

You are seriously losing it Kingy. So you agree Truck is one of the reasons why we haven't won a flag in a while?

Not at all, I love Truck. I disagree with him on Douglas as well, as I said in my post, and some of the others mentioned, but I agree with his intent.

Disagree on the first point but otherwise fair enough
WHA! ...you disagree "If we make Top 4 we are every chance to make the GF"?

ummm how many teams since there was a top 8 made the GF from the bottom 4? now compare that to how many from the top 4....you type before you think.

WHA! ...you disagree "If we make Top 4 we are every chance to make the GF"?

ummm how many teams since there was a top 8 made the GF from the bottom 4? now compare that to how many from the top 4....you type before you think.

My point is that I believe top 4 is our ceiling with our current core group of experienced players. As we saw last year when everything goes right and they are all in good nick, then top 4 is attainable. But it wasn't enough... Even when the planets aligned.

btw journeymen are players that never quite establish themselves at any one club and move around a fair bit.

Johncock, Rutten, Doughty have been loyal clubmen and deserve more respect than you are willing to pay.

I have complete respect for them as loyal, hard working and talented players. However the harsh reality is that they have been part of a core group that has not been good enough to win a flag, or to even play off for one.

The problem here is people can't separate individual achievement from team success.

So people are upset that last year Sando played the senior players more, when we won 17 games in the regular season and made a PF

But it was his first year in his new job FFS! What was he meant to do, change a winning team who had no injuries? Why the **** would he? He was winning, the team was playing awesome footy. He was showing himself, the club and the footy world that he could make it click. Be a good coach. So he did what he had to do

"Oh lets change it, just in case we fail this year, we'll get some extra games into the kids, so we're better off for 3 years time" :rolleyes:

Get ya hand off of it. Whatever anyone says, we went above expectations last year. No one knew the spike would be that big and we rode the wave of no injuries and in form senior players. Reilly made the AA squad! "But we shoulda dropped him, everyone knew we were never gonna win that PF!"

Now this year, our form is nowhere near what it was last year and the kids ARE playing to make up for that. Brown, Laird, Kerridge, Lyons, Lynch, Crouch. All getting games once the team showed the footy wasn't as strong

And now because not every kid gets a game every week, there's dummy spits. We need some experience in the team.

We're the 4th least experienced team this year on average i believe? But nope, play more kids!

And the full team hasn't even come out yet! Like the cries of why Laird was dropped last week. People whinged prematurely due to now having the full story. At least wait till final selection and then bitch. Even then a "General" or 2 may show up on gameday.....

And the full team hasn't even come out yet! Like the cries of why Laird was dropped last week. People whinged prematurely due to now having the full story. At least wait till final selection and then bitch. Even then a "General" or 2 may show up on gameday...
I don't reckon both Porps and Mackay would be named on the field if our favoured starting 18-Walker were all going to play, but that's just me.

Being named on the field guarantees nothing. I have copped 0's in dream team more times than I care to count because some dude was named on the field or that "the sub will come from the bench".... extended Sunday squads are the worst to predict because so much can happen between thursday night and Sunday arvo.

Dear lawd. Why did Carlton draft Jacobs and then trade him? Why did Essendon recruit Ted Richards and then trade him? Why did Carlton draft another midfielder over a quality backman in Talia? Why did Carlton not draft Jack Darling when they haven't had a decent key forward for years? I could go on all day.
Because they all f***ed up

http://www.adelaidenow.com.au/sport...seize-the-chance/story-e6frecoc-1226638931760

Hendo if fit a surety, with Sando's comments at the end. Hendo the new swingman.
VB and Hendo in
Tambling and Lyons out. Nothing really surprising. Lyons will get another chance.

Laird might miss as well with Nutta getting a go, even thou he got most of his possessions in junk time at the end of his last game, we need some experience around the goals.
Jaensch plays forward, got to give it time.
VB playing of a HBF and Mackay further up the ground for his chance to recapture some form.
Porps did some good things last weekend, just needs to hit the scoreboard.....figuratively.
Can't wait for the Talia Cameron 2nd duel. DT took the points last time.
Was interesting to watch AFL Insiders and what they had to say on the Crows and how we aren't moving it fast enough or using the angles back through the middle. Hope we can get back to some more attacking style this weekend. This won't be a walkover by any means, need the points and the %.

What I don't understand is they clearly thought Porps was sufficiently poor to drop. He then has no SANFL game before being called straight back for yet another ordinary performance. Now he is retained in the 18? My question is what's changed since the original omission.

We all love Porps and all know his gifts. But seriously when was the last time he really featured in a match? He has been average for a very long time.

What has changed is that we lost Tex.

He is our only forward at the moment. We need to play him as we have a distinct lack of actual forwards.

If Lyons gets dropped he won't play footy for a fortnight (state game then a Glenelg bye) which means it'll be at least a month before he comes close to another go in the Crows side.

Lyons was solid in limited time last week, we have several under performing players and we're playing the worst team in the league. Would be crazy to drop him.

I'm interested to see where Jaensch plays this week. He was good up forward against Carlton not so against the hawks. But I know Sando is keen to have good users coming of half back.
I know where I'd rather him, hopefully Smith has taken his spot back there.

I like Kingys idea. Get rid of all the fringe players. Only play guns. Cant believe Sando isn't all over this one.
Who are those players who haven't got the job done for years?

We should keep picking them.

They way I see it, they're due for a good performance!

Hey, the week off worked for Porplyzia! :p
I guess that is why posters getting frustrated .
Porps real talent but done nothing anywhere yet and assume as lost Tex they are hoping can be a extra goal kicker , but does not seem to want to lead like used to anymore and days of taking pack marks are gone.
Callinan again real talent but end of 2012 and this year just not able to compete for ball but guess hoping he can crumb some goals as last week everyone tried to mark in goal square .
But long time since did with any conviction and SANFL form not startling.
So dont really understand why these two force there way in front of anyone in the 25 especially Lyons who at young age has just ripped the SANFL and told in one match they had him tagged and racked up 36 touches.
But more important he has real skills apart from great ball getting ability and this seems a ideal game to let him loose in midfield and give Danger more time to assist Lynch and Jenkins kick a decent score .
Also hope give Jaensch another go up forward. Lairds last half against Carlton was massive with everyone clapping him every time attacked ball or player.
Some good news is though Petrenko not named and guess we are waiting for the McKernan magic to appear.

But it was his first year in his new job FFS! What was he meant to do, change a winning team who had no injuries? Why the **** would he? He was winning, the team was playing awesome footy. He was showing himself, the club and the footy world that he could make it click. Be a good coach. So he did what he had to do

My biggest issue last year was the selection of Callinan and Petrenko for the prelim - it was an emotional decision and it cost us big time. Outside of that, you can't fault his first year; unfortunately, those golden ticket selections seem to have carried into this season.

The biggest point I'd like to make in response to your post, and it's what I've been saying for a while - just because we are winning, doesn't mean the team cannot be improved. Sydney are the Premiers, they landed the biggest trade of the year, strengthened their team immensely, but in doing so, will force someone out of the their side; but it'll be worth it.

We beat crap teams like Brisbane and the Bulldogs and plenty of people are happy with the 4 points and don't bother considering whether we could improve the team anyway.

We're reluctant to even bring somebody who is already on our list and dominating the SANFL into the team - yet the best team in the land is constantly trying to improve.

Mackay (who I am a fan of) is the obvious example - we know what we're going to get from him, at the moment, it's between mediocre and good; but we know what we'll get. We have Brodie Martin outside of the time, in consistently good form in the SANFL, who is never given an extended run to earn his place in the side. In this case, the only question that matters is whether Martin would match or exceed Mackay's output - if the answer is anything other than a definitive no, then we should be given him the chance to prove himself.