Prediction Changes v GWS

• Thread starter Thread starter avishka5

Can't wait for the selection table where big names will be out

Outs: F Mcinness (played pretty well but clearly one of the reasons we lost)
K Mutimer (need more from a second yr mid, needs to be leading the others in hardness stakes)
T Barass (clearly needs to go because well because didn't do enough to stop his opponent from getting silver service)

Ins: D Petrie (kicked the winning point so clearly offers twice as much as Mcinness)
J Hill (usually the man dropped when midfield gives nothing but since he wasn't in the team needs to have his name in the selection sheet)
E Mac (clearly we lost because of our defence and he needs to come in till our midfield next gets whalloped)

HM: if our match committee wants to really put the fear of god in the squad:

Out: L Duggan
In: M Hutchings
we are all free to have opinions. I thought Duggan was one of the very few that competed physically.
While we are on it, Sheed to my mind is slow and not a great kick he is another Redden and a very poor mans Priddis
If Petrie is in trouble with the WAFL MRP he is a must to come in. Somebody has to have a physical go and not wilt like a flower in the sun

What you've described is 100% the fault of the midfield & forwards and the basis of the game plan. When they struggle to put opposition under pressure the whole defensive systems fails.

Nah mate people find that difficult to understand, especially eagles fans. Attackers kick goals, defenders stop goals and midfielders deal with ball between arcs.

we are all free to have opinions. I thought Duggan was one of the very few that competed physically.
While we are on it, Sheed to my mind is slow and not a great kick he is another Redden and a very poor mans Priddis
If Petrie is in trouble with the WAFL MRP he is a must to come in. Somebody has to have a physical go and not wilt like a flower in the sun
Not big on Sarcasm?

Noticed last few weeks JK has been resting on the bench for parts of each quarter. For the past 3 or more seasons he has basically played 100% game time and was never included in rotations. When he is benched the forward line loses structure. Injury concern?
Was disappointed Mitchell never stood up more yesterday, all that experience and knowledge and looked rushed with ball in hand.
Priddis has been really, really been poor this year, does need to be dropped.
Ins-
Jetta
Partington
Lamb
Petrie

Outs
Priddis
Lecras
Darling
redden

Lecras has had enough opportunities and Darling needs to go back and learn to play thr game at 100%.
Just a personal opinion. I think all this attack on Darling is BS. If he had kicked straight he could have got 5 or 6 goals yesterday although even this wouldn't have sated the wolves. There are lots of worse players than him in this team, I can't understand why he is the whipping boy. Cripps ran around like a headless chook and couldn't get near the ball, Mutimer is not at the standard yet, Redden is hopeless - can't get the ball and turns it over on the rare occasion that he does, Lecras and Masten run around and do what?, I could easily go through two thirds of the team. As for replacing him with Lamb give us a break, you have to be joking. Get off his back, he is easily in the best 10 players in the team.

Why are all the Facebook flogs calling for Duggan to be dropped? Did I watch a different game to everyone else? I thought he was solid.
I thought Duggan was pretty awful, 14 possessions and he can't break free. I agree that he is a goer but he hasn't got the power yet.

Dont really want Petrie in the side but I think thats the way the MC will go.

Jetta has been playing relatively well in the two's last couple of weeks. Would rather see what he has got then the steaming shit that is being served up currently.

What changes would you make?
Young blood. Don't care if they offer less TBH, like you said, that performance was rank.
Jetta has blown chance after chance and been dropped more times than a cricket ball. I just personally can't stand that they are even considering him after the shit he has served up since coming from COLA. Hell, Hutchy would offer heart and intent at least.
The Giants will have their tails up and I want youth and enthusiasm.

Simpson has talked about bringing him back for a block of games, when he's ready.
iu

I think Sheed is a good kick, another Redden - you've got to be taking the piss, a poor man's Priddis - absolutely not. Sheed is one of the few rays of hope for this team. Sheed can get the ball and he can deliver it, there aren't too many players you could say that about in the current team.

I went to a few pre-season training sessions and eMac was a stand out on the track. He was strong, clean with hands and pivotal in the drills I witnessed.

So the reason was valid - he delivered on the track and was good in the scratch matches. I was really disappointed with his immediate drop off in the GWS JLT match.
Keys - you saw more than me but would you agree on the strong summer eMac had?

Agree that Mackenzie had a strong preseason although I wasn't convinced he'd done enough in the JLT games to displace Barrass as the No.2 KPD behind gov

Like I said at the time I feel there was something not quite right with Barrass that we weren't seeing behind closed doors behind his non- selection without really knowing what that was. Just a gut feel

Whatever it was I'm not convinced he's resolved it as he's not been at his best at times this year

Mackenzie and to a lesser extent Schofield have been in good WAFL form and I suspect there'll be discussions around making a change at MC level

Essendon are a strong side grown on just the right stuff.

Yep. And they got banned for it

We cant keep playing a plodding centre square setup with a plodding set of wingers.

Redden to be dropped for good along with Masten, Gaff to move to the centre square and learn to get his hands dirty, Shep to be released to the wing and dare I say it Jetta given one more chance until Watson gets his chance.

Hurn should not be captain. He has no personality. That aside I agree. Move him around. Our biggest problem is not using players effectively. The backline setup should revolve around Hurn getting a lot of the ball free of his man to deliver up ground. You won't find too many games where he has had over 15 or 16 kicks and we have lost. Also he is a big body. Getting him in the middle or at least running through the middle from the back at bounce downs should be a priority.

Also we can't play Pridda, Redden and Mitchell in the same team. Drop Redden. He should be perm depth until Priddis retires. All of Reddens minutes in the guts should go to Sheed.
Sheed is Priddis MkII, but will never be as good . We are in trouble. Must rebuild now. Such a shame we couldn't capitalise on the best forward in the game . But that happens to all clubs. We were once a leader of innovation, Sadly, we are a mediocre club. Hope we can change things around pretty quickly.

We cant keep playing a plodding centre square setup with a plodding set of wingers.

Redden to be dropped for good along with Masten, Gaff to move to the centre square and learn to get his hands dirty, Shep to be released to the wing and dare I say it Jetta given one more chance before Watson returns.
Duggan into the middle before Gaff, think he has quicker hands that would snare us some clearances.

Gaff is a wingman, I don't get why you'd play him on ball.

I'm a fan of Nelson and I would've liked to have seen him come in too, but is he really "more required" than Cripps?

Cripps has established himself over the past three or four seasons as best 22, and we missed his forward pressure and ability to hit the scoreboard, so if he's fit he comes straight back in.

Nelson has only established himself as best 22 in the first five weeks of this season and Butler hasn't been terrible in his spot, so if you don't want to risk two players coming back from injury in the same game then it's pretty clear why Cripps gets in and Nelson comes back through the WAFL.

I agree with most of what you said fivey. Agree that Butler hasn't been terrible but he is not exactly young nor is he quick. FWIW I like Butler in the backline, he provides the cool head we need sometimes down back. However, I think we needed (sort of horses for courses approach) somebody who could keep up with Essendon's quicker small forwards and that is why I said Nelson (arguably one of our best against Hawks) is more required than Cripps. Tippungwuti, Fantasia and Green kicked 8 goals against Geelong and they end up kicking 7 against us yesterday.
If they didn't want to risk two players coming back from why would they name a third one (Petrie) as the other emergency? Both Vardy and McInnes were alright against WB so (unless there was an injury concern to either of them) there was no real need to include Petrie in the squad as an emergency.

Sheed has penetrating kicks over 45.

Sheed is strong through the hips.

Whilst he isn't as good as Priddis now, give him Matts spot.

Almost guarantee he'll be better than Priddis in 2 seasons

Bit of bullshit creeping in here I feel, need to regain that focus lads. Embarrassing stuff

I swear if heads dont roll, Im probably gonna neck myself.

Im having nightmares, as all I can imagine is a pathetic 'axing' like this:

Out: Mcinnes, Redden
In: Petrie, Hutchings

When really our changes should be:

Out: Redden, Lecras, Butler, Priddis
In: Hutchings, Jetta/Karpany, Nelson, Partington

This. Plus if we had someone to replace Cripps I would drop him too. I reckon he is almost washed up.

Duggan into the middle before Gaff, think he has quicker hands that would snare us some clearances.

Gaff is a wingman, I don't get why you'd play him on ball.

Gaff may be fantasy elite but if he is unable to win his own ball and one on one contests he will never be an elite midfielder and never be able to stand tall when we need him in finals.

Was probably our best player in the Grand Final.

He didn't get a chance to redeem himself which was poor from MC Rd 1 can be a bit rusty for some players even senior players in away games ..

On iPad using BigFooty.com mobile app
Got his pants pulled down preseason too.

He's done. Just doesn't have the strength to go with the big forwards now and no longer has the mobility for the quicker wiry types.

It's sad, he was absolutely elite and deserved an AA.