Prediction Changes v GWS

• Thread starter Thread starter avishka5

Partington can't come in, he's just not ready yet. Even though he does get big numbers in the WAFL, quite a lot of his possessions just aren't damaging enough for it to translate at AFL level.

Gday simmo.

Just want to ask how you expect a kid coming in to realise he needs to be damaging with his disposal to get a game when he goes home and watches the likes of Masten, priddis redden and wellingham butcher the ball and not have damaging possessions yet still get a game week in week out?

Over it, play the kids already.

Parto for redden
Karpany for masten
Nelson for butler
Lamb for McInnes
Hill for lecras
Hutchings for priddis

Yep and simmo for someone who has a game day idea.

Lamb would do well to have strong leadership, I'd be worried he'd give up with the rest of the team, especially when the senior players are.

Is it me or has Mitchell's disposal become poor as well?
He also seems to be getting g caught htb more. Have we brought him down to our level?

What do you mean by "rebuilding"?
our midfield isn't up to standard in terms of pace, skill and aggression.

As a result under pressure our backs and forwards get crucified.

Unless we rebuild the midfield - new better people not the same olds with more games we will never be there when it really counts.

The problems stems from recruiting small slow mids who are not combative. e.g. masten

We have tinkering to do back and forward but the concentration must be on the weakest link.

Out
mcinnis - just not a good enough ruck against mummy
wellingham - 0 ****ing tackles ! you did **** all again and soft to boot
Redden - too slow , doesn't find the ball and poor disposal when he gets it .
Darling - 1 goal 5 - send a msg that no one is safe . if their going to double team JK he needs to stand up .

In
Giles - to combat mummy and give our shit midfield a chance

nelson - comes in for wellingham - nelly gives a shit wellingham doesn't

Partington - 32 touches and 6 tackles in wafl , plays hff/mid in Mutimer's role . Muts to play on ball

lamb - comes in for darling and we play 3 prong tall forwards , Jk lamb and vardy

Out:redden, butler, mutimer vardy
In Hutchings, Nelson Schofield giles

Schoey comes in as giants have 3 great talls

Mummy will destroy Vardy and even tho Giles suck, he will be a better option on mummy.
Most of these changes are a bit like shuffling deck chairs on the Titanic. About time we tried one or two of our young players at this level to see what they can offer.

Gday simmo.

Just want to ask how you expect a kid coming in to realise he needs to be damaging with his disposal to get a game when he goes home and watches the likes of Masten, priddis redden and wellingham butcher the ball and not have damaging possessions yet still get a game week in week out?

I'm going off Keys WAFL reports, and he's usually right with this sort of stuff. If you want further clarification ask him.

our midfield isn't up to standard in terms of pace, skill and aggression.

As a result under pressure our backs and forwards get crucified.

Unless we rebuild the midfield - new better people not the same olds with more games we will never be there when it really counts.

The problems stems from recruiting small slow mids who are not combative. e.g. masten

We have tinkering to do back and forward but the concentration must be on the weakest link.

Fair enough, thanks for clarifying.

I don't think a complete rebuild of the midfield is necessary, which will probably leave us in the gutter for 5+ years, but some big changes wouldn't hurt.

So play a kid who'll have as much impact at the elite level as Mutimer has? We're contending, not rebuilding.

If it is what I think it means then it's ridiculous. We aren't rebuilding, and we shouldn't with half a season still to go.
Well i would argue we aren't truly contending with this midfield, we may win enough home games to make finals but we all know we aren't winning a final in Melbourne this year.
You reward form and drop under performing players regardless of age.
Priddis hasn't had a good game all year....

Not stressed over Mitchell. It's only the fact both he and Priddis are playing which is cause for concern.

Getting caught a couple of times looked like he was just a bit casual and drinking his own bathwater a bit, not having as much time as he thought.

No big deal IMO, still playing his role.

I feel like the fundamental things we are lacking is pace, skill and intensity. This is leading to our pressure problems. Barrass looked oddly slow and weak today. A bit of heart is needed.

Out:
Redden - insipid all year tbh and has never been good in a wce jumper. He's slow, can't kick and is weak around the ball these days.
Cripps - was silly bad today and added no pressure, he can come back through the WAFL.
Mcinnes - he's competed okay but he is a bit of a limited player and Petrie has heart and leadership we lack.
Butler - he's been okay but nelson has been real good this year and has the pace and intensity we are lacking

In:
Partington - best performing WAFL Mid.
Hill - He's the best crumber we got and provides a spark sometimes we need.
Petrie - if he's fit he's our best option
Nelson - Speed, heart and intensity he has everything we lack.

Could happily bring in Lamb for lecras but it won't happen. Mackenzie and Schofield not far from deserving a shot.

Hard to see Priddis fall off the cliff this year. Very similar to Cox and Glass when they looked cooked early on in their final years. At least Glass had the decency to head off before the year ended.

Partington might not be ready but he's shown he can find the ball. If he can provide some defensive effort (other than tackling the opposition in a scrum), then he'd be up on this year's version of Priddis.

If we bring Partington in, then EP could start playing Venables as a mid. I also don't see Hutchings given up during a game like we did in the 2nd today. Jetta should be miles off coming back in.

In: Partington, Hutchings, Hill, Petrie, Nelson
Out: Priddis (farewell sweet prince), Redden, Le Cras, McInnes (wasn't that bad today and seems surprisingly nimble unlike Lycett), Wellingham (douche)

What I would like to see

Priddis out for Hutchings - Much of the same here, but **** at least Hutchings can sort of kick the dam thing. Mostly just want this because it would be the ultimate message from the coaches that you will be rewarded for good WAFL form, and you will be punished for poor AFL form

Cripps out for Hill - Cripps is easily best 22, but he wasn't ready and it was a shit selection from the get go. Cripps is a better performer than Mutimer in general and will eventually take his spot but I think I'd like to see Mutimer have one more game. As much as people hate them around here, Hill and Lecras are our best "small forwards" (they're not really smalls) and I think we need them both in the team

Barrass out for Emac - Emac was once upon a time one of the best stopping defenders, if not the best. Barrass is slightly better on the intercept but relies heavily on our midfield putting pressure on. I recall Emac's last game being putrid but he has been performing ok in the WAFL and Barrass has been getting beaten 1 on 1. Did good on the intercept against Port though.

I'd sort of like Nelson in as well but maybe not this week. Redden will be the more likely out than Priddis mind you.

Out - Redden, Mutimer, Priddis, Butler ("rest")
In - Partington, Hill, Hutchings, Nelson

Cripps shouldn't have came in for Hill, that was an error. Should have been in the WAFL this week. As it is, he will be better next week, and Hill can't be excluded after the ease Essendon rebounded, and Mutimer's weakness is probably his defensive efforts so he gets squeezed, but I won't complain if he isn't dropped. Also needs some work with his set shots, and encouraged to have shots, he always looks like he wants to give it off when he is 45 out.

I don't want Emac in the side, but at the same time it seems like he is putting weekly effort in at WAFL level, and Barrass had a bit of a shocker so that is a potential change, not that I nessasarily agree. Ditto Petrie for McInnes.

I just want lecras out. And Venables adds speed.
I see your point, but Venables has been flakey even at WAFL despite glimpses of his obvious class, and is building up fitness after a LTI. Karpany would be ahead of him for the Half Forward role.

The last thing we want is Venables to be picked, and then totally exposed as not ready, and have his confidence killed.

It's easy to throw grenades at our forwards and even some of our backs but it still comes back to our midfield and it has been this way for 10 years.
We got smashed in the midfield and it was embarrassing, sometimes you have to go one on one when you are getting smashed and we don't even do that.
If we had of won the midfield I reckon Cripps and a Lecras would of had better games, if we had of won the midfield our backs would not of looked so average and loose.
Our midfield are down hill skiers, they look ok when it goes their way but when it doesn't we get today's result.
The lack of intent by our coaching staff to throw a Hurn or Wellingham in their boggles the mind, the fact that Mitchell is so often not in their for the centre bounce.

So drop the forwards and backs but it won't solve anything, the midfield is the issue and it has been the issue since 2009.

There will be 2 changes mcinness out for petrie and mutimer out for hutchings. Might get hill back in for duggan too

It's easy to throw grenades at our forwards and even some of our backs but it still comes back to our midfield and it has been this way for 10 years.
We got smashed in the midfield and it was embarrassing, sometimes you have to go one on one when you are getting smashed and we don't even do that.
If we had of won the midfield I reckon Cripps and a Lecras would of had better games, if we had of won the midfield our backs would not of looked so average and loose.
Our midfield are down hill skiers, they look ok when it goes their way but when it doesn't we get today's result.
The lack of intent by our coaching staff to throw a Hurn or Wellingham in their boggles the mind, the fact that Mitchell is so often not in their for the centre bounce.

So drop the forwards and backs but it won't solve anything, the midfield is the issue and it has been the issue since 2009.

Exactly. No one runs both ways and they give up when its too hard. They all get to come home and live like kings in the boys club

It absolutely pains me to say this but why are we all wasting our time discussing changes?? We all know what is going to happen! The same vanilla bull crap will get rolled out by the match committee!

But my 2 cents are ...
FFS Priddis needs to go as of round one this season!! He has fallen away in a big way and is an absolute liability!!
Redden WTF?? My two dogs would show more intent chasing the footy. It's absolutely frustrating as f**k watching get gifted game after game
Darling needs a swift kick up the arse and I'd be quite happy to volunteer!!
LeCras is shitting me right up the wall
I could go on all freaking night!!

I would desperately love to see Tom Lamb get a gig too but I can't see anyone in our match committee going out on a limb FFS!!