Preview Changes V Hawks

I think you missed the obvious sarcasm in my post

I was just joining in on making baseless claims on a player just because he wasn't/isn't selected.
:) sorry i missed that .....apologies

Can I ask what you think of Dangerfields form this year?

Some have indicated injury affected .....to me the composure he started to exhibit last season has deserted him. He has been very rushed, lacked composure, as indicated by his awful disposal efficiency

Has he looked as solid with his overhead marking ? .....that seemed to be a strength of his, not so sure ATM?

But we've seen what Danger is capable of at full flight. We have also seen Mackay and and Reilly's peak

Danger's form is down, but at any moment he could win us a game. I don't think the other 2 are capable of that

it applies for Sauce too. If he was a lesser player, he'd have been banished to the magoos already. But we know how good he can be at his best

Yep Jacobs worse is still better than Grahams best unfortunately .....a couple of weeks in the SANFL would IMO rejuvenate Jacobs, just take the pressure off him abit

Some have indicated injury affected .....to me the composure he started to exhibit last season has deserted him. He has been very rushed, lacked composure, as indicated by his awful disposal efficiency

Has he looked as solid with his overhead marking ? .....that seemed to be a strength of his, not so sure ATM?

Agree 100%. He looks a shell of the player he was last year. Not sure how injuries can stop him from hitting a team mate 20 metres away. Even if he is injured - his form is still not there.

But we've seen what Danger is capable of at full flight. We have also seen Mackay and and Reilly's peak

Danger's form is down, but at any moment he could win us a game. I don't think the other 2 are capable of that

it applies for Sauce too. If he was a lesser player, he'd have been banished to the magoos already. But we know how good he can be at his best

Think you are fair on Mackay - completely unreasonable on Reilly.

Last year he was widely regarded as a very good player making the All Australian Squad - thats a pretty high peak (top 40 players in the AFL). His form has not been up to the level it was in 2012 - but it isn't as far off as many have suggested.

One of many factors in why we need to smash this mob (see title). I was there, the tears are still wet................ :(

Makes me sick seeing that. Deliberate one sided crap particularly from that muppet Nicholls. Poetic justice that Hawthorn lost the next week despite another huge ride from the umps!

He didn't play that well against Carlton. Happy to admit that.

We all know his limitations. He is not a lead up forward. I honestly believe that we are worried about how we are going to kick a winning score, therefore dropping Pets for Porps makes sense since Porplyzia has the ability to play as a leading forward.

I also think you misunderstand the purpose of a 'defensive' forward and what Pets' role was. His job wasn't to 'tag' Walker and if you rewatch the game you will see Walker manning up on Otten for a lot of the game. Petrenko's job as a defensive forward was to sit at Tippo's / Walkers feet and apply defensive pressure. His job was to block for them when they were making leads, lock it in if it goes to ground and be a pest. If he can kick a goal a game and get a goal assist a game and apply pressure inside 50 (like he was doing last year) he keeps his spot.
Well nice try and great spin regarding Petrenkos role but do you really believe that yourself .
A defensive role sitting at bottom of pack . Well he doesnt get the crumbs or any loose ball gets .
So why is he valuable at bottom of packs . Then if a defensive forward doesnt have to defend then what does he do . Just funny though all the key forwards that are club main scorers have to defend so how come someone that has a few tackles virtually no possessions with no kicking or marking skills and no real scoring potential doesnt have to .
I understand posters like his gung-ho attitude but simply he is not of AFL player standards .
Know Sando likes him but has not played decent game well back in last season and on Sat. some of stuff he did was absolutely terrible and was being ridiculed at game by both Carlton and Crows supporters.
But we are saved as we have Smack back to dominate in ruck and show Sam how done and take marks around ground and kick some goals . Because he is in form in SANFL.
Give us a break as played 1 half decent game and Panthers were happy to get rid of the big sook.
How easily we get seduced by needs and forget. Short memories my sons.

In a nutshell. Football isn't just about what you do with the ball - what you do when your opponent has the ball and what you do when nobody has the ball are equally important. Unfortunately most supporters never notice because their eyes follow the ball.

In fairness, it is due to the poor crap and pathetic coverage of the AFL by the TV stations.

When you are at a game, you notice who is running who is manning up and who is getting into positions.

C7 and Foxtel insist on showing close ups and you never know what happens next because player A kicks it across the ground to Player B who only comes into focus when the ball comes in their direction.

Going to the game is a much more visual experience than watching it in HD on the TV.

Smack and Jaensch are going to tear up the forward 50 I can't wait! :D

I expect at least 8 between them its going to be exciting stuff. A good chance to catch the hawks napping and get our season on track.
You heard Brian Lake's going to play with with one arm tied behind his back after a night out on the piss tonight??? :p

He didn't play that well against Carlton. Happy to admit that.
Didnt play well against Essendon, thats 2 from 5 he has stunk. Played average footy in the other 3 games.

We all know his limitations. He is not a lead up forward. I honestly believe that we are worried about how we are going to kick a winning score, therefore dropping Pets for Porps makes sense since Porplyzia has the ability to play as a leading forward.
We've kicked 100 points once in 5 games. We have struggled to kick a decent score 4 out of 5 games. Some of us have said we cant afford to carry a forward with known limitations.

I also think you misunderstand the purpose of a 'defensive' forward and what Pets' role was. His job wasn't to 'tag' Walker and if you rewatch the game you will see Walker manning up on Otten for a lot of the game. Petrenko's job as a defensive forward was to sit at Tippo's / Walkers feet and apply defensive pressure. His job was to block for them when they were making leads, lock it in if it goes to ground and be a pest. If he can kick a goal a game and get a goal assist a game and apply pressure inside 50 (like he was doing last year) he keeps his spot.
Pets was on Walker early, perhaps he was moved when he couldnt hold him. He was also on Goodes the week before.
So your perception of Petrenko was to make blocks for the leading forward, I have never seen him do that.
He hasnt locked it in our forward 50 when it went to ground, well except for the rare occassion.
And you know who else can sit at the big forwards feet, apply defensive pressure? Small crumbing forwards who kick goals.
**** it must be great to be Petrenko, a goal a game and an assist a game with some pressure is a pass.
Petrenko last year was hot and cold, great start, shit middle, good finish and shit finals series.

When you were defending Petrenkos role in the team this week, did you believe kicking goals this week was an issue? I'd imagine yes and you still thought he should be picked.

It must also be great being you, like Petrenko you cant lose, even when you are wrong you are right.

Fantastic to see Lyons getting a game, fully deserved.
I hope he gets a good run in the guts & shows our experienced guys how to get a clearance or two.
I feel he will slip straight into the team like Laird and be right at home.
With Tex & Pets out, Porps had to come in, lets hope he can get his hands on it & dob a few goals.
McKernan, well we have been there & seen it all before, not liking this at all.
I do hope LJ gets a game eventually, at least we will know what he has or not at AFL level. I get the impression that he couldn't be well liked at the club as he seems the logical replacement for Tex.
I agree with Pets out, I can't understand having a forward whose job it is to be second to the ball all the time ??

Even below last year's form, Dangerfield is still giving us more than the majority of the other 21 players are each week. No question he stays in the side, injury permitting, on what we've seen so far.
I agree that an unfit Danger is better than a fit 'insert regular Joe', however are we robbing Peter to pay Paul? If we keep playing him, does it just maintain the status quo (injury wise)? Would we be better off resting him for 1-3 weeks (obviously a guess as it's all purely speculation as to what if any injury he has) to get him closer to 100%??

A 100% fit Danger is better than an unfit Danger which is better than a fit regular Joe.

Watched Petrenko very closely last week. Master of not working hard enough to get into proper position, then putting in a hard chase that has no effect on anything because he was too far away to start with, but makes everyone say "ooohhhh doesn't Petrenko try hard". If he put in more work prior to the contest, he would have more effect on it and would use less energy in the process.

Maybe its because he doesnt have positional sense rather than not working hard? He works harder and goes harder at the footy more than most on our list

The pattern you established with the other players is fairly obvious. Those who were dropped and redeemed themselves at SANFL level were given a second chance. Those who still failed haven't been seen since. Fair enough.

What has Porps done to earn his recall this week? As you state (and I agree), he was poor in R3 and no better when playing as sub in R4. He was subsequently dropped for R5 - but due to the quirk of ANZAC Day scheduling he didn't go back to the SANFL. He hasn't done anything to redeem himself - so why has he been rushed back into the team this week?
Because Walker did his knee?

Can I ask what you think of Dangerfields form this year?
Will be interesting to see what happens when the taggers shift from Dangerfield to Douglas as they obviously will

Preview Changes V Hawks