Changes v Hawks

Out - Complacency
In - 100% commitment for 100 minutes

Player look off both physically and psychologically. understandable given what they have put in for the last two years. Two short preseasons taking a toll.

When in doubt look to the kids for enthusiasm. Need to shake the team up.

Charlie and/or Kai could be rested. Zorko forward. Beecken deserves a chance (though I worry about his one on one defence), Marshall as sub. I would like to see Gallop get a run but maybe not this week. Oscar and Berry get an extra week.
One or two of these youngish guys playing in the VFL could add a bit of enthusiasm and intensity > Luke Beecken, Ty Gallop, Sam Marshall, Will McLachlan, Shadeau Brain, Dev Robertson, James Tunstill, Bruce Reville.

Thing about bringing in Doedee is: why was he rested last week?

Cant say this with certainly, but impression I got was he was a bit cooked after his BOG game the week before and didn't want to fly him to Vic. Not ideal as the VFL had a bye, but he's the type of guy you don't take chances with. Will be back this week and will be quite refreshed.

Out - Complacency
In - 100% commitment for 100 minutes

Not sure 100% is in the seconds.

Player look off both physically and psychologically. understandable given what they have put in for the last two years. Two short preseasons taking a toll.

When in doubt look to the kids for enthusiasm. Need to shake the team up.

Charlie and/or Kai could be rested. Zorko forward. Beecken deserves a chance (though I worry about his one on one defence), Marshall as sub. I would like to see Gallop get a run but maybe not this week. Oscar and Berry get an extra week.
I get your point but would prefer 100% commitment for 120 minutes or more

Ins - Berry, Omac
Outs - Charlie, Fort

Full Backs - Payne, Answorth, Andrews
Backs - Kiddy, Wilmot, Lester
Centre - Will A, Bailey, Berry
Followers - Omac, Dunks, Neale
Half F - Rayner, Morris, Zorko
FF - Hippy, Ah Chee, Kai
Int. - Gardiner, Levi A, Fletcher, Bags
Sub - McKenna

Don't think we can play Zorko and Kiddy in the backline. Don't think Zorko is as defensively minded as Fletcher and Kiddy. Would rather have the latter two for handling the ball out of the 50.

Charlie needs some time in the twos. He looks gassed when he gets the ball, burns teammates. Give him some time in the twos, put Zorko at high half forward to distribute the ball up front.

Still think Gallop would be a better choice than Gardiner, but with a four-goal haul, that won't be happening this week.

Keep McKenna as the sub, as he can play forward and back. If a midfielder goes down, you move Fletcher up, put McKenna in the backline.

If Will can't get up, put Marshall in.

Out: Answerth, Lohmann, Fort and Payne
In: Berry, McInerney, Robertson and Doedee

We can afford to go a little smaller in defence against Hawthorn if and despite the glazing that goes on in terms of Payne, both he and Andrews are out of form. Lester is our most committed and effective of the taller defenders this year.
You must have missed the easy front on tackle Lester missed (about 11 minutes in 2nd Q) on a smaller opponent that resulted in that opponent (Chandler) kicking a goal.
Also a number of Dees entries started down Fritsch side of the ground in that 4th Q where Lester was involved. I I understand that Fritsch was fresh and Ryan was arguably tired in that 4th Q. It is impossible for players to play 120 minutes of AFL footy and win/even every contest and not make some errors. FWIW I thought Ryan was reasonably good.

Payne did not miss a 1 v 1 against Perry or Johnson, and apart from that short kick to Darcy, and the very good goal from Melksham from the pocket in the 3rd Q, I thought Payne was OK. He has received coaches votes regularly this year so cant see how he is out of form on any objective assessment.

Fort was playing against arguably the best ruckman in a generation, and tried valiantly, yes I would have liked him to take a couple of those contested marks in the 4th Q, but he did his best and IF Big O is in any doubt than Fort being a premiership player is a good backup, until we see how Smith develops

Lohmann IMO is playing injured, so would rather see him rested (more than a week) so he is right later on.

Noah has been very solid all year and yesterday when Pickett was forward had that matchup. It wasn't Noah's best game but he like Lester, Payne, Noah, Fort etc etc is a premiership player.

No doubt we still don't have our structure set and there will be changes over the next month to six weeks, and from then we need to develop some consistency.

I went to Tassie to watch us and also attended the training run on the Saturday. It was cold and some of our boys obviously resented being there. The Training was half arsed with some players not even removing tracksuit tops and leggings just skylarking. Neale and Mcluggage didn't even train. Just signed Autographs. I said to my mate if you play as you train we are losing. It's in the history books .
Yesterday's effort was ok until we ran out of legs in the last. I think they would have felt that Tassie trip but yesterday most of all it was evident we need a Key Forward target. Our forward entries lacked direction.Numerous unsure or hack kicks forward resulting in turnovers and opposition rebounded goals. I think its Ty time. He's young and green but will provide a target and defensive vigour. Play one ruck with Hippy to provide back up. Hawthorn only play the one. Tough to drop DG but his lack of pace will be a liability this week.

Dev into the side imo would be good the guy runs all day he definitely tackles better than alot of first choice players his disposal by foot can be suspect but the previous 2 games so have many first choice players.
Getting the balance right at selection we can steal this I do have faith but the fact is we cannot play like have been.

I asked last week has anybody seen Starc in contact drills.
We miss this guy more than it seems.
Berry Dev and O if fit are my ins.
As for the outs I haven't the slightest idea Fagan always gives chances to his troops I respect him for this hence why I always have no idea.....pretty much the story of my life 🙃

I went to Tassie to watch us and also attended the training run on the Saturday. It was cold and some of our boys obviously resented being there. The Training was half arsed with some players not even removing tracksuit tops and leggings just skylarking. Neale and Mcluggage didn't even train. Just signed Autographs. I said to my mate if you play as you train we are losing. It's in the history books .
That's a pretty damning indictment on the group as it wasn't even cold on the Saturday.

I missed the training run unfortunately as I was catching up with friends and family. Appreciate the insight.

Yesterday's effort was ok until we ran out of legs in the last. I think they would have felt that Tassie trip but yesterday most of all it was evident we need a Key Forward target. Our forward entries lacked direction.Numerous unsure or hack kicks forward resulting in turnovers and opposition rebounded goals. I think its Ty time. He's young and green but will provide a target and defensive vigour. Play one ruck with Hippy to provide back up. Hawthorn only play the one. Tough to drop DG but his lack of pace will be a liability this week.
Ty would get slaughtered if we continue to bring the ball in like we have the last 2 games. At this stage I dont think the forwartd line is the issue...... Our midfiled need to click back into gear.

Unless you drop Kiddy or Zorko i don't see a place for Beecken in defense that some posters have mentioned
Maybe play him wing in the VFL to see how he goes. We know he can play an attacking halfback role in the VFL

Fagan had a good opportunity to sub Cameron off at 3/4 time even though he was just marginally better than Ah-Chee and Lohman. Charlie needs something material to state he needs to up his game, not just encouragement and a talking to.
I know it was indigenous round but that would have hurt more.
Either way Fagan should have made a change at 3/4 time something all coaches rarely do for some reason or another.
He had quite a few to choose from to sub off but decided to just give McKenna 15 minutes game time.

Of the three, Lohmann should go back to the VFL to get fitness and confidence. I doubt that happens though.
Who could come in. McKenna likely with McLachlan maybe, but he has struggled when given the chances even though he did kick 2 goals, one from a free in an 8-disposal full game v Eagles. His other 3 games were all as sub.

Answerth gets a pass from me as he had a down game. He has been fine up till this game and at least puts in an effort.
I don't see Doedee being a lockdown type defender so that leaves Brain.

In the past Fagan backs his players to respond, so it will be interesting to see if he does just that and limits changes.

You must have missed the easy front on tackle Lester missed (about 11 minutes in 2nd Q) on a smaller opponent that resulted in that opponent (Chandler) kicking a goal.
Also a number of Dees entries started down Fritsch side of the ground in that 4th Q where Lester was involved. I I understand that Fritsch was fresh and Ryan was arguably tired in that 4th Q. It is impossible for players to play 120 minutes of AFL footy and win/even every contest and not make some errors. FWIW I thought Ryan was reasonably good.

Payne did not miss a 1 v 1 against Perry or Johnson, and apart from that short kick to Darcy, and the very good goal from Melksham from the pocket in the 3rd Q, I thought Payne was OK. He has received coaches votes regularly this year so cant see how he is out of form on any objective assessment.

Fort was playing against arguably the best ruckman in a generation, and tried valiantly, yes I would have liked him to take a couple of those contested marks in the 4th Q, but he did his best and IF Big O is in any doubt than Fort being a premiership player is a good backup, until we see how Smith develops

Lohmann IMO is playing injured, so would rather see him rested (more than a week) so he is right later on.

Noah has been very solid all year and yesterday when Pickett was forward had that matchup. It wasn't Noah's best game but he like Lester, Payne, Noah, Fort etc etc is a premiership player.

No doubt we still don't have our structure set and there will be changes over the next month to six weeks, and from then we need to develop some consistency.
I didn’t miss that tackle - I actually highlighted it in the review thread to illustrate how little support there was for Lester, who had run off his man to pressure Chandler. Here it is again. The thing about these stills is not that Chandler slipped the tackle, but that Will Ashcroft just watched and made no attempt to lay a secondary tackle. For the record, Lester had a team high 5 tackles and a disposal efficiency rate of 93%. If only he had a few more mates.

Payne cost us two goals from poor attempts to transition out of 50, he gets lost too frequently and he plays too wide of his opponent. Both he and Andrews need to tighten up and be far more locked on and accountable.

Here’s the pics again, in case you missed them. I can bet they bob up in team review chats and the conversation won’t be about Lester. IMG_3835.png IMG_3836.png IMG_3837.png IMG_3838.png

I didn’t miss that tackle - I actually highlighted it in the review thread to illustrate how little support there was for Lester, who had run off his man to pressure Chandler. Here it is again. The thing about these stills is not that Chandler slipped the tackle, but that Will Ashcroft just watched and made no attempt to lay a secondary tackle. For the record, Lester had a team high 5 tackles and a disposal efficiency rate of 93%. If only he had a few more mates.

Payne cost us two goals from poor attempts to transition out of 50, he gets lost too frequently and he plays too wide of his opponent. Both he and Andrews need to tighten up and be far more locked on and accountable.

Here’s the pics again, in case you missed them. I can bet they bob up in team review chats and the conversation won’t be about Lester. View attachment 2319224View attachment 2319225View attachment 2319226View attachment 2319227
Froggy should have stuck that tackle...no excuse. Had he held him in the tackle and turnover in our favour would have been the result.

That said, Will was terrible with his defensive work rate last night. So frustrating to watch him job back into defence while watching Dunkley and Neale busting their gut getting down there to help. Put that down to in-experience and hope it will improve as both Ashcrofts gain experience.

Froggy should have stuck that tackle...no excuse. Had he held him in the tackle and turnover in our favour would have been the result.

That said, Will was terrible with his defensive work rate last night. So frustrating to watch him job back into defence while watching Dunkley and Neale busting their gut getting down there to help. Put that down to in-experience and hope it will improve as both Ashcrofts gain experience.
Froggy almost had him didn't he. Sometimes the guy with the ball is just a bit too strong if your hold on him isn't vice like.

Will and Levi both have high footy IQ's and commitment and if the coaches give them a frank assessment I'm sure the message will hit home.

Fort or Oscar plays but only one of them.

I would try Gardiner as ruck relief. Gardiner certainly won't be dropped after kicking 4.0 in a losing team.
Would prefer Dunkley but that may be one reason why he left the Dogs.

Doedee missing that last VFL game 2 weeks ago has him back playing VFL again i recon. No hurry for him.

So, just one change for me being possibly Oscar.
Quite a few could be omitted, but Fagan may stick to that side for 1 more week.

The question is would any of the below VFL guys be any better than our worse players v Demons.
Those being Cameron, Answerth, Rayner, Hipwood, Andrews, Ah-Chee, Lohmann and the sub McKenna.

VFL: Doedee, Beecken, ZZ, Robertson, Gallop, Reville, Tunstill, Brain, McLachlan, Marshall, Craven, Lloyd and Torrent
These guys coming in for injury would be fine, but the 8 AFL players are not injured.

I would try Gardiner as ruck relief. Gardiner certainly won't be dropped after kicking 4.0 in a losing team.
Would prefer Dunkley but that may be one reason why he left the Dogs.
Dizzy was only in one ruck contest against Melbourne, but he did win the hitout. Maybe it's worth a try.

The question is would any of the below VFL guys be any better than our worse players v Demons.
Those being Cameron, Answerth, Rayner, Hipwood, Andrews, Ah-Chee, Lohmann and the sub McKenna.

VFL: Doedee, Beecken, ZZ, Robertson, Gallop, Reville, Tunstill, Brain, McLachlan, Marshall, Craven, Lloyd and Torrent
These guys coming in for injury would be fine, but the 8 AFL players are not injured.
Depends what version of the first eight we get. If it's the Answerth from the weekend, I'd pick Beecken over him. If it's the Answerth from last year's finals series then I'd pick Answerth.

Would be a little harsh to be dropping Answerth off 1 under par performance.
He has been one of our best and most consistent this year.
We were pretty shit last year until we bit the bullet and brought him in half way through the year, we were so much more rock solid after that.
Problem is, this year he is missing his partner in Starce who will hopefully be back soon but there is going to be a squeeze and whether he survives the squeeze is another question.

Would be a little harsh to be dropping Answerth off 1 under par performance.
He has been one of our best and most consistent this year.
We were pretty shit last year until we bit the bullet and brought him in half way through the year, we were so much more rock solid after that.
Problem is, this year he is missing his partner in Starce who will hopefully be back soon but there is going to be a squeeze and whether he survives the squeeze is another question.
Noah coughed it up inexplicably a few times yesterday and it really cost us. Just brain fades compared to his prior form.

He's been fantastic overall ever since he cemented his spot and you've got to let him have a mare or two , he's a good honest trier who's well worth his spot and makes relatively few mistakes generally. Plus his opponent never gets an easy ride.

I dunno whether I've got it wrong or not but I love what I've seen of Beecken and he's earnt an opportunity at the higher level .It's going to be hard to fit them all in when Starce is fit again.

Dizzy was only in one ruck contest against Melbourne, but he did win the hitout. Maybe it's worth a try.

I think Dev Robertson really is worth a shot.

I reckon Fages will stick with Hippy, Morris and Gardiner as the 3 talls. Especially after Dizzy kicked 4. I'd like to see Gardiner in the ruck as the chop out. Hippy can have a go close to goal, like Hawkins did. He's not a centre bounce ruck at all.

The small fwds are off. Charlie, Ah Chee, in a slump. Lohmann looked badly out of sorts. I reckon Fages will let them find form.

If Kiddy can take on more of the hb work, I'd like to see Zorks spend a bit more time fwd, his defensive pressure was always good there. We could use it. Answerth has enough runs on the board to be forgiven his last start. The back 7 of Andrews, Payne, Lester, Answerth, Wilmot, Coleman and Zorko unchanged. Unless there's injuries they don't change. Some maybe out of form. Last year Fages stuck with out of form players and was rewarded. He will do the same again. If you add Starce and Doedee to that 7 our best defense will come from them.

I hope Berry is good to go. He and Fletcher have to be our wingers. They both run hard to get back and support the defense, often the last line of defense. Bailey is getting better at that too, when he spends time on the wing. I've noticed him back in support much more. Our 3 best wingers at the moment. If we have a tight back 7, the defensive work of our wingers just makes it stronger. Their work in the middle and up the ground is also very good.

Big O if good, Fort otherwise. Availability the only determinant. And the midfield has to tackle, hunt the ball, and run both ways. There was a lot of fumbling, tapping the ball on hoping someone would be there, a lot of messy skills. The Ashcroft boys have to ease up on the wrap around handball, unless there's some benefit other than padding stats. They could also run harder defensively too. A bit more effort getting to a tackle wouldn't hurt either. That goes for everyone I'd reckon.

We played some really good football in the first half v Melbourne. It was fast, exciting and potent. More of that domination please, but they gotta work for it. It starts with focus and intensity. We probably have near to our best team on the field, a few like Starce, Doedee, Day, will push for inclusion. Get some form into those that need it and some hardness back in our game and our fortunes will improve greatly.

Having said that, I don't think we will beat Hawthorne. A bogey side for sure, with a game style we struggle against. While we're still finding individual form and a team wide hardness it maybe beyond us.

I think Dev Robertson really is worth a shot.
I want to say yes considering our midfield attitude atm but I don't see anyone getting dropped or replaced there. So we'll roll with the same bunch but Fagan will expect them to play with a team first attitude and running equally hard both ways.

GPS would be a great data point to review. Anyone going from a 100% burst one way to a 20% trundle the other way will learn from that type of analysis. It's not something players think about in game in my view but putting a focus on it more would help players address their blind spots.

I want to say yes considering our midfield attitude atm but I don't see anyone getting dropped or replaced there. So we'll roll with the same bunch but Fagan will expect them to play with a team first attitude and running equally hard both ways.

GPS would be a great data point to review. Anyone going from a 100% burst one way to a 20% trundle the other way will learn from that type of analysis. It's not something players think about in game in my view but putting a focus on it more would help players address their blind spots.
"So we'll roll with the same bunch"....No.......Berry in. Big O in.
The best and quickest way to teach these young men how to improve their craft is to play them. We have ALL witnessed & celebrated the success of our coach doing just that so why would he change if not forced? I have no doubt that their lack of defensive running has been highlighted and hopefully addressed. They are very young lads so it takes time & experience which they won't get playing against the quality of the VFL. (no dis-respect to those playing there) Learning to be the best you can doesn't happen at the flick of a switch and now (round 10) is still not too late for our teacher to improve those that need it before the important times come in August/September.

Choc said in his presser that he's not sure if Oscar will play this week, but they'll see how he goes this week.

I have to admit, my biggest concern this week is Lloyd Meek.
Oscar got dominated by Meek in the game against the Hawks last year and with him not in great form and with injury concerns and Fort not exactly in great form either, the last thing our midfield needs is another game chasing tail after silver service by another pretty good ruck.