Changes v Hawks

murphy might not get many kicks but at least he's reliable in front of goal - always have confidence in him 50m out - his goals/behinds ratio must be really high.. ever since he started playing

He's one of our best defenders though.

Mcpharlin has to be first choice for Franklin surely, Tarrant would be more suited to Roughead imo, and Hayden to start on Williams. Rioli will be an interesting match up, works very hard(covers alot of ground) and has that obvious pace, might not be inconcievable to run Hill with him.

I reckon Dodd will get the job on Williams..seems a much better matchup to me.

Ibbo has been given some big roles this year and may get Rioli.

Just curios, is it just that you think Taz is suited to Roughead that you wouldn't put him on Buddy?

I would've thought Taz is the ideal match up for Buddy. Other than Dodd, he'd be the only one with the mobility to go with Buddy, but Dodd would get killed one on one - Taz wouldn't. McPharlane could do the job too, but I reckon they'll play him forward again to stretch the Hawks defense.

We might see the pre-season set up Friday night with Tarrant at fullback and Grover full forward.

Agree with others that we need McPharlin down back this week.

Broughton was close to BOG for Subi so DeBoer, Thornton, Murphy and Pratt will have to play well this week or he'll take their spot.

Unchanged, or Thornton out for Broughton. He was too hesitant last night for my liking, though he plays 100% better on Subiaco, so it's a tough call.

Murphy did enough, his attack on the ball was very strong despite what some are suggesting. Kicked a couple of important goals also.

Just curios, is it just that you think Taz is suited to Roughead that you wouldn't put him on Buddy?

I reckon Taz is best suited to the Gorilla forwards, and with Roughead coming off a quiet one I think we need all the muscle we can get.

McPharlin or Dodd to Buddy for me. Elvis has the tank to run with him all game and Dodd has enough capacity for niggle to (hopefully) throw him off his game.

Out - Pratt (not up to AFL standard)

In - Broughton

Mate, not everyone has debut games like Palmer. Give him a few games to find his feet. The gold coast probably isn't the best place to debut, I'd like to see how he goes in front of a full house home crowd on friday night. Although, Broughton did play a great game for subi yesterday, so if anyone was to be next in line, it would be him.

This could be the first time this year that we have someone in the WAFL who deserves to play (Broughton) but can't be squeezed into the team.

Good signs. A lot better than having to promote guys who don't deserve it because we have no other option

Though personally I would still bring in Broughton for Thornton. Scotty's been playing ok but he's still a bit of a liability whenever it comes to winning a one on one contest.

In - Broughton

Geez that's harsh. yeah he ferked up in the goal square and handed Yarran a goal, but he did some good, hard, courageous stuff also. I liked his game.

This could be the first time this year that we have someone in the WAFL who deserves to play (Broughton) but can't be squeezed into the team.

Good signs. A lot better than having to promote guys who don't deserve it because we have no other option

Though personally I would still bring in Broughton for Thornton. Scotty's been playing ok but he's still a bit of a liability whenever it comes to winning a one on one contest.

That's exactly what I was going to say esti. Finally, we have guys coming back from injury and playing well in the WAFL, putting pressure on the guys in the 22. Over the coming weeks as Des and Balla come back in, this will get even tighter and players will have to bust their arses to stay in the team. That's what we've been waiting for all year.

As for the Thornton / Murphy debate. I have not been a fan of either player over the past couple of seasons... as you would all be well aware... but Thornton has been okay these past few weeks - it would be hard to pick him as one to drop. And Murphy - well if he goes out and gets 10 possessions and kicks 2 goals as he has been doing... well is he doing his job? A season where Murphy kicks 40-odd goals would be considered a good one for him, would it not?

I dunno - I'd say no changes. Let Broughton put in another blinder for Subi, then start picking the players' games apart to see who could go out for him for the game against NM at the Dome the following week. Really, with Foster going down yesterday (:thumbsd:), Broughton is really the only one really pushing for the call up at the moment. Not sure that Son-son or Clancee are quite ready yet.

I agree with you IP re Murphy and Thornton. Thornton has done enough to stay in I think, and useless though Murphy is he probably has a chnace to actually do something against a weakened Hawthorn backline.

Bateman and Hodge out for this one. We could not dream of a better opportunity to beat the reigning premiers.

Roughhead is the form player at the moment and I think looks more dangerous than Buddy (despite the 5).

Agree that McPharlin down back is the move. If Taz and McPharlin can keep them to 6 goals between them we will win.

I think bringing in Broughton would be a good move, it would be at the expense of Pratt, but he will get his chance again (I liked Pratt's game - he certainly did enough to convince me of his potential). Is Des definately coming back through the WAFL? If he is fit and good to go I would bring him straight back in, even as a forward.

If Broughton was BOG for Subi, personally i'd swap Pratt for Broughton.

We need bigger bodies against Hawthorn.

Pratt would crap himself dropping in front of Roughead and Franklin. Broughton not so much.

Tarrant --> Franklin
Grover --> Roughead

Solomon dropping into the space.

McPharlin to start forward.

If Grover getting pantsed, swap McPharlin and Grover's position. Grover could easily outmuscle the Hawks backline and kick a few.

Bateman and Hodge out for this one. We could not dream of a better opportunity to beat the reigning premiers.

Roughhead is the form player at the moment and I think looks more dangerous than Buddy (despite the 5).

Agree that McPharlin down back is the move. If Taz and McPharlin can keep them to 6 goals between them we will win.

I think bringing in Broughton would be a good move, it would be at the expense of Pratt, but he will get his chance again (I liked Pratt's game - he certainly did enough to convince me of his potential). Is Des definately coming back through the WAFL? If he is fit and good to go I would bring him straight back in, even as a forward.

There's no chance Des would be AFL fit. He has been out for almost a season and a half. You remember the couple of games he played at the end of last year when coming back from injury? I think he got about 6 possessions in each game and looked hopelessly out of touch. Dessie should earn his spot. Might be just the the thing to help him develop a bit of hunger and enthusiasm to show what he can do.

If Broughton was BOG for Subi, personally i'd swap Pratt for Broughton.

We need bigger bodies against Hawthorn.

Pratt would crap himself dropping in front of Roughead and Franklin. Broughton not so much.

Tarrant --> Franklin
Grover --> Roughead

Solomon dropping into the space.

McPharlin to start forward.

If Grover getting pantsed, swap McPharlin and Grover's position. Grover could easily outmuscle the Hawks backline and kick a few.

Agree, except Grover's goal kicking hasn't been his strong point. Maybe he could easily outmuscle the Hawks back line and dish off a few??

There is no way I want to see Headland back in the team until he's getting 30 touches in the WAFL and running out games. The chemistry the team is building is based on the hard work put in a bunch of first and second year players. They should be kept together and rewarded as they obviously want to play and to win (yeah f*k you Josh Carr, who's winning now, good riddance).
I would be really pissed if DeBoer or Hinkley for example was dropped to make way for Des. Hinkley improves with each outing and DeBoers attitude and attack on the footy is exemplary.

Broughton for Pratt makes sense. I agree that Pratt looked a little of the pace although you can't question his endeavour.

Personally I don't believe in dropping debutants after only one game. It's only fair they get another chance to see what they can do once the nerves of that first game are out of the way. So Pratt would be safe for another week if it was up to me.

Plus I didn't think he was too bad. I was pretty impressed with the way he didn't drop his head after giving up that goal and he certainly showed he has the toughness to compete in the AFL - the composure might come with a bit more experience.

In - Broughton

I was at the game and Pratt worked his a*** off all night. He could have been tackled and coughed up the free at that passage of play, but managed to keep his arms free. The intercept was unfortunate, but it was as much the fault of the other defenders in not getting back to present a good target.

All the dockers players went up to him in support after the goal. He is clearly a popular team man and I think he will be a gun in time. Most of his decisions were really good, considering the increased tempo from WAFL.

Would you drop Pav for dropping that mark in the goal square? Sure that passage of play was below standard but you know he could easily turn it on and win the game off his boot.

I would love either or both Broughton and Clarke to come in but i dont think anyone has performed poorly enough to warrant being dropped, and even though Pratt/De Boer haven't set the world on fire, i think it is good for them to get a few games in a row