Changes V Melbourne

• Thread starter Thread starter PowerKidd

That's the word and the reason for his subbing.
Interesting that it was not even mentioned in the injury update article. Just like Matt White and Polecs injuries, swept under the carpet for a while.

I still think westy is best at FF. that's the position he broke into the side in way back now in 2007 i think. He has never really found a spot since then and has been a all sorts player. It's very much like the Grew to me, he was always a forward imo and ended up being lost playing down back I hope this does not happen to Westhoff.

I live in Alice and am reluctant to want to go watch this weeks game live from what i have heard of the last 2 games effort. Will decide closer to the weekend me thinks.

Go mate...this could be the game that turns the season around. Our best footy is scary good!

Surprised nobody has mentioned Ryder to Centre Half Back? Seem to remember him playing quite well there for Essendon at stages. Lobbe plays predominantly in the ruck and our forward line takes a similar shape to what it did last year. Need a circuit breaker and this maybe it.

That'd be my choice.

Put the acid on Lobbe to ruck by himself a la 2014 and have Ryder at key back.

IMO

Jonas Carlile Impey
Broadbent Hombsch Pittard
Hartlett Boak Ebert
Wingard Westhoff Monfries
Neade Schulz Ryder
Lobbe Wines Gray

Krak Mitchell Amon

Ah Chee

So that's

Out: Trengove Gray White Cornes
In: Broadbent Mitchell Ah Chee Neade

Moore seriously stiff but he's effectively still paying for that suspension with the draw the way it is.
Clurey also stiff, would have probably considered playing him if he wasn't being thrown around in the 2's
Gray surprised me a little with his forward pressure (I didn't have high hopes) but Neade brings more presence.
If White isn't addressed at some point is week I will spit chips.

Can't see us dropping 5 players nor would I. It's our tactics that are farked. We need Sydney's team to win the way we are playing.
Until we come up with a plan to counter this style of play all opposition teams now know how to beat us with; or play a team that isn't good enough to implement said play I can't see changing personnel will make much difference.
This is not meaning to be a negative post, but I went to my first game live on Sunday and it seemed obvious to me. Our players do not seem to know what to do anymore.

IMO

Jonas Carlile Impey
Broadbent Hombsch Pittard
Hartlett Boak Ebert
Wingard Westhoff Monfries
Neade Schulz Ryder
Lobbe Wines Gray

Krak Mitchell Amon

Ah Chee

So that's

Out: Trengove Gray White Cornes
In: Broadbent Mitchell Ah Chee Neade

Moore seriously stiff but he's effectively still paying for that suspension with the draw the way it is.
Clurey also stiff, would have probably considered playing him if he wasn't being thrown around in the 2's
Gray surprised me a little with his forward pressure (I didn't have high hopes) but Neade brings more presence.
If White isn't addressed at some point is week I will spit chips.
Lol Mitchell, let's bring in the guy with the worse skills in our team. That'll show em.

I still think westy is best at FF. that's the position he broke into the side in way back now in 2007 i think. He has never really found a spot since then and has been a all sorts player. It's very much like the Grew to me, he was always a forward imo and ended up being lost playing down back I hope this does not happen to Westhoff.
Was going to say this. Westhoff was the only player who was marking the ball on Sunday. Yet he spent so little time in the forward line

We are making his role way too complicated

Can't see us dropping 5 players nor would I. It's our tactics that are farked. We need Sydney's team to win the way we are playing.
Until we come up with a plan to counter this style of play all opposition teams now know how to beat us with; or play a team that isn't good enough to implement said play I can't see changing personnel will make much difference.
This is not meaning to be a negative post, but I went to my first game live on Sunday and it seemed obvious to me. Our players do not seem to know what to do anymore.

Yup. Players look really lost running off half back and around stoppages. No sync.
No amount of effort or skill will help if the gameplan isn't working or is confusing.

We need to make changes, but not wholesale changes.

What the changes should be:
In: Moore, Stewart, Ah Chee, Clurey, Broadbent (Potentially Neade)
Out: Cornes, Trengrove, White, Jonas, Sam Gray (Potentially Impey)

Westhoff: Our smartest player, in a form slump but WILL bounce back. Needs a more structured role, either CHF or CHB (not float around and do what you like)
Hammer: Shockingly out of form, potentially the best kick in the team. Will lose even more confidence if dropped to SANFL. He WILL bounce back.
White: Only reason we have him is for pace because his skills aren't top notch. He has lost pace and therefore needs to be dropped until pace returns. (Amon can replace and use his pace)
Arch: Hasn't had a real opportunity to show us what he can do. I think he can be moulded into a Cornes like player.
Pittard: Star
Jonas: Not sure what has happened to him, it is a pity but he has been playing Small lately and he is just too slow to do that and skills are horrendous.
Brogsy: Extremely composed, particularly under pressure and can read the game well. Shouldn't have been dropped.
S Gray: Lord of the rings called and want their hobbit back. Not AFL standard unfortunately. Ken what were you thinking.
Clurey: Straight swap for Jacko.
Stewart: Must be rewarded for form.
Lobbe and Ryder: Lobbe is out of form, and can't mark. Lobbe 70% ruck 30% bench. Ryder 30% ruck 70% deep target forward with Monfires and Wingard at his HEELS not flying around for the mark.
Impey: Has given a decent effort since being back, love his efforts on chasing players for the tackle, but could be dropped for Neade who would fill the void of forward crumbers we DESPERATELY NEADE, as well as putting on forward line defensive pressure which again we NEADE.
Krakour: SUB - fitness not their but again extremely composed and can be explosive towards end of the game.

Thoughts?

Interesting that it was not even mentioned in the injury update article. Just like Matt White and Polecs injuries, swept under the carpet for a while.

wouldn't be surprised if Krak is just fatigued and sore after his AFL comeback, he may well be rested this weekend.

the club did say shortly before he was upgraded that he wasn't AFL match fit and then played the next game!

not sure of the rationale for bringing Broadbent back into the side given there was a bye last weekend, unless he just needed a rest?

if he didn't need a rest and was omitted because of form, doesn't make sense to bring him back because he hasn't played a game.

Mitchell runs a lot, but he doesn't give our midfield more run.
That's it .. He runs a lot. How many times does he look up and passes direct a player who is by himself and calling for the ball. Not many. He passes to players who are covered by 2 or 3 players. Seen that many times. :mad:

I thought about it but Ryder has taken some big contested, marks in our forward line. Westhoff hasnt taken a contested mark for 5 weeks in the forward line. He does all his good work in the back half so play him there permanently.

Our problem isn't skills. It's getting open enough to make the target easier. Certain players are trying too hard ie Hartlett but our midfield needs more run.
Skills are a problem but not the only problem.

We need to make changes, but not wholesale changes.

What the changes should be:
In: Moore, Stewart, Ah Chee, Clurey, Broadbent (Potentially Neade)
Out: Cornes, Trengrove, White, Jonas, Sam Gray (Potentially Impey)

Westhoff: Our smartest player, in a form slump but WILL bounce back. Needs a more structured role, either CHF or CHB (not float around and do what you like)
Hammer: Shockingly out of form, potentially the best kick in the team. Will lose even more confidence if dropped to SANFL. He WILL bounce back.
White: Only reason we have him is for pace because his skills aren't top notch. He has lost pace and therefore needs to be dropped until pace returns. (Amon can replace and use his pace)
Arch: Hasn't had a real opportunity to show us what he can do. I think he can be moulded into a Cornes like player.
Pittard: Star
Jonas: Not sure what has happened to him, it is a pity but he has been playing Small lately and he is just too slow to do that and skills are horrendous.
Brogsy: Extremely composed, particularly under pressure and can read the game well. Shouldn't have been dropped.
S Gray: Lord of the rings called and want their hobbit back. Not AFL standard unfortunately. Ken what were you thinking.
Clurey: Straight swap for Jacko.
Stewart: Must be rewarded for form.
Lobbe and Ryder: Lobbe is out of form, and can't mark. Lobbe 70% ruck 30% bench. Ryder 30% ruck 70% deep target forward with Monfires and Wingard at his HEELS not flying around for the mark.
Impey: Has given a decent effort since being back, love his efforts on chasing players for the tackle, but could be dropped for Neade who would fill the void of forward crumbers we DESPERATELY NEADE, as well as putting on forward line defensive pressure which again we NEADE.
Krakour: SUB - fitness not their but again extremely composed and can be explosive towards end of the game.

Thoughts?

Double thumbs up for me

I thought about it but Ryder has taken some big contested, marks in our forward line. Westhoff hasnt taken a contested mark for 5 weeks in the forward line. He does all his good work in the back half so play him there permanently.

Leave Westy back at CHB is perfect, leave Paddy roaming around forward line, then leave Lobbe rucking all over the ground. Sooner or later we will click, I reckon it's this weekend, from memory it always plays pretty fast so Ken will look to run. I think (although we lost) we made some headway last week, the hard work was there, just not the execution or structure (maybe confidence thing) - I think when we start to get on top of a team we will steam roll them, because mentally I don't think the boys will want to give it up. I reckon this week is the week.

In: Any of Broadbent, Young, Stewart, Moore or Ah Chee
Out: Trengove, S. Gray, White

We're suffering with Gray playing too much midfield time as well as Wingard as well. Its time to LOAD UP the midfield with grunt and toughness. Bring in Young, Moore, Ah Chee, Stewart and give Amon a full game. Load the midfield up so Gray can play more time in the forward line. Don't bring in a tall to replace Trengove as since we've had Ryder and Lobbe both in the team we've been one tall too heavy. Our defense can cope with 3 talls, it's not like when Jackson got injured last year because that led to Westhoff having to play ruck which stuffed our forward structure. White had one last chance to fire against his old side so has to go and get some form in the SANFL. Sam Gray showed nothing, should have come in in the first place IMO. I would play Krak sub, but if he's injured or needs a rest then bring in who ever misses out of the 5 ins. Amon should get a full game and play Whites link running role and with so many inside midfielders hopefully winning the ball we should unleash Ebert as the running link up player he does so well. In summary LOAD UP the midfield with second tier players who win the ball that allows our first tier midfielders to dominate on the outside and Gray and Wingard up forward. And lastly, DO NOT put Westhoff in defense half way through a quarter, we're gonna get out of our slump by releasing the shackles and going back to a run and gun style and I reckon we just need a game we might win 130-120 to get the attacking running going again.