Opinion Changes v Melbourne

Unless Watts plays a blinder, no changes for me. I’m backing Boak in. I reckon he’ll thrive in this game, tough contested footy.

I think everyone will want Watts to play, including Melbourne fans, and the media will want some added interest for a Friday night game. But I just don't see an obvious exclusion. Hope Jonas is ok to play. We missed him and Melbourne have a pretty good forward setup.

But I just don't see an obvious exclusion.

Marshall had 5 touches after quarter time.

He's got massive potential and all that, but another outing like that and it'll be hard to keep Watts out, especially if we persist with Westhoff up forward, where he could potentially annihilate the opposition's third or fourth defender.

Ken said that the team that took the field against the Dogs was him 'building the ark' in response to what the club thought was going to be a wet slog territory game.

I reckon if he knew then what he knows now, Watts would have never been dropped, because that fast ball movement would have been right up Jack's alley. You could see that from the fact that we played Dixon, Marshall and Westhoff up forward - Hoff plays his best when does what he wants to do, so put Watts in that position and it will be great.

Melbourne have a great midfield with Gawn feeding them, i think we can say we have the muscle to win that battle but i do doubt the disposal of our midfield compared to there's. We can take a lot out of the Collingwood game to see what Melbourne's weakness's are

Lol Boak isn’t going out guys play a new tune

What’s more he doesn’t need a rest. Boak has had a good year, he just plays a stinker every once in a while. Last night he played a stinker.
Dropping a good player on the back of a game like that would do more harm than good.

Boak - will not be dropped
Marshall - nasty but a possibility for Watts if he goes well in the 2s
Clurey - a probability if Jonas is fit
Hombsch - a possibility if Jonas is fit
Thomas - nasty but a possibility for Watts if he goes well in the 2s
There are no more considerations to be made.

He's got massive potential and all that, but another outing like that and it'll be hard to keep Watts out, especially if we persist with Westhoff up forward, where he could potentially annihilate the opposition's third or fourth defender.

I don’t see it as a Marshall or Watts situation at all.

I think Boak is a sloppy but effective player.

When the ball hits the ground in our forward line, he has a say in a lot of our scores.

Definitely not an attractive player but is important for our set up

Boak being dropped is ****ing ludicrous. Even when he has a mare like last night, he still opens up so much space for others to be effective.

The Boak hate on this board is insulting and simply pathetic

It was his first game back, it was never going to be a superstar performance. To be honest I think he went into his shell a bit after those two early misses. Didn’t really hunt the ball for the rest of the game like he usually does.

I’d give him at least one more week. If he struggles again next week, then maybe we concede that he was brought back too early. But hopefully he’ll have worked the nerves out of his system last night and can get back to playing like the Marshall we know and love next week. I think last night was the game he had to have, and I’m glad we got it out of the way against a team where we didn’t really need him.

Boak being dropped is ******* ludicrous. Even when he has a mare like last night, he still opens up so much space for others to be effective.

The Boak hate on this board is insulting and simply pathetic
I didn't think he was that bad in terms of getting to the ball but yea he had a mare with ball in hand, you have blind love for him no matter what though where if it was anyone else you'd rip in.

Boak - will not be dropped
Marshall - nasty but a possibility for Watts if he goes well in the 2s
Clurey - a probability if Jonas is fit
Hombsch - a possibility if Jonas is fit
Thomas - nasty but a possibility for Watts if he goes well in the 2s
There are no more considerations to be made.

mate... no way is Thomas getting dropped

I'd put Watts straight back in if he performs well in the Snaffell if Thomas has to go so be it.

Yeah, while I love what Lindsay brings to the table, Ken pointedly said that Wingard has a role to play in the forward line...he basically wants him to be our Martin or Dangerfield.

Since Thomas doesn't have the ability to play as a link through midfield and Watts does, I can see Jack offering a lot more to the side now that Marshall is back. But he has to play at a higher level and demand the ball.

Opinion Changes v Melbourne