Changes V Melbourne

whats really staggering is that harvs had to convince macca to play on!

I thought the story was that Macca was keen to play on, and decided to definitely go around again when harvey told him he was a required player. I don't think he needed "convincing".

That one point cost us a finals berth as did the three games Macca went a big way to losing us in 2007.

Muffed two shots at goal in the 1st Qtr as well as coughing up the ball from which the Cats scored their last goal.

We would have been better off with Brock , Fossie , Dunn or even Smith.

I have come to the conclusion that Macca puts more pressure on our other mids as He is the only one that will never drag a tag.

If you were an opposition coach you would want him to get the ball heaps.

Heart and determination mean little when you cough it up to the opposition repeatedly.

Exactly Rip. Even when he doesn't directly turn the ball over he puts his teammates under the pump by having his kicks land at their feet or handballing to guys about to get tackled or making the forward stop and prop or fumbling the ball and holding up a forward movement or giving away lazy free kicks when he falls into an opponents back or tackles them around their head etc etc etc etc.

IMO Schammer is worse on some occassions due to the fact he's so easily knocked off his feet in a contest.

These guys simply just have to go. We can't carry guys anymore becoz the games are so evenly balanced that their inability to perform simple skills cost us games.

I'll go as far as saying we would have won on friday night if Brock had have been playing in place of Macca or Schammer.

Perservering with crap players is the difference between us being 1-5 and
2-4. Maybe even 3-3 due to the closeness of the Hawks, Crows games.

I thought the story was that Macca was keen to play on, and decided to definitely go around again when harvey told him he was a required player. I don't think he needed "convincing".

I certainly hope not!

I hope Harvs said that he was required with the thought Macca would only play 10 games at most and be a handy depth player in case of injuries.

I don't have the same opinion on Macca and Schammer some have you seem to have, though I expect Macca to miss out this week.

My guesses:
Out Macca and Hinkley, in Headland and Black.

Some others who might come in include:
Mayne and Tarrant (though not both of them).

Dropping Hinkley after 1 game is what CC would have done. Give him a few to get his feet, also alot of you wanted Ibbo dropped after his first this year (second game over all) and look how he has worked out. Unless they have a total shocker I don't think you should drop a first gamer right away it will totaly undermind their confidence where as backing them in for a while can set up a whole season.We played the best team in the comp and he didn't look bad.

From paper today...Dodd & Grover likely to be okay...Hayden unlikely...

I reckon...

OUT:
Hayden (inj)
Carr (nothing in it...but it's Josh Carr - susp)
Hinkley (dropped)
McManus (dropped)

IN:
Headland (Hinko replacement)
O'Brien (Hayden replacement)
Mayne (McAnus replacement)
Foster (Carr replacement)

Tarrant misses out - Murphy did okay.

Dropping Hinkley after 1 game is what CC would have done. Give him a few to get his feet, also alot of you wanted Ibbo dropped after his first this year (second game over all) and look how he has worked out. Unless they have a total shocker I don't think you should drop a first gamer right away it will totaly undermind their confidence where as backing them in for a while can set up a whole season.We played the best team in the comp and he didn't look bad.

It was actually his second game (he played against Adelaide), but I hope they keep him in to play on the MCG next week. But I reckon he might get sent back to the WAFL for a few games - all part of his development.

I hope they send Macca back - and I also hope that despite MaJ's decent return for Perth, they make him play a few games there.

Blackie is still injured and then will need a couple of WAFL games to get some fitness back, so he's out of the question.

It's a big ask to have a 3 gamer in Mayne come straight back in after two games out with injury, so he might have to spend a week or two with Perth.

Des will come in if fit.

There's also Brock, Foster, Head and Duffield with good WAFL form behind them, although they have indicated they will keep Fossie in the WAFL till after the first break.

A lot depends on how the injured defensive trio pull up this week, and how the MRP looks at Josh.

Very difficult to predict what they might do with regards to selection.

There's also Brock, Foster, Head and Duffield with good WAFL form behind them, although they have indicated they will keep Fossie in the WAFL till after the first break.

I listened to the East Freo game yesterday IP and it seemed that Foster was played up forward most of the day - not sure if it was due to fitness or not, but you would hope Freo have some say in where he's played.

Sounds about right,will play on as long as he can get a contract and won't retire until he can't and fair enough.If he is dropped again like carr I can't see him getting back in a hurry without dominating in the WAFL for a few weeks

There's certainly no excuses next week, not only have Melbourne been very poor this season but we are coming off a nine day break and they have just finished a game in hot conditions against Brisbane. The Demons have only won 3 of 24 quarters this season. :eek:

Macca has to go, and Matt Carr had seven goals kicked on him yesterday so it's unlikely we'll see either of them any time soon. :thumbsu:

Scott Thornton had a good game on paper but I watched the tape this morning and most of his disposals were by hand to a team mate in a worse position than himself. Gilmore also cost us a few goals so if Hayden, Grover and Dodd are fit I'd drop them both.

Out - McManus, Gilmore, Hayden/Thornton
In - Headland, Warnock, Head.

O'Brien or Foster to come in for Carr if he gets suspended.

From paper today...Dodd & Grover likely to be okay...Hayden unlikely...

I reckon...

OUT:
Hayden (inj)
Carr (nothing in it...but it's Josh Carr - susp)
Hinkley (dropped)
McManus (dropped)

IN:
Headland (Hinko replacement)
O'Brien (Hayden replacement)
Mayne (McAnus replacement)
Foster (Carr replacement)

Tarrant misses out - Murphy did okay.

Was the derogatory use of Macca's name necessary???
You now look like utter scum, can't believe a supporter of our team can reach such a pathetic level.

One of the true highlights for my year will be Macca's final game for the club when he will receive the standing ovation he so richly deserves (there will not be a dry eye in the house). Just shaking my head at the moment.

Was the derogatory use of Macca's name necessary???
You now look like utter scum, can't believe a supporter of our team can reach such a pathetic level.

One of the true highlights for my year will be Macca's final game for the club when he will receive the standing ovation he so richly deserves (there will not be a dry eye in the house). Just shaking my head at the moment.

Typo :D

Avid_Avenger, I was totally thinking same about Schammer. Gets knocked off the ball and doesnt hit targets.

Also, he gets sucked into the ball alot and leaves his man wide open. His spacing is horrible and seems to in the way of people.

The guy has quickness and heart. But at the end of the day if you make it harder for your teamates THEN HE SHOULDNT BE IN THE TEAM.

On the footy show this morning Larrkins said that Hayden will miss and Dodd is getting assessed for ligament damage. Grover should be okay though.

Ok, take that as our starting point.

Hayden is probably out, replace with a running / negating backman.

Dodd, maybe out. Similar replacement to Hayden.

There will need to be 2 proper ruckman, so Warnock must come in.

They are the forced changes, so I can see Warnock, Head and Des ( not my favourite player !!!! ) coming in. Gimore to shuffle down back or Solli.

I respect Macca for all he has done, maybe he has already handed the baton over to Palmer, Ibbo and Mayne. Maybe his time has come, but I will still hold him in the highest regard for what he has done unflinchingly.

If Macca has to go, Mayne or O'Brien would appropriate replacements.

Just my thoughts.

Out:
Hayden (inj)
Dodd (inj)
McManus
Gilmore
Carr (susp)

In:
O'Brien
Mayne
Duffield
Warnock
Headland/Foster/Head (can't decide which)

Going on Warnocks game in the WAFL I would be surprised if he gets picked unless they think he is vital,would expect Gilmore to back up as he did last week til we needed defenders.
After seeing Harvey go off at Schammer giving away a free in the centre and having a bad one he might get dropped but I think it will also depend on whos available.
Hinkley looked a long way off, looked lost and was very poor.

Totally agree let him get a game against the bottom teams which normally allows headland and other non performers against the better sides get there 30 odd possessions... we are in development mode and the more games we get into the young guys the better off we will be...

There probably will be forced changes and murphy even though was very laconic needs to have another game and try and see if the 3-4 years weve put into him has got him anywhere....

Im not against headland but bring in Foster , OBrien , Warnock , Mayne and get these young guys in who will be the futture of the club getting to know each others game style....

Leave Hinkley in let him start or give him a role and DEVELOP the kid on the MCG where it all happens...

For me :
OUT :
Hinkley - He did not want to kick that goal and gave it to someone in a worse position than him. Dropped an easy chest mark on the wing.
Let him get some confidence up n the WAFL and come back in. He will continue to develop.
Gilmore - Kicking, he looks lost at times.
McManas - many better options available
Murphy - 2 marks and 1 goal for a key forward is not enough.
JC - suspened
hopefully no injuries but allow for one.

IN :
Tarrant. 2 good games in a row now in WAFL. (Named 3rd best with 3 goals in a close game)
Headland
Mayne
O'Brien
Foster
Warnock

Im assuming Blackie is unavailable!

Out:
Mcmanus (Dropped)
Hinkley (Dropped)
JCarr (will get done by the MRP)
Grover (Inj)
Hayden (Inj)
Dodd (Inj)

Ins:
Obrien
Mayne
Foster
Headland
Warnock
Tarrant/Bradley

Im not sure what the forward structure was against the Cats but Murphy was spending alot of time floating between CHF and the Centre Square. If that was Coaches instructions fine but he is a leading forward and he will get a hell of a lot more kicks leading from the goal square. Keep him in and play to position.

I think playing Hinkley cost us on Friday night, not providing a strong enough contest in the forward line on a couple of occassions provided good rebound for the Cats in the late stages of the game. Good young kid just a bit light on at the moment. Mind you I sit in a forward pocket so it's hard to get a good grasp on his midfield play.

I reckon we're still in this season!

2 days on...wholesale changes have to occur unfortunately

OUT:
JCarr (susp)
Grover (inj)
Dodd (inj)
Hayden (inj)
McManus (form)
Hinkley (form)

IN:
Mayne
Headland
O'Brien
Tarrant
Head
Black

Not a bad team though still...:thumbsu:

RUCK: Sandilands/Crowley/Bell > all in form
FOR: Farmer/Pavlich/Murphy > all good here
HFOR: Solomon/Tarrant/Mayne > like Mayne at the "G"
CEN: Ibbotson/Palmer/Headland > Ibbo & Palmer to step up at "G"
HBCK: Mundy/Johnson/Head > Mundy drops back to h/b
BCK: Thornton/McPharlin/Drum > all good here

BENCH: O'Brien/Schammer/Gilmore/Black

OUT:
J.Carr (susp.)
Hayden (inj)
Grover (inj)
Dodd (inj)
Murphy (omitted)
Hinkley (omitted)

IN:
Des Headland
Mark Johnson
Josh Head
Chris Tarrant
Brock O'Brien
Robert Warnock

Warnock as our 2nd ruckman allowing Gilmore to play Key position defender. Des replaces Josh Carr as a midfielder. Mark Johnson and Brock O'Brien both capable of filling a back pocket and both in good form. Tarrant in better form than Murphy.

Thornton McPHarlin MiJohnson
Head Gilmore Drum
Ibbotson Headland Mundy
McManus Tarrant Bell
Farmer Pavlich Solomon
R: Sandilands Crowley Palmer

Int: Warnock Schammer Ma.Johnson O'Brien

Massive changes, 4 forced, 2 on form.

Surprised rgauci that you'd retain Macca who was very poor IMO, but drop Murphy who I thought was okay. A fine day is forecast for Melbourne on Sunday so I'd be tempted to play Murphy and Tarrant.

I think the idiot on peeearrrrrrgggghhh might have bought Macca another game or two now. It's an interesting one for Harvs - hopefully he continues on weeding out those who aren't up to it and rewarding those showing good form in the WAFL.

Totally agree let him get a game against the bottom teams which normally allows headland and other non performers against the better sides get there 30 odd possessions... we are in development mode and the more games we get into the young guys the better off we will be...

Im not against headland but bring in Foster , OBrien , Warnock , Mayne and get these young guys in who will be the futture of the club getting to know each others game style....

So you say Headland only plays well against bad teams, did you watch our first 2 games? He was one of our best players in both games.