Preview Changes V North Melbourne

I reckon I would start with Pets on the ground. Given that he is not a 4 quarter footballer I would start him and hope that he plays at least 2 good quarters and then sub him early in the third. If he doesn't play 2 good quarters I would sub him early in the third.

Agree that I don't think Petrenko will be sub.

If he was only going to come in to sit on the pine they would have just stuck with Wright as the sub.

He's in for a specific reason and I reckon will go straight to Atley.

Agree that I don't think Petrenko will be sub.

If he was only going to come in to sit on the pine they would have just stuck with Wright as the sub.

He's in for a specific reason and I reckon will go straight to Atley.
Indigenous Round!

One of your more reprehensible posts. To suggest that a player would be picked just to add a racial characteristic to the team is beyond stupid and more than a little bit suggestive.

Actually, this is exactly what has happened. The Crows started using him in the promotional material for the indigenous round while the previous round was still going. Even before the selection meetings it was preordained that Petrenko would come in, he has been ineffectual in the SANFL, not terrible, but not anywhere near the form Lyons, Kerridge or Laird were dishing up, and there is no way that he deserves to be in the side on form alone, the reason he is in the side is because he was used in the promotional material for the indigenous round.

In short, his form didn't warrant selection, his use in promotional material did.

Actually, this is exactly what has happened. The Crows started using him in the promotional material for the indigenous round while the previous round was still going. Even before the selection meetings it was preordained that Petrenko would come in, he has been ineffectual in the SANFL, not terrible, but not anywhere near the form Lyons, Kerridge or Laird were dishing up, and there is no way that he deserves to be in the side on form alone, the reason he is in the side is because he was used in the promotional material for the indigenous round.

In short, his form didn't warrant selection, his use in promotional material did.

This is a bit of a conspiracy theory. How important do you think a few promo photo's really are?

Petrenko is being brought into the side to address a deficiency. We keep allowing opposition defenders to just cruise out of our forward 50. Also his form in the SANFL was good last week with 24 disposals (15 kicks, 9 handballs).

I don't see why people are finding Petrenko's inclusion that difficult to understand.

We lacked forward-line pressure bigtime last week, and like it or not, Petrenko is our best player in that role. He's also gone back to the SANFL after some poor AFL form, and has performed well enough to please the selection panel. And despite some claims here, Petrenko's best footy has been very good. He hasn't reached those heights yet this year, but he has the potential to do so.

As for who goes out, Wright is well out of form and looks like he needs a stint in the twos. He'll be back, he's too talented to stay down there for long.

Pretty sensible change, I reckon. No need to rush Crouch back in. Kid is, what, 18 years old? Give him another week to get completely right and then bring him in.

The use of his image in promotional material for this round is neither here nor there. Who else other than an Aborigine do you suggest we use? I expected Petrenko's inclusion this week. He helps cover a deficiency that has been obvious for the last few weeks. The trouble is that it was obvious when he was in the side earlier in the year. Let's hope he has early 2012 form back.
The idea that this is tokenism is insulting to the selection panel and to Petrenko.

Actually, this is exactly what has happened. .....In short, his form didn't warrant selection, his use in promotional material did.

No, not 'exactly'. Not even remotely. And I'm not saying this because I'm a Petrenko fan. I'm not. I question both his skill level and his composure. But Sanderson is. I have never heard him give a single interview in which Petrenko is mentioned in which he doesn't bang on about how important his pressure and one percenters are to how Sando wants the Crows to play. And given how deficient we've been in this regard recently, his selection is hardly a surprise.

Honestly. Picked because he's in the promos? You don't really believe that. You just don't like the selection. Or the idea of an indigenous round. Or something.

Really hope Dolph Kerridge gets Wells.... We need to shut him out of the game and stop North's quick spread which reamed us last time.

Some harsh opinions on Petrenko.... Sheesh, ok he may not be quite the ilk of Yarran/Garlett/Stokes but hes potnetially our best small forward....Lets work with it and develop him...

That kind of thinking is what netted Henriques a Baggy Green.

If we don't have a good small forward, don't play one.

Saying that, his form in the SANFL has been good, but I would've made him earn it a bit more.

And if he struggles for a couple of weeks, then for christ sakes, drop him.

Hopefully he's worked on his positioning, he gets lost between contests way too often.

Job on atley is my tip also.

What will justify his inclusion to will be his efforts when we have the ball. No one questions his value when we don't have it.

Also can anyone confirm he missed 15/16 last year due to injury? Or was he just dropped?
My recollection was a leg or foot injury and he's not been high on form or confidence since. Esp since injurying shoulder in sept.

How is Wright not a developing player? He's only played 49 games and is 22 or 23 years old. What is this board's obsession with a developing player having to be less than 20 years old?

off topic, but he would have had a bit on the banner this week if he was named right? How early do the people that make the banner start? it would suck if they assumed he was playing and made one for him that they couldnt use

Job on atley is my tip also.

What will justify his inclusion to will be his efforts when we have the ball. No one questions his value when we don't have it.

Also can anyone confirm he missed 15/16 last year due to injury? Or was he just dropped?
My recollection was a leg or foot injury and he's not been high on form or confidence since. Esp since injurying shoulder in sept.

I like the idea of Pets having a run with role. Probably suits him better than defensive small forward I reckon.

Looking at the Sturt vs West Adelaide stats, it looks as if the Tambo isn't playing.

Is he injured or been pulled out as a traveling emergency?

Nope. It is a great idea mate. Selecting hacks not so much.
Why don't you go away as you posts add little of value to this thread!

Pets is not a hack. Wright has been in poor form most of the year & needed to be dropped. Personally I would have played Martin, but Peterenko was also in the mix & not a shock selection. He wasn't selected because of the nature of the round. Go & follow another conspiracy theory.

Looking at the Sturt vs West Adelaide stats, it looks as if the Tambo isn't playing.

Is he injured or been pulled out as a traveling emergency?
Injured I would suggest as not named as an emergency.

I like the idea of Pets having a run with role. Probably suits him better than defensive small forward I reckon.
Could rotate him with Kerridge.