Unofficial Preview Changes v North Melbourne

• Thread starter Thread starter fpm84

Im thinking more when oconnor comes back which he will id drop one of those. I dont want too many defenders at the expense of the mids.
At that stage I agree - kinda feel like Bews & Tuohy are playing for that 7th defender spot.

Both players have different strengths & weaknesses - might be which one steps up to the challenge the best

Shaking my head that Smith is still in, but other than that I'm very happy with the changes. Good to see they're not afraid to drop senior players instead of shoe-horning them into the side as they have tended to do the past.

Glad to see Parfitt back (pardon the pun) - I think we've missed his tackling and ability in congested situations.

On Parfitt, I just saw there was an article in The Herald Sun about him but don't have a subscription.

The article's heading is "Geelong’s Brandan Parfitt gets lost among star teammates but stats reveal his true worth" - anyone here have access and able to share what stats are shown? Thanks.

These changes give me some hope that the club has realised the old slow blokes (ie. Henderson, Scooter) shouldn’t be in our side come finals. Good.

Seems they want to see how Smith goes against Goldstein.

Hoping O’Connor comes back in next week.

The backline still looks fairly pedestrian to me.
Not a line breaker there. Maybe Bews,..... but?

You got triggered hey.

Kolos form has dropped off. I preferred Henry out 6 weeks ago but now I think Henry has surpassed him. Can't take all of blicavs, Taylor, Stewart, kolo and Henry into finals. Far too slow and one dimensional down back. Need three small defenders.

Unfortunately an uneducated point of view. Steward and Henry are two of the fastest at the club. Oh well keep plugging away with your incorrect observations

At that stage I agree - kinda feel like Bews & Tuohy are playing for that 7th defender spot.

Both players have different strengths & weaknesses - might be which one steps up to the challenge the best
Ideally for me all 3 of Bews, Tuohy and O'Connor would be in with Bews playing deep in defence while Tuohy and O'Connor are playing attacking footy off HB and wing.

But as it currently is, I think it's between Tuohy and Henry.

Never understood the love for Bews as a lock down defender. We have an excellent defensive structure that - generally - doesn't allow any small forwards to carve us up, regardless of personnel. The start of the year is proof of that - if we're playing well, we don't need Bews to lock down on anyone; and if we're playing poorly Bews isn't going to save us.

I wish he'd get back to the way he was playing at the back end of 2017 (and his first game this year). He has it in him to provide some dash from defence, but unless he is doing that I think he's superfluous to our needs. I just don't think we need a pure "lock down defender". Opposition small forwards are far less a problem for us than ball movement from the back half.

That said, Tuohy isn't giving us anything in that regard either, so I can certainly see an argument for dropping him instead. I guess if neither him or Bews is going to give us the drive from the backline, we might as well pick the better defender (Bews).

Prediction: we will win but will play very crap.

Prediction: people are going to realize (again) that Smith is no better than Stanley in the ruck contests, while being completely useless around the ground. And maybe how ****ing stupid it is that we will (again) go into finals without having settled on a number 1 ruckman.

On Parfitt, I just saw there was an article in The Herald Sun about him but don't have a subscription.

The article's heading is "Geelong’s Brandan Parfitt gets lost among star teammates but stats reveal his true worth" - anyone here have access and able to share what stats are shown? Thanks.
Pressure acts and effective tackles i think were where he ranks highly. Story was also in the geelong addy.

Prediction: people are going to realize (again) that Smith is no better than Stanley in the ruck contests, while being completely useless around the ground. And maybe how ******* stupid it is that we will (again) go into finals without having settled on a number 1 ruckman.
Deja Vu.

Pressure acts and effective tackles i think were where he ranks highly. Story was also in the geelong addy.

Thanks mate!

Yep, neither of those stats surprise me. I reckon Parfitt is a bit underrated on this board - his absence has played a big role in our drop in forward half pressure imo.

Worth noting that, of the 4 losses we've had post bye, he only played in 1 of them - the loss against Port, and at least he had 9 tackles (more than anyone else on the ground, from either side).

“Of the Geelong regulars this season, only Cam Guthrie and Tim Kelly have applied more weekly pressure.

Guthrie is the only player ahead of Parfitt for effective tackles.

Then there are contested possession, an area Geelong was so proficient in during their 11-1 opening to the season.

Parfitt is one of those rare players who wins more of his possession in a contested nature, with only Patrick Dangerfield and Tim Kelly ahead for contested ball.

Every game Geelong has played in this year has been won by the team that has won contested possession.”

“Of the Geelong regulars this season, only Cam Guthrie and Tim Kelly have applied more weekly pressure.

Guthrie is the only player ahead of Parfitt for effective tackles.

Then there are contested possession, an area Geelong was so proficient in during their 11-1 opening to the season.

Parfitt is one of those rare players who wins more of his possession in a contested nature, with only Patrick Dangerfield and Tim Kelly ahead for contested ball.

Every game Geelong has played in this year has been won by the team that has won contested possession.”

Thanks mate, love it!

Great to have him back. Those stats certainly back up my thoughts that we miss his tackling and work in the contest!

O'Connor in for Bews and we are starting to get there. Smith/Stanley is about deciding who is the least s**t. Not sure myself.

Is it really worth arguing over salad sandwiches or salad rolls ... ?

Unfortuetly I think we have become Nero on our ruck divison.. we have to get serious and get a kid under 25 ..that can grow into the role. I have been disappointed with Fort as he just doesnt have enough spring..which the club should have known..

So at years end ..are we a legit chance still ( have to win at least 2 finals for me to think that ) .. then we can top up with a much better class of ruck.. other wize get a talented kid and wait.

Does help this week... so I say I'll have a Salad Wrap ... we should have given Abbott a go..

Is it really worth arguing over salad sandwiches or salad rolls ... ?

Unfortuetly I think we have become Nero on our ruck divison.. we have to get serious and get a kid under 25 ..that can grow into the role. I have been disappointed with Fort as he just doesnt have enough spring..which the club should have known..

So at years end ..are we a legit chance still ( have to win at least 2 finals for me to think that ) .. then we can top up with a much better class of ruck.. other wize get a talented kid and wait.

Does help this week... so I say I'll have a Salad Wrap ... we should have given Abbott a go..

I wonder if Preuss has realized yet what a stupid decision it was to go to Melbourne? He still only just turned 24 a month ago.

Otherwise, Darcy might be able gettable as part of a Kelly deal, though I'm not overly enamoured with him. Seems a bit one dimensional.

I wonder if Preuss has realized yet what a stupid decision it was to go to Melbourne? He still only just turned 24 a month ago.

Otherwise, Darcy might be able gettable as part of a Kelly deal, though I'm not overly enamoured with him. Seems a bit one dimensional.

Love this idea. I really want preuss and want draft picks for Kelly if he leaves.

I still can't wrap my head around the fact that either a) we didn't make a decent offer to Preuss; or b) we did and he still decided to go to the team with the best ruckman in the comp.

He would have walked into the number 1 ruck spot at Geelong.

I thought last week was Smith's last game in the hoops but turns out it's this week. If you're losing the hitouts regardless then at least Stanley runs hard.

Excited to see Parfitt back and Narkle has been doing more than enough for a shot. Would have liked to have seen Constable come in, I'll be keeping an eye on the late ins.

How did Smith stay in?

Good changes, happy changes..
But I just can't care about this game, get it over and done with already so we can move on to the next irrelevant game.

I feel your sentiment, but these last couple of games will be the ones that position us for our assault on the finals, and reveal just how fair dinkum we'll be imo.