Unofficial Preview Changes v North Melbourne

• Thread starter Thread starter fpm84

Narkle and Constable must be pretty filthy. Punished for their perceived failings and we look the other way at the failings of the senior players.

True sometimes need to look at their skillset in a positive light. Got to give those two a crack if they perform at VFL.

Surprised at so many people wanting Scooter out.

23 touches, 6 marks, 3 tackles and a goal against the Swans.

15 touches, 2 marks and 9 tackles yesterday.

His DE% wasn't great but he adds more than just that.

He was one that was up to the physical contest. Needs another go.

Surprised at so many people wanting Scooter out.

23 touches, 6 marks, 3 tackles and a goal against the Swans.

15 touches, 2 marks and 9 tackles yesterday.

His DE% wasn't great but he adds more than just that.
He rotated off fyfe, Walters and hill. Got absolutely sodomized with no lubricant.

Changes I'd love to see:

Out: Smith, Henderson, Bews, S. Selwood, Atkins
In: Stanley, Taylor, O'Connor, Parfitt, Constable

I think that's our best side - Cockatoo a possible wildcard.

Essentially I want to see the MC decide on their best 22 and select that. Get the side settled now like it was earlier in the year. No more rests - there are still two byes left if we're fair dinkum.

Changes I'd love to see:

Essentially I want to see the MC decide on their best 22 and select that. Get the side settled now like it was earlier in the year. No more rests - there are still two byes left if we're fair dinkum.

So Dahlhaus after being rested for one week is now not in our best 22? He's been easily in our best 10 all season.

I thought Atkins did a bit yesterday, but totally agree in the previous 7/8 weeks. Yeah doesn’t hit the scoreboard!

Atkins is in the same category as Bews and S.Selwood. Always try 100% but are not AFL standard. We have little chance of winning flag with them playing - zero if all three are in the team at once. Menegola another that is close to being in the same group.

Changes I'd love to see:

Assume Dahlhaus is an oversight.

Atkins is in the same category as Bews and S.Selwood. Always try 100% but are not AFL standard. We have little chance of winning flag with them playing - zero if all three are in the team at once. Menegola another that is close to being in the same group.

Yep they have no ability to work in close and get free. Not quick enough with their thoughts. Parfitt and Constable can think through congestion and release the ball.

Scott Selwood tries hard but he has no balance, vision or composure when ball is hot. If Ablett is the extreme good example of these traits, poor old Scooter is right at opposite end of spectrum.

He was not to blame yesterday but game has gone past him. That free kick for holding Walters off the ball was surely the end for him. He knows he is cooked.

Our backline for mine is where the major issues are. Opposing teams know if you apply the clamps to Tuohy and Stewart then our rebound is completely nullified.

Opponents are more than happy to allow Kolo, Bews and Blicavs take possession of the pill as they know that their general modus operandi is to execute short dinky kicks that offer little other than to stagnate ball movement. The icing on the cake is when either of the triumvirate decide to take the game on there is a very high chance they will turn it over.

Prior to the bye period, O'Connor and Clark were mainstays down back offering excellent rebound out of defence with the ability to hit targets over 30m by foot.

The backline against Freo were a shambles with almost no rebound or ability to move the ball effectively out of defence from a stoppage or kick-in. It was no coincidence that both MOC and Clark were not playing in defence.

Since the bye period, the static and "safe" brand of football we have been playing is both appalling to watch and ultimately ineffective.

Worryingly with only 3 matches to go before finals it appears the coaches haven't honed a decent game plan and are obsessed with the incessant tinkering down back that has eroded player confidence across the board.

I hope we can turn this around as it would be a shame to limp to the finals when we have the best player availability in the league.

Yep they have no ability to work in close and get free. Not quick enough with their thoughts. Parfitt and Constable can think through congestion and release the ball.

Scott Selwood tries hard but he has no balance, vision or composure when ball is hot. If Ablett is the extreme good example of these traits, poor old Scooter is right at opposite end of spectrum.

He was not to blame yesterday but game has gone past him.

And has shithouse kicking skills when he does get it. There was nearly a turnover on the wing yesterday when he had a simple pass under little pressure and all but cocked up the kick. Only good ball skills by our player (can't recall who it was), saved it coming back the other way. That was just one example. Bews is very similar.

So Dahlhaus after being rested for one week is now not in our best 22? He's been easily in our best 10 all season.

Hold on to your knickers mate, Dahlhaus is obviously best 22!

Assume Dahlhaus is an oversight.

Correct!

Not sure who he comes in for though, maybe instead of Parfitt or even Menegola? Miers and Rohan are looking shaky as well.

Hold on to your knickers mate, Dahlhaus is obviously best 22!

Correct!

Not sure who he comes in for though, maybe instead of Parfitt? Miers and Rohan are looking shaky as well.

Tuohy is the next to go on my list.

My team exactly.
I'm not a scooter fan and I think he's woeful by foot BUT he does atleast provide some tackling pressure around the contest, of which we have so very very little other options. So I'd be ok with him staying, however I'm also happy to see him out.
Smith has shown nothing to suggest he's a better, or even equal, option than Stanley so Rhys comes back in as atleast we know his best is better.
Henderson comes out, it's either Harry or Hendo for me, both would be fine but history suggests Harry will produce in finals, Hendo... well he won't.
Bews out, there's nothing to suggest he's worth his position, small forwards provided no threat when he wasn't playing so he isn't locking down a dangerous opponent and he's so putrid by foot I'd rather he had a Domsy rule. I prefer MOC.
Atkins, he was ok against freo but he's been average at best for the 6 weeks prior, if he's in the side for defensive pressure then 4 tackles purely isn't enough and he's not stopping any half back run from the opposition so I don't see the point in him staying at the moment, I'd prefer Dahl and Parfitt who are more dangerous with the ball which also means their opponents must give them more respect instead of just running off them at every chance.

The biggest change I'd like to see is in our ball movement. I didn't mind how we set up to move it slower from the backline, get it across half back then go fast, but 1; we don't go fast anymore from that point, and 2; teams know that's what we do so peel back further to allow those short kicks but then allow nothing further. So let's just move it quicker, more overlap handball, more playing on and a bit more controlled risk. We aren't winning the flag with this current system so why not try something slightly different. We have a forwardline of fantastic 1 on 1 options so let's utilise that and make it a strength.
I'd give Narkle a go in place of Parfitt.

Think we are at the stage where making numerous changes just won't matter as there will be no continuity. Really left it too late to be fiddling with the teams every week. This week along with last should have been where you really start putting close to the best team and let them build.

Pies playing GCS.

Fast handball, play on possession type game. GCS are witches hats of course - but Pies moving the ball like we did Rd1 - Rd11.

WE can bring it back if we work hard enough.

Its up to them I guess.

GO Catters

Please NO MORE as i've seen enough to not go there again(BOLD)
As for the others. Let's just move on.

OUT: Zac SMITH. Sub standard AFL Ruckman. Stanley is the BEST Ruckman we have PERIOD.
Zac TUOHY. Shadow of his former self. Looks great at times but as a defensive backman... Nah!
Lachie HENDERSON. NO NO NO... If he plays were are scraping the bottom of the barrel. Harry is 2xbetter.
Scott SELWOOD. Sorry but if he is Number 5 in our midfield depth chart we have gone backwards. Let's just move on.
Jed BEWS. 50-50 here. Depends on the opponents.
Gary ROHAN. Playing like he did in Sydney. Have a rest mate.

IN: Rhys STANLEY.
Mark O'CONNER.
Harry TAYLOR.
Brandon PARFITT.
Luke DAHLHAUS.
Quinton NARKLE.

Unfortunately the insipid performances from our senior so called champs recently lead me to believe they aren't as good as i once rated them.
North Melbourne will bring a hard fighting contested brand of footy to Kardinia Park.
If we stumble... then I'm afraid it will become a free fall.
Anyways. Cheers Boys!

Clark Blicavs Kolo
Stewart Taylor O'Connor
Duncan Constable J Selwood
Menegola Ratagolea Dalhaus
Dangerfield Hawkins Ablett
Stanley Kelly Narkle
Henry Miers
C Guthrie S Selwood

In : Stanley Taylor O'Connor Constable Dalhaus Narkle

Out : Smith Henderson Touhy Bews Atkins Rohan

We need a defensive running mid in the mould of lambert for Richmond. Constable & scooter could do it but they’re slow!

Why couldn't Parfitt do it? He's got speed and tackles well. We got him as a mid, didn't we?

Plus he'd hurt going the other way - great ball user