Preview Changes v Port round 18

Tomlinson for Petty, Hunt or Riv for Bowey (bit surprised at his omission),

HOPEFULLY it’s Chandler for Oliver with Sparrow and Harmes spending more time in the middle.

Sadly it will be Dunstan or Melksham 💩

Its so hard to watch this team play this year, absolutely zero enjoyment and rarely any new names to keep you interested. Have hated every moment of its since round 2.

It honestly feels like a weekly chore watching us play.

Its so hard to watch this team play this year, absolutely zero enjoyment and rarely any new names to keep you interested. Have hated every moment of its since round 2.

Not sure if serious? I dunno, I've quite enjoyed being the reigning premiers and winning our first 10 games in a row.

If we were playing North, WC or Hawthorn this week I reckon we'd have seen Laurie or van Rooyen, but the match committee have gone with experience. We've gotta win these next two, cos the last four are tough.

Not sure if serious? I dunno, I've quite enjoyed being the reigning premiers and winning our first 10 games in a row.

If we were playing North, WC or Hawthorn this week I reckon we'd have seen Laurie or van Rooyen, but the match committee have gone with experience. We've gotta win these next two, cos the last four are tough.

I am serious mate. Ive got no enjoyment out of it. Kicking goals is like pulling teeth. Its exactly the same gameplan every week, followed by the same press conferences and same changes.

We played some great footy last year, the games against the Dogs and Brisbane have the closest to that but everything else had been a snooze fest.

Each to their own.

Said to my missus last week I got more enjoyment watching Gold Coast win last week than any melb game this year.

Not sure if its the style of play, or just afl in general. But I reckon I've watched about 4 games this year that I've actually enjoyed, and not been on my phone half the time.

I am serious mate. Ive got no enjoyment to of it. Kicking goals is like pulling teeth. Its exactly the gameplan every week, followed by the same press conferences and same changes.

We played some great footy last year, the games against the Dogs and Brisbane have the closest to that but everything else had been a snooze fest.

Each to their own.
Fair enough :thumbsu: I don't know whether we played any really good footy until the finals, and we won 4.5 of 9 games from R10 - R19 last year.

I don't think we've been that bad this year (famous last words)... but irrespective it's time to step up, isn't it? Let's hope the boys have got it in them.

Said to my missus last week I got more enjoyment watching Gold Coast win last week than any melb game this year.

Not sure if its the style of play, or just afl in general. But I reckon I've watched about 4 games this year that I've actually enjoyed, and not been on my phone half the time.

Ive enjoyed watching Casey far more than I have watching us.

Much preferred watching us in 2018 also.

Horrible Ins, feels like 2020 again.

Pretty much spot on, our best is good but we rarely see/saw it. Just a few more wins but practically nothing to high five your mates about when watching a game.

Gee, I must be really invested in the Dees then! I watch at least 4 games a week, and nothing comes close to my engagement for the MFC.

I do love what Carlton are doing, but the game plan has to play to the team's strengths. We've got BBB and a resting ruck, not Curnow and McKay, so we'll have to make do with what we've got. I'm a bit worried about the Blues in September if I'm honest.

Yeah it’s a bit hard to get excited because every decent quarter we play is in the first half and you just know we’re shutting up shop after that.

Barracking for a team not to butcher the ball isn’t that enjoyable.

Gee, I must be really invested in the Dees then! I watch at least 4 games a week, and nothing comes close to my engagement for the MFC.

I do love what Carlton are doing, but the game plan has to play to the team's strengths. We've got BBB and a resting ruck, not Curnow and McKay, so we'll have to make do with what we've got. I'm a bit worried about the Blues in September if I'm honest.
I used to watch nearly every game live, if I missed one I'd watch the replay. Plus (being afl member) I'd go to 2 games a weekend typically.

I was away with work, but didn't watch bugger all from saints game through til about the Brisbane game. Watch brief parts on my phone. A11dAtP0w3R is pretty much bang on it feeling like a chore. I'm not whinging that we are winning, I'm saying it's just painful to watch overall.

Ive enjoyed watching Casey far more than I have watching us.

Much preferred watching us in 2018 also.

Fair enough mate, each to their own

In 2018 the wins were fun , but a lotttt of people around here weren't happy with how damn inconsistent we were right up until that West Coast game. Hell we had a mid year bad form patch back then too, losing to the Saints, Port and Geelong by under 2 goals within a few weeks of each whilst fighting for a top 8 spot - wasn't that fun either.

Last year was my favourite year, but I've still preferred this year to any other year. I'd might rather win a boring match than lose an exciting match (like both 2018 Geelong H&A games)

Fair enough mate, each to their own

In 2018 the wins were fun , but a lotttt of people around here weren't happy with how damn inconsistent we were right up until that West Coast game. Hell we had a mid year bad form patch back then too, losing to the Saints, Port and Geelong by under 2 goals within a few weeks of each whilst fighting for a top 8 spot - wasn't that fun either.

Last year was my favourite year, but I've still preferred this year to any other year

How old are you mate? Didnt get to see us in the 90s or early 2000s?

I think in order my fav seasons would be 21, 98, 00, 94 (clear top 4) 02, 18, 06 then 22 (a premiership probably pushes this up the list but I dont see it happening right now)

But yeah not happy with those changes either lol. Farrrk me can't believe Melksham is being named in the side. At least Dunstan is alright inside Midfield depth(albeit crappy disposal), Melksham just adds nothing to side and none of his AFL games this year have suggest its gonna change. In fact , has he even played a good game since 2019? Hopefully he's just an emergency

How old are you mate? Didnt get to see us in the 90s or early 2000s?

I think in order my fav seasons would be 21, 98, 00, 94 (clear top 4) 02, 18, 06 then 22 (a premiership probably pushes this up the list but I dont see it happening right now)

I'm only 23 , so I hardly remember the early 2000s. And growing up, I only remember the dees being shit.
2018 and 2021 are the only years I really remember being in finals.

Hell for me (except for grade prep and 1) , we never made finals in my entire school life. Boy I got bagged for it, so honestly give me this year compared to any of that garbage

Honestly I'm only 23 , so I hardly remember the early 2000s. And growing up, I only remember the dees being s**t.
2018 and 2021 are the only years I really remember being in finals.

Hell for me (except for grade prep and 1) , we never made finals in my entire school life. Boy I got bagged for it, so honestly give me this year compared to any of that garbage

completely understandable why you've enjoyed this year then, you've sat thru nothing but garbage for the majority of your lifetime. Id probably be the same if I was your age.

Uninspired by the ins. Hopefully we have a win, but Port are in ok form and could trouble us.

On this year, it's been nice to win but even then it hasn't been overly exciting. Those early games where we had a patch or two of 3-4 quick goals then shut up shop were a bit of a grind. Kinda interesting from a tactical pov as we setup defensively so well, but not really exciting or memorable. Still 1,000,000 times better than most of my time supporting us.

We've been crap to watch majority the last 2 years. Having half the season with no crowd doesn't help but I doubt I'll go back and watch any home and away games from 21/22 except the last half of the cats game.

Would rather watch replays of us putting teams to the sword 98-06.

Games like the Broadbridge game, Adelaide semi, the 05 game when Robbo kicked 7 on Scarlett, 06 EF vs saints, whiz kicking 9 in a half, us beating Brisbane in their prime at the Gabba, leoncelli point etc etc. Barely remember **** all from these last 2 years outside finals.

We've been crap to watch majority the last 2 years. Having half the season with no crowd doesn't help but I doubt I'll go back and watch any home and away games from 21/22 except the last half of the cats game.

Would rather watch replays of us putting teams to the sword 98-06.

Games like the Broadbridge game, Adelaide semi, the 05 game when Robbo kicked 7 on Scarlett, 06 EF vs saints, whiz kicking 9 in a half, us beating Brisbane in their prime at the Gabba, leoncelli point etc etc. Barely remember * all from these last 2 years outside finals.
We were great to watch for a lot of the 2000-2006 period.

Well, the even years plus 2005.

I barely get any satisfaction watching a soft freekick get paid inside 50 and then some modern campaigner snap the ball from 20m out barely on angle just so the gen zers can make a tik Tok.

When was the last time we played a game with spite in it? The game when Higgins and Vince were going for it and salem got a week for kneeing? Tracs busy giggling and helping Oppo players up.

Headless hasn't been anything close to as fun since Dutchy and Gehrig started the elimination final trying to murder each other and then Carroll wrecked him after another one of his world's most obvious candy sells.

Every game vs every team is the same now. We win clearances and contested footy. Dump it deep forward and hope for the best
Teams try and run it through the middle against us. We play a good quarter here and there and shut up shop for most of the game.

When was the last time we had a bloke suspended for multiple weeks or take a genuine hanger? Theres no flair to this side outside Pickett.

Goody would play 22 Jordans if he could.

Headless hasn't been anything close to as fun since Dutchy and Gehrig started the elimination final trying to murder each other and then Carroll wrecked him after another one of his world's most obvious candy sells.
My polite golf clap was particularly vigorous on this occasion.

I actually loved watching Gehrig play he was must see tv the nut case but that was one of my all time favourite moments.

Aaron Hamill was still getting a game playing as an enforcer... He'd have to make a public apology after every game now.

Preview Changes v Port round 18