Preview Changes v Richmond - Rd 6, 2021

I felt we made a lot of turn over in the back half. Might have been just the first quarter. We certainly had pretty good control after that but just couldn't hit the scoreboard for that reason. Hawthorn kept to 4 goals after quarter time. Anyway I'm still worried about Richmond's pressure to me this is the real test for our backline.
Hawks definitely got a couple of easy goals from pressure right at the end of the first quarter but that was after we controlled the ball for 80% of the quarter and didn't capitalise.

That’s my fear for this week. I reckon we’ll get enough of the footy but our connection is still hit and miss and we can’t afford to waste our momentum against the Tiges.

Our forwardline will look a lot better this week at least!

There's no way May isn't going to get back to play on Lynch - this is what he's been dreaming of since we traded him in. Big game at the G in front of a huge crowd, playing against the best team and one of the best forwards who happens to be his old team mate.

Come on down, Stevie May. Hope he dusts off the classic May hip and shoulder for the occasion. He will wear a face mask if he has to get on the ground

I thought Burgo said Fritta was going to return, but if he's hand is still in a cast, surely not.
You wouldn't think so, especially considering his main strength is marking. He's certainly an upgrade over Melksham/JJ, but three changes to a 5-0 side may be pushing it.

I'd still prefer Brown to Weideman in a big game like this, but understand the rationale.

I can’t believe May is playing. I said no way he’d only miss 2 games and he’ll only miss one. Amazing. As long as he’s anywhere near 100% effective, our chances of winning just doubled.

Sounding more and more likely that May will play against Richmond, how in the hell has his recovery been so fast? Massive in if he is selected.

Also sounds like Weid over BBrown as Brown apparently trained with the seconds today.

Based on Goody's latest presser , i think May in for Petty is a given ( Has been cleared re eye ,it's about concussion protocols) , and possibly one of Weed or B.Brown for the other Brown . Don't think they will risk Fritsch unless he is 100% . He also said he won't bring both Weed and B.Brown back together this week anyway. Barring any mishaps at training I reckon 1-2 ins /outs.

I love Maysie for getting back so quick, he's proper tough, just a tad worried and hope he doesn't get another knock on it so quick.

Edit: not as worried about this as I am Petty deep one on one having said that. 😂

I'm warming to bringing Weid in for Brown and letting BBB have another week or two to get himself cherry ripe

Yea, me, TK and a few other said this Sunday while watching the VFL, brown still looks like he needs a few more runs, Weid looked amazing honestly. He's a must.

I can't believe how excited I am about this game. I should know better. We are perennially that guy who goes to a party just because a girl he likes will be there... only to see her snogging another guy.

But this feels different.

The last time I was this pumped about going to a match was the 2006 elimination final against St. Kilda.

I'm hoping the crowd get into it, like they did in that comeback game against Freo at the G in 2008. I want us to drown out the Richmond supporters by chanting 'Joneseeey' until our voices are gone and their will is broken. I will be anyway... even if I have to do it on my own... and if the rest of them don't want to join in... f**k 'em.

Considering Goody referenced the last two VFL games as opposed to just last week and mentioned AFL level playing I am leaning towards us seeing Big Ben this week as opposed to Weid. Of course this is Dermie level analysis so is probably nonsense.

Said in the afl.com article that Weid played in the ones when we did some match simulation today while Brown was playing for the magoo's.

Preview Changes v Richmond - Rd 6, 2021