Changes v Richmond

Sounds like that guy we traded to Port Adelaide

Not only this but I've noticed a few efforts in the past fortnight where he leads outside of 50 and goes for the one handed mark and drops it. In addition his decision making with the ball 60m from home tends to be terrible, the best example was that missed pass over the top to Garlett. He works hard to get himself in the right positions but my god when your execution is that shisen what hope is there.

Even in the Norf game where he kicked 4 goals he didn't register at all in the Coaches Votes or get in the top 5 in the 426 memorial trophy.

That kick to Garlett was because he has no right foot at all. Tried to prop and kick a drop punt on the outside of his left peg which would have made skill coaches resign immediately. Even a mung on the right would have worked.

God modern footy is terrible

With regard to a general lack of confidence in the side, this lies solely at the feet of Goodwin and it pisses me off. You could see against a Hawthorn the belief of the players just evaporate after our 4,000 inside 50 rebounded out like a rubber ball for an easy goal at the other end. If you are continuously not getting a reward for effort then effort is going to drop off. There’s no way around this. Goodwin has got to make a massive tactical change to us mid-season. The positive though is that he has the talent in the side to make it work. We need to stop congesting our forward line and always have Pederson, Hogan or Gawn ahead of the ball within goal kicking range. No more than 40m out where the kick inside 50 lands. And we need to not have plodders playing the sweeping role if there’s 120 metres of open space between our last defender and the goals. If our game analyst can’t work that out then go lick a ****ing window you moron.

Every team has hack players that won't amount to anything until they are premiership stars. Steven Armstrong won a ******* flag.

Our list is fine. In fact it's great. The personnel is not the issue but how they are deployed. In any team, whether sport or business, you promote an individuals strengths and hide their weaknesses. This is best done by fitting them with other individuals who compliment their skillset.

I fear our approach of "every player is a midfielder" is stripping definition from each player's role and leaving them a bit directionless. For instance Harmes looks great when he is ravaging the 6th best defender, but not so good when taking on the no. 1 ruck then trying to burst through the oppo's best midfielders.

If we can tweak the team tactics the individual players will look better.
This exactly. Also have to remember that both of our losses have been in the absence of our two most experienced inside midfielders (Viney and Tyson). The list is fine, it just needs consistent games. ANB for example isn’t going to hit his straps until he’s playing the same role each week. Brayshaw too. Brayshaw’s talent is infuriatingly obvious but if he can’t string together multiple games in the midfield he’ll never become a midfielder.

With regard to a general lack of confidence in the side, this lies solely at the feet of Goodwin and it pisses me off. You could see against a Hawthorn the belief of the players just evaporate after our 4,000 inside 50 rebounded out like a rubber ball for an easy goal at the other end. If you are continuously not getting a reward for effort then effort is going to drop off. There’s no way around this. Goodwin has got to make a massive tactical change to us mid-season. The positive though is that he has the talent in the side to make it work. We need to stop congesting our forward line and always have Pederson, Hogan or Gawn ahead of the ball within goal kicking range. No more than 40m out where the kick inside 50 lands. And we need to not have plodders playing the sweeping role if there’s 120 metres of open space between our last defender and the goals. If our game analyst can’t work that out then go lick a ******* window you moron.
Goodwin can’t kick goals for us mate

You're probably right, with Tyson in they might give Jones another job.

I hope not, Dusty is a whole different prospect to Mitchell and I don't think Jones would stand much chance of curbing his influence (no disrespect to Jones).

Personally I'd like to see Oliver, Tyson and Petracca as our primary guys at all centre bounces and back ourselves to nullify Dusty by simply winning first use more often than not.

The coaching team worries me a lot more than the onfield team.
Agreed.

Goodwin has made some pretty questionable decisions over the last month and we paid for it on Sunday. Perhaps the players are a bit confused as well. Roos was great at developing the defensive structure and spoke about it on ‘on the couch’ on Monday. Goodwin is letting this slip by the by and we are getting caught out.

Troy Chaplin retired in 2016 and hasn’t had an extended stint as an assistant prior to being appointed the defensive coach at Melbourne.

Not sure I know enough about the others at this point, if someone can shed light, let me know.

I hope not, Dusty is a whole different prospect to Mitchell and I don't think Jones would stand much chance of curbing his influence (no disrespect to Jones).

Personally I'd like to see Oliver, Tyson and Petracca as our primary guys at all centre bounces and back ourselves to nullify Dusty by simply winning first use more often than not.
Jones’s midfield days are done in my opinion. I’d prefer him across half forward. It’s time for Salem or Hunt to be an on baller.

Agreed.

Goodwin has made some pretty questionable decisions over the last month and we paid for it on Sunday. Perhaps the players are a bit confused as well. Roos was great at developing the defensive structure and spoke about it on ‘on the couch’ on Monday. Goodwin is letting this slip by the by and we are getting caught out.

Troy Chaplin retired in 2016 and hasn’t had an extended stint as an assistant prior to being appointed the defensive coach at Melbourne.

Not sure I know enough about the others at this point, if someone can shed light, let me know.
Chaplin had literally no coaching experience beyond sitting in Richmond's box after he retired mid-2016. Crazy what we offered him.

No coaching experience, but many years of friendship with Josh Mahoney :$

Geez I didn’t even realise that. Certainly isn’t a good look when you think about it...
http://www.afl.com.au/news/2016-10-05/troy-chaplin-rejects-tigers-for-demon-coaching-role

He told the Demons' website that a call from former teammate and Melbourne football manager Josh Mahoney convinced him to take the position with the Demons. The pair played at the Power together from 2004-07.

"There's been a little bit of speculation the last few weeks. The way it came about was Josh Mahoney gave me a phone call the other week and really wanted to have a chat," Chaplin said.

"A couple of days later, he asked if I'd be willing to join the club in a coaching capacity. I thought about it for a couple of days but it didn't take too long to make a decision."

If we somehow beat Richmond on Tuesday- i reckon I'll be even more angry than I am now. Seriously, wasn't the whole club desperate to fire up and make a mends for missing the finals last year? Now only 4 rounds in, they've put in one of the worst efforts of the last 4 years amongst other unconvincing performances- and people from the club are already talking about how desperate they are to atone for the game against Hawthorn!? How many piss poor efforts will it take before this club wakes up and actually starts taking each game seriously. We as supporters dont deserve to have the same crap cliches rolled out week after week. Dont talk about it- just go out there and ****ing do it MFC. **** me.

It would be a legit miracle and our best win for 10 years. It wont happen, it cant happen.
Geelong in Geelong 2015, Hawthorn when they were 2 games clear on top of the ladder 2016, Adelaide at the Adelaide oval 2017.

We can win this.

Geelong in Geelong 2015, Hawthorn when they were 2 games clear on top of the ladder 2016, Adelaide at the Adelaide oval 2017.

We can win this.
We would win 1 in 20 I reckon. Far too many players out of form and the opposition are rolling beautifully. After last week's results for both clubs, it would be arguably the biggest upset in years..

If we somehow beat Richmond on Tuesday- i reckon I'll be even more angry than I am now. Seriously, wasn't the whole club desperate to fire up and make a mends for missing the finals last year? Now only 4 rounds in, they've put in one of the worst efforts of the last 4 years amongst other unconvincing performances- and people from the club are already talking about how desperate they are to atone for the game against Hawthorn!? How many piss poor efforts will it take before this club wakes up and actually starts taking each game seriously. We as supporters dont deserve to have the same crap cliches rolled out week after week. Dont talk about it- just go out there and ******* do it MFC. **** me.

Yeh, sick of the "it's how we respond that counts" cliche, we shouldn't have to keep "responding" to a poor performance every other week

There is a correlation, losing teams were more likely to lose again by throwing the baby out with the bath water and in fact it was Roosy who came up with it saying 1 or 2 changes was the most he would like to me each week. Too many is too much of a change.

They're losing because they're likely replacing injured players, bringing in less experienced or talented players, etc. Were we to say bring TMac, Viney, Petracca, Hogan and Oliver back in to the side after missing a round, arguing that a team is more likely to lose because they're making too many changes is daft. You're improving your side. Making changes in of itself is meaningless, it's all about putting your best team on the park and not having your best players miss games. Teams that make very few changes likely have their best team on the park and are more likely to be winning.

That's why that statistic is just garbled bunk. Its pointing to a symptom and trying to claim its a cause.

Jones’s midfield days are done in my opinion. I’d prefer him across half forward. It’s time for Salem or Hunt to be an on baller.

I'm scratching my head to work out how Hunt would be a better midfield option than Jones.

It would be a legit miracle and our best win for 10 years. It wont happen, it cant happen.

Its depressing to think that we've reached a point where beating Richmond is apparently the zenith of our decade. I weep for football.