Preview Changes v Richmond

• Thread starter Thread starter Doggy

Yeah the hangover was unexpected but I'm at least glad we got a chance as a result (we still lost to you blokes that year haha...). It's funny cause at times you look just as good as 2016 if not better. Stringer and Picken gone hurts a bit maybe but yeah, anyway, I do hope yas get another one soon if it can't be us.

And you're right, I'm hoping to see Dow soon, from all reports he's great :)
Our list has nearly completely rebuilt since '16 and I think we have finally got the youth that will provide consistency in the future due to loosing injury prone players aswell as guys who just didn't have enough heart to back up their talent either way excited for what should be a good hard fought contest.

Whatever we do at selection this week we must make changes to the forward line, we just don't have any reliable goal kickers with the exception of Wallis who is good for 1 or 2.
Not knowing who will be available, my preference would be McLean and Lloyd for Weightman (had a taste, now to work on a more rounded effort) and Gowers (enough said).
Not convinced that McLean and Lloyd are in any great form but at least they have more potential to score than those outs.
Probably, until Naughton returns it will be a case of shuffling deck chairs.
I hope McLean gets back into the team but personally I don't want him in the forward line

Yeah to be fair I had totally forgotten about Dunkley and Naughton being out. Dunkley in your top 2-5 players for sure hey, Naughton one of the most promising forwards and absolutely destroyed us last year, marked everything he saw. Hunter I assume will play? If not then yeah, that also helps us.

Personally I like Jong but don't see him as best 22 anymore? But always looks good for yas, which makes me jealous of your midfield talent... I'm shocked McLean is always on the outer, for a period in I think 2018 wasn't he like 30 possessions a game and a superstar? Is he just super inconsistent or something? Always looks a great player whenever I've seen him...

Duryea I reckon doesn't improve you guys that much, seems a tad slow, but I cannot begin to remotely know your 22 better so will take your word for it :)

Well anyway those outs do help us so we'll see :D

I think we've all been totally puzzled about McLean being on the outer, but drafting Bailey Smith was probably it for McLean's midfield minutes. A lot of us suspect he'll end up traded to a team where he'd be best 22 every week. One thing about us is that most of our best players are midfielders. Bont, Macrae, Dunkley, Smith, and Libba is a tough midfield to break into.

Yeah to be fair I had totally forgotten about Dunkley and Naughton being out. Dunkley in your top 2-5 players for sure hey, Naughton one of the most promising forwards and absolutely destroyed us last year, marked everything he saw. Hunter I assume will play? If not then yeah, that also helps us.

Personally I like Jong but don't see him as best 22 anymore? But always looks good for yas, which makes me jealous of your midfield talent... I'm shocked McLean is always on the outer, for a period in I think 2018 wasn't he like 30 possessions a game and a superstar? Is he just super inconsistent or something? Always looks a great player whenever I've seen him...

Duryea I reckon doesn't improve you guys that much, seems a tad slow, but I cannot begin to remotely know your 22 better so will take your word for it :)

Well anyway those outs do help us so we'll see :D
Hunter pulled out last week for "personal reasons" and that's all we know, so no idea whether he plays this week. Could have been a single week out, could be months, no one really knows.

Jong has never really been considered best 22 mainly because he is so injury prone, and never strings many games together. His performances this year were great, and would make our side better, but unfortunately we can't expect him to play much more.

Yeah McLean is a head scratcher for sure. Dominated the scratch match last week so probably means he's back in - we just struggle to fit him into the 22 given the midfield depth, so I imagine he's gone end of this year unless we start giving him more games. Hasn't had much midfield time since that 2018 season :(

Duryea is handy against certain clubs, but yeah, would improve us the least of those 5. This is mainly thanks to how well our defence is going this season, when last year it was a glaring weakness. He would still come in handy against sides like Saints and Collingwood who have a number of good smalls (and, funnily enough, both smashed us..). His spot in the 22 is debatable now purely because I couldn't pick a single defender to pull out - maybe Wood?

It's mainly Dunks, Hunter and Naughton that we will miss. Should be a good game :)

Duryea is handy against certain clubs, but yeah, would improve us the least of those 5. This is mainly thanks to how well our defence is going this season, when last year it was a glaring weakness. He would still come in handy against sides like Saints and Collingwood who have a number of good smalls (and, funnily enough, both smashed us..). His spot in the 22 is debatable now purely because I couldn't pick a single defender to pull out - maybe Wood?

I'm really pleased with how the back 6 is looking this year. Keath is exactly what we needed, Daniel and Crozier are stars. We have the back half and the midfield looking great, if our forward line was less of a shambles we'd be in real contention.

Whatever we do at selection this week we must make changes to the forward line, we just don't have any reliable goal kickers with the exception of Wallis who is good for 1 or 2.
Not knowing who will be available, my preference would be McLean and Lloyd for Weightman (had a taste, now to work on a more rounded effort) and Gowers (enough said).
Not convinced that McLean and Lloyd are in any great form but at least they have more potential to score than those outs.
Probably, until Naughton returns it will be a case of shuffling deck chairs.
As terrible as Gowers was, I'd be dropping Young before him. Not because he was worse, but because we tried to shoehorn him into a forward/wing role when he's clearly an intercepting defender. His one goal was from a push in the back free kick, so it's not like he was a threat up forward. If given the choice, both Young and Gowers would be out for McLean and either Lloyd or Schache

I'm really pleased with how the back 6 is looking this year. Keath is exactly what we needed, Daniel and Crozier are stars. We have the back half and the midfield looking great, if our forward line was less of a shambles we'd be in real contention.
I'm really happy with the pieces we have, I think a few minor improvements could see our forward line absolutely firing. Second half of last year we were one of the highest scoring teams in the competition, and a lot of that was coming from our forwards.

Now, Dale is yet to replicate that form (but is a natural forward), Lloyd has dropped dramatically and Naughton is out. Once we see Naughton return, and once Dale can find something resembling the potential he showed last year, we will be far better off. I hope Weightman can be the final piece, but he clearly has a lot of room for improvement.

Just relieved we have a functioning defence again. Premierships are won out of defence and midfield. So long as our forward don't spud it up, we should be able to compete for the foreseeable future

The reports of McLean playing well in the rezzies centred on his improved delivery. With that, I'm assuming he played mostly as a midfielder which probably means he's competing with Porter for a part time role in the midfield. Porter was OK but in a competition for that 'vacant' role, I know who I would favour.

How many of those marks are from sideways chip kicks? We seem to run and handball out of defence in comparison to most teams.

So many variables when judging that stat.

Intercept marks and contested marks in comparison would be a more interesting stat to look at.

Contested marks we sit 15th, intercepts we sit 18th, and one-percenters we sit at 17th.

I still think our KPDs are a weak point, especially Cordy, but ultimately it's a team defence and our super tight 7 is better than North even though Tarrant/Walker beat Keath/Cordy in every stat.

Do we have the luxury to space out our resting’s or do we just pick a game?

I thought the Port game (interstate, 5 day break) looked a perfect opportunity to leave Bont, Jack, Libba and 4-5 others in the Queensland sun for a little spell and get back into it for the Lions.

Hard one for the club to manage and work out.

I don't think we should be resting anybody unless it's neccesary tbh.

The players just need to be honest about how they are feeling.

I don't think our club would see it that way though.

Impressive! Is that aerial contests or any level contest?
I definitely rate him but I haven't seen anything in his matches that suggests he's dominant in the air.

Some day soon a footy journo is going to twig and praise him. Then they'll be all over him after that. It might take an oppo coach to single him out at a post-match press conference before the penny drops with the journos, though.
any 1v1 I believe. (don't quote me)

Obviously as a member of the elite Bigfooty Selection Panel my input on the forward line is very important, but I really don't know what forward line I'd like to see this week. Gowers out, Lloyd in? Gowers out, McLean in? Gowers and Weightman out, McLean and Lloyd in? Cordy gets named in the forward line but mostly plays up the back, do we want another tall up the front, and should it be Schache or Lewis Young? Not a clue.

I don't think we should be resting anybody unless it's neccesary tbh.

The players just need to be honest about how they are feeling.

I don't think our club would see it that way though.
I tend to agree however I'd like to see a conservative approach taken with libba. If he has any extra soreness then he does generally I'd give him a rest. No point blowing him up in this compressed season and risk the rest of his career. And as you say players will need to be upfront with how their bodies are holding up, for example bont this week should be a big question mark after playing injures on Thursday, don't want our players missing months because they pushed too hard through a niggle like the roos have done recently. Especially if it means we play a man down for 3 qtrs

I think having keath come in and take the bigger forward is the main reason for cordys rise. I've always been a massive fan and as that second defender he really looks comfortable

In part I think that is true, though much credit needs to go to Zaine himself.

It's reminiscent of Ryan Hargrave who also really took until his sixth season to step up into becoming a high quality AFL defender. I recall him being played on much bigger forwards (and I am wincing as I type as I remember Tarrant ripping him to pieces). I think we are seeing a similar thing with Zaine as sometimes players just take a while to mature as well as being given a different role which is more consistent with their size and abilities.

Interested in what everyone thinks is our best forward set up when we have everyone healthy?

Really difficult to pin down. Could go the experience route (Lloyd and Dickson), The skilful ball on a platter types (Dale, Schache), Youth and speed (Vandermeer and Weightman).

If a cutthroat elimination final was tomorrow, without picking resting mids (like Bont playing forward), I'd lean towards

HF: McLean, Naughton, Vandermeer
FF: Wallis, Bruce, Lloyd

Only guaranteed spots would be Naughton, Bruce and Wallis. You could really throw about 7 - 9 names for the last 3 positions. Lloyd, Mclean, Vandermeer, Dale, Dickson, Weightman, West, Schache.

I could change my mind within 5 minutes though.

If our midfield is healthy and Dunkley, Macrae, Smith and Libba are firing you could make a solid case to add extra firepower and play Bont forward.

EDIT: Changed my mind already. I'd back the midfield in and play Bont 70% forward and then pinch hit him in there to regain ascendancy when required.

Libba is a heart and soul bulldog. He is noted for his hard ball gets and quick hands. However the thing I love most is when you need a quick kick with no mucking around to get you out of trouble he is the man. How frustrating it is for supporters of all teams for someone to give a handball to a team mate in more trouble for a turnover and be scored against.

Interested in what everyone thinks is our best forward set up when we have everyone healthy?

I like all of Naughton, Bruce, Dale, Wallis, and Weightman to play together. Lipinski, Richards and Vandermeer rotate wing/forward/bench. When one of the permanent forwards is on the bench we rest one of Bont, Dunks, Smith, Libba or Macrae in their spot. So for the majority of gametime we have four 'permanent' forwards, one wing option at half forward, and one resting mid. Lloyd obviously hard done by to miss out, and I'd love West to be added to the lineup but I think this is the best combination.

Vdm Bruce dale
Wallis naughton weightman
I think we need to throw our confidence behind weightman for the rest of the year and let him develope. Vdm has been great in the high hf role and would like that to be his spot for the rest of the year until he cements himself onto the wing.
Until naughton is back I'd give other guys like the youngs, greene, schache and even bony a game at ff to see what they can do and in bonts case just to have a bit of a break whilst still getting the kms into his legs

Vdm Bruce dale
Wallis naughton weightman

I like this one as well. Vandermeer can play from half back to half forward, and I think he'll be a full time wing eventually, but his goal nous is impressive. Weightman I think needs more matches under his belt, he's got that natural forward sense and if we help him develop it he'll go far.

See our injury update? We’re screwed for forwards omg.
————

The Bulldogs will also be unable to call on forwards Bailey Dale, Josh Schache and Tory Dickson against the Tigers.

Dale was ruled out of last week’s game with a minor ankle injury, while Dickson (quad) and Schache (concussion) were both injured in a scratch match against the Suns.

All three are expected to return to availability within the fortnight.

Injury list

Josh Schache (concussion) – 1 week
Callum Porter (shoulder) – 1-2 weeks
Tory Dickson (quad) – 1-2 weeks
Bailey Dale (ankle) – 1-2 weeks
Josh Dunkley (ankle) – 1-3 weeks
Aaron Naughton (ankle) – 2-4 weeks
Lin Jong (ankle) – 3-5 weeks
Taylor Duryea (quad) – 3-6 weeks
Riley Garcia (knee) - indefinite